Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars78
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£2.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 August 2006
In my opinion a pretty decent thriller with Willis giving one of his better performances of recent years.The story takes place in New York with Willis transporting a prisoner the "16 Blocks" to get him to his court hearing.Given the relatively restricted location the film makers have done a decent job of constructing a plot that isn't insulting and obvious and have coaxed good performances out of a weary looking Willis and a cool mean looking David Morse as Willis's adversary.The plot development and it's little twists and turns come fairly evenly paced to keep you interested with a couple of those "there's no way he can get out of this one scenarios" to ratchet up the suspense factor.All in all a pretty decent thriller that deserved more of a fanfare on it's release and should hve earned Willis a little credit for his acting skills for once.

Enjoyable stuff.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 September 2006
16 BLocks isn't a rubbish film, I have to admit that before I continue with this review. The acting was good, and the story wasn't that bad but boy, was it slow. It started off at a normal pace. A bit of gunfire, a few laughs, first impressions of different characters. But suddenly it just went. The whole atmosphere that had been around in the first 30 minutes suddenly vanished and the next hour or so was really boring. And I don't know why?! Bruce Willis and Mos Def worked really well together and the story was going somewhere but I found it just got to a point where I was looking out the window, thinking of other things and not paying attention because it had got to the point where it was really, really slow and dull. Now I like Bruce Willis and I am a fan of edge of your seat thrillers but this one didn't do it for me. As I said before, not a bad film but to slow and boring for my liking.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 June 2006
16 Blocks stars Bruce Willis as an aging alcoholic cop who is responsible for transporting a key prosecution witness (Mos Def) the 16 blocks across town to the city courthouse.

However this is no ordinary witness and this is no ordinary ride across town. The witness has turned states evidence and his testimony will result in the uncovering of police corruption which will go right to the heart of the force.

The only thing standing in the way of the dirty cops getting to the witness is a broken down boozing cop who is over come with responsibility when his last shred of pride comes to the surface as he gets to know his infectious would be partner.

16 Blocks is the typical Willis format, but would we have it any other way? Indeed he slips quite easily into his character and delivers quite a good performance.

However it is not all about guns and explosions and as it goes along there is quite a bit of depth added to the movie but it always just lacks that 'something' to move it on to the next level.

Overall the movie isn't a total disappointment or an over whelming success. The only problem is when the action does kick in and the one liners are delivered you know you have heard or seen it somewhere else before, only it was better the last time.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2007
`16 Blocks' is a kind of movie you can really only watch once and even at that you'll be correctly guessing what happens next as it goes through loads of familiar developments with a lot of unsubtle foreshadowing. I'm surprised that Richard Donner managed to make a film so tepid because he is really great in doing action/thrillers.

Bruce Willis does what he does best. He plays a downbeat, alcoholic cop who is talked into transporting a witness Mos Def to the courthouse to testify against dirty cops. Mos Def delivers an outstanding performance in this movie, but there are times he would drive you crazy due to his constant rambling, but he does adds a lot of depth to his character and to the movie as a whole. In return, the viewers are able to sympathize with him.

Since the film runs 102 minutes and they have 118 minutes to get to the courthouse, it's not strictly in real time. But it did very much remind me of `Phone Booth' in terms of brisk pacing and bustling New York backdrop. A suspension of disbelief is seriously required as a few completely implausible things happen regarding this movie. There are really clever twists and thoughtful turns, but, when push comes to shove, there's nothing better in this film than ones that Bruce has done many times before. And we've seen him in more dire straits than these.

Thankfully both main actors stay into character, so that the unexpected ending fits into the movie without jarring the mood of the piece. The mood is just like Willis's character: dark, weary, and dispassionate. It is, in the end, a movie that focuses on character rather than action. Just when I thought that the movie was going to have me accepting the epiphany as a typical Hollywood cliché, it offers an explanation that is quite believable.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 June 2006
16 Blocks stars Bruce Willis as an aging alcoholic cop who is responsible for transporting a key prosecution witness (Mos Def) the 16 blocks across town to the city courthouse.

However this is no ordinary witness and this is no ordinary ride across town. The witness has turned states evidence and his testimony will result in the uncovering of police corruption which will go right to the heart of the force.

The only thing standing in the way of the dirty cops getting to the witness is a broken down boozing cop who is over come with responsibility when his last shred of pride comes to the surface as he gets to know his infectious would be partner.

16 Blocks is the typical Willis format, but would we have it any other way? Indeed he slips quite easily into his character and delivers quite a good performance.

