Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 16 Blocks - a review
In my opinion a pretty decent thriller with Willis giving one of his better performances of recent years.The story takes place in New York with Willis transporting a prisoner the "16 Blocks" to get him to his court hearing.Given the relatively restricted location the film makers have done a decent job of constructing a plot that isn't insulting and obvious and have coaxed...
Published on 6 Aug 2006 by J. D. Naylor

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somethings missing...
16 BLocks isn't a rubbish film, I have to admit that before I continue with this review. The acting was good, and the story wasn't that bad but boy, was it slow. It started off at a normal pace. A bit of gunfire, a few laughs, first impressions of different characters. But suddenly it just went. The whole atmosphere that had been around in the first 30 minutes suddenly...
Published on 5 Sep 2006 by Adam


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 16 Blocks - a review, 6 Aug 2006
By 
J. D. Naylor "jazzfan" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 16 Blocks [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
In my opinion a pretty decent thriller with Willis giving one of his better performances of recent years.The story takes place in New York with Willis transporting a prisoner the "16 Blocks" to get him to his court hearing.Given the relatively restricted location the film makers have done a decent job of constructing a plot that isn't insulting and obvious and have coaxed good performances out of a weary looking Willis and a cool mean looking David Morse as Willis's adversary.The plot development and it's little twists and turns come fairly evenly paced to keep you interested with a couple of those "there's no way he can get out of this one scenarios" to ratchet up the suspense factor.All in all a pretty decent thriller that deserved more of a fanfare on it's release and should hve earned Willis a little credit for his acting skills for once.

Enjoyable stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all of you out there that like me need Subs Info..., 11 May 2010
By 
Joao Dias (Lisbon, portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 16 Blocks [Blu-ray] [2006] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Spec for this BLU RAY EDITION.
- AUDIO: English/German 5.1 Dolby Digital + English 2.0 Audio Descriptive Service
- SUBTITLES: English/German

The specs above are as listed on the back cover of the BLU RAY.
Hope this helps
Cheers/Joćo Dias
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somethings missing..., 5 Sep 2006
By 
Adam (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 16 Blocks [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
16 BLocks isn't a rubbish film, I have to admit that before I continue with this review. The acting was good, and the story wasn't that bad but boy, was it slow. It started off at a normal pace. A bit of gunfire, a few laughs, first impressions of different characters. But suddenly it just went. The whole atmosphere that had been around in the first 30 minutes suddenly vanished and the next hour or so was really boring. And I don't know why?! Bruce Willis and Mos Def worked really well together and the story was going somewhere but I found it just got to a point where I was looking out the window, thinking of other things and not paying attention because it had got to the point where it was really, really slow and dull. Now I like Bruce Willis and I am a fan of edge of your seat thrillers but this one didn't do it for me. As I said before, not a bad film but to slow and boring for my liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK - but lacks that little something, 28 Jun 2006
By 
John Kimble (N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 16 Blocks [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
16 Blocks stars Bruce Willis as an aging alcoholic cop who is responsible for transporting a key prosecution witness (Mos Def) the 16 blocks across town to the city courthouse.

However this is no ordinary witness and this is no ordinary ride across town. The witness has turned states evidence and his testimony will result in the uncovering of police corruption which will go right to the heart of the force.

The only thing standing in the way of the dirty cops getting to the witness is a broken down boozing cop who is over come with responsibility when his last shred of pride comes to the surface as he gets to know his infectious would be partner.

16 Blocks is the typical Willis format, but would we have it any other way? Indeed he slips quite easily into his character and delivers quite a good performance.

However it is not all about guns and explosions and as it goes along there is quite a bit of depth added to the movie but it always just lacks that 'something' to move it on to the next level.

Overall the movie isn't a total disappointment or an over whelming success. The only problem is when the action does kick in and the one liners are delivered you know you have heard or seen it somewhere else before, only it was better the last time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Donner Ke-flab, 19 Mar 2007
This review is from: 16 Blocks [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is essentially a remake of Clint Eastward's "The Gauntlet"..difficult to think of anything specific to say about it aside from that, in fact I'm finding it very difficult to work up the enthusiasm to write this review...it's not that "16 Blocks" is a bad film, but it is a very average one. Bruce Willis' attempts to portray a burnt out, alcoholic detective are reasonably successful but I would have preferred to have seen him in John McClane mode, and I think that would have also worked better in the film and made the Mos Def "buddy" thang work better also (by the way, it is true that Mos Def is rendered practically unintelligible with his mumbling character but I still thought he was great - see his cameo in "The Woodsman" to see how great he can be). At the end of the day this is a very modest Richard Donner film and an average Bruce Willis