Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars53
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2008
this is an excellent album, from the first song it is intriguing and mesmerising. the songs have clever lyrics and music box style music with a dark twist. this is quite unlike anything i've heard in the past few years, totally refreshing and a joy to listen to over and over again.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
I bought 'You and I', their latest album, earlier in the year and enjoyed it so much, I wanted to hear more from The Pierces. This earlier album is simply delightful to listen to. Each song is a 'favourite' already, I love it and recommend to anyone that they should add this beautiful collection of songs to their personal play list. They are like no one else.. it is modern, clever, witty, simply lovely to listen to. Buy it! And if you have not got 'You and I' yet, get that too.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
The Pierce's latest offering, You and I, is directly targeting commercial breakthrough after their near break-up around the time of 13 Tales, so it is highly produced and very romantic, with lots of ultra-lush harmonies. And nothing that might be called remotely inappropriate in the lyrics. This one's different, as is suggested by all the snake-trees in the artwork. The girls are being coy, naughty and a little dark: e.g. Boring, Sticks and Stones, Lights On, Ruin. The lovely harmonies are not abandoned, but this time we have a little edge to the material. And it certainly makes for a delightful listening experience. Very classy and delicious. You definitely need to YouTube the video for "Turn on Billie". The closer "Go to Heaven" is absolutely marvelous, and definitely takes you where it promises. Oh, and the question mark in the review title is there for a reason: I doubt that the Pierces could be truly dark if they tried... but they sure know how to flirt with darkness...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2011
Clever musical and self confident, humourous in a clever dry way, you feel like you'd like to sit in a bar with them drinking beer and wisecracking-they know how to arrange a song to make it interesting but without getting in the way-I fear the latest album has been 'blandified' by the Coldplay producer (blandest band in the world) and the music industry for mass consumption, but what do I know...buy and enjoy this album...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2011
This album is one of the most refreshing and charming albums I have purchased in a very long time. The songs, all written or co-written by the Pierce sisters are enchanting and enthralling.

Allison and Catherine Pierce have sublime voices and immense talent. There is not a single song on this album I do not love! They are all moving and in some ay, an experience.

Stop reading and buy it.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2009
I discovered the Pierces through hearing a couple of their songs on the TV show Gossip Girl. I loved the song 'Secret' although after listening to it a few times I wonder how on earth I missed the amazingly catchy 'Lights On' which is now my favourite song on the album. It's difficult to describe this type of music but probably pop rock or alternative. There is a good mix of quieter songs that you could get away with having on in the background and quite a few songs that it's good to turn the volume up to! 'Thirteen Tales of Love and Revenge' is definately an album worth trying to see if it's to your taste and if you like it to begin with you'll end up loving it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 April 2007
If The Pierces weren't two fantastically photogenic sisters (one of whom is stepping out with one of The Strokes) would there be quite the buzz around this album?

Maybe, maybe not. But whilst the clamour may well focus more than a little on the sister's beauty it would be a shame if that was all they were remembered for. Thirteen Tales Of Love & Revenge isn't a perfect knock-out album by any means, but it IS a very good one.

Sure it never seems to quite know what it's supposed to be as a collective whole, but it's a long time since the "concept" of an album has meant all that much to the world at large isn't it?

Thus the wonderfully misleading "dance beat meets Bond theme" single Boring can sit nicely alongside the alt-rock posturing of Sticks and Stones or the distinctly understated Ruin. All three are distinctly different tracks, but all three are also very good.

Boring may be the funniest single in years (by anyone) and is sung with such fantastic detachment ("Sexy boy/Girl on girl/Ménage a trois/Boring!") that anyone who is stupid enough to think they are being serious might just be able to persuade you that they are. As alluded to earlier though its hardly a representative taster for the album at large.

Indeed such is the kaleidoscope of sounds attempted on the album the last thing you could ever call it, even when the attempts don't quite come off - such as the addition of a fairly strong country "twang" to Lights On, is boring.

They've quite clearly upped their game from the folk-pop stylings of their previous efforts and they can but be applauded for that. Ignore all the press more focused on their looks and just appreciate a wonderful pop record.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2012
Love these girls, like the way they have humour in some of the songs and the vibe they create. Lets have them on a Jules Holland show
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
Only picked up on this group because "Secret" was used as background music on a trailer for some dumb TV show ...so glad I did, love this album and everything else of theirs I have since come across. Standout tracks: Secret, If it Was You, Bored, Ruin, Three Wishes. I'll definitely get more of theirs.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
I first encountered The Pierces as a support band for Lissie back in 2010 and they made both a visual and musical impact with their harmonies and engaging, if sometimes quirky, songs. They had just released 'You and I', probably their commercial breakthrough in the UK, and some of the more radio friendly tracks are great pop songs. '13 Tales Of Love And Revenge' is a less heavily produced album and contains its fair share of the more quirky songs. The album kicks off with the dark 'Secret' and moves on to the lyrically intriguing 'Boring' ( "Sexy boy, Girl on girl, Ménage à trois - Boring. Marijuana, Cocaine, Heroin - Boring" ). The theme of the songs continues throughout the thirteen tracks.

Certainly worth a listen and a good insight to the roots of The Pierces music. Less commercial than 'You and I' and their latest release 'Creation' so be prepared for something different.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.94
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)