However it is not all about guns and explosions and as it goes along there is quite a bit of depth added to the movie but it always just lacks that 'something' to move it on to the next level.

Overall the movie isn't a total disappointment or an over whelming success. The only problem is when the action does kick in and the one liners are delivered you know you have heard or seen it somewhere else before, only it was better the last time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 23 May 2013
This taught little thriller is bereft of the explosive action we've come to expect from a Willis movie and it's all the better for it. From time to time Willis lets the mask slip to reveal he's actually an actor masquerading as an action star; this is one of those times. The simple set up involves a washed up alcoholic cop Jack Mosley (Willis) pulling an easy prisoner escort duty, unknown to him though, other cops have his prisoner in their sights and the 16 Block run to the courthouse turns into the proverbial cat and mouse chase. David Morse effortlessly plays the villian of the piece, he's like a pit prop to any movie, honestly, he could read a menu and I'd listen, but the real revelation is Mos Def, his cowering, bullied, sensitive, seemingly low brow persona is a tour de force performance. There's a moment in the movie when they get cornered, the odds seem hopeless and it's time for Mosley to pick a side, the cops taunt him with booze and promises of a better future in the department, you desperately want Mosley to step up and do his duty, to regain some self respect and remember why he became a cop in the first place. I really enjoyed seeing the ageing, underestimated Mosley outsmart and outshoot the smug, self righteous bad guys. There's a bit of schmalts at the end but ahh who cares.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 January 2014
The trailer and cast would have you think that this is another variation on Xenophon, with our plucky two-some fighting their way through hostile territory.

However the film hops from genre to genre, a washed up cop, Willis, escorts a felon, Mos Def, to court, and finds that corrupt cops want him dead. There is some action, a Dog Day Afternoon seige, a lot of chat, and an unexpected ending. Frankly it was the end that made the film for me, so I won't say too much about it.

This is certainly not perfect, casting Willis was a mistake, although he is fine, you expect him to run about in his vest killing bad guys, which is not really what the film is about, similarly Mos Def is likeable but I constantly struggled to understand what he was saying. On the other hand the cinematography could have been grungier, New York looked fairly pristine.

There is a decent script in here, but unfortunately it does not fully work as a film.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2008
From the very outset,Bruce convinces in his performance as a hard drinking,broken down cop clocking in,and going through the motions of being "on duty".
The plot is conveyed in other reviews,but the reason for his condition is not revealed until well near the end of the film.
Yes Mos Def's whining voice is initially offputting,but one soon gets used to it,and then begins to appreciate not only his performance,but the character's interaction with that of Bruce Willis,and the growing warmth of their relationship.
For me this was a taut,and very enjoyable thriller,played out among the teeming city crowds,with excellent performances from the two lead actors,and David Morse.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 April 2008
I like Bruce Willis very much, even in bad films, but this one I didn't manage to watch until the end without fast forwarding a big part of the second half. There is no action, there is no humour, the plot is archi-ridiculous and not credible no matter how much you stretch your tolerance - and I am usually all ready to tolerate a lot, but not THAT much. I will give no spoilers, essentially because there is nothing to spoil. No, really, I mean it - I can not remember one scene worthy watching! The only reason I give this move two stars is because of Bruce Willis. If you are not his really big fan, stay away of this thing. Believe me, it is EVEN worse than "Tears of sun"!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
Jack Mosley, a burnt-out detective, is assigned the unenviable task of transporting a fast- talking convict from jail to a courthouse 16 blocks away.

However, along the way he learns that the man is supposed to testify against Mosley's colleagues, and the entire NYPD wants him dead.

Mosley must choose between loyalty to his colleagues and protecting the witness, and never has such a short distance seemed so long...

The thought of Richard Donner returning to the big screen to make an action film he could do in his sleep is appealing, but the fact that it stars Willis, makes this almost unmissable.

It's a simple set up, Willis has to get Mos Def to the court before a certain time, with all the cops after Def, wanting to kill him.

It should have been up there with Die Hard and Lethal weapon, but it turns out to be entertaining, but very slow in places.

Willis is great as Jack, a man carrying the whole world on his shoulders, here's a man who ha s a chance of redemption, and that is in the form of Bunker, who has to be the most annoying character of 2006.

When you start to sympathise with Morse's character, things are not looking good. There was on point where I felt empathy toward Bunker, when we first meet Morse's character in the bar, but soon after he became Ruby Rhod irritating.

But it's a fun movie, the director is back on form after Timeline, and the bad guys are your typical ones from the eighties.

Don't expect the earth, just be prepared for a good thriller, with a good performance from Willis, and you'll enjoy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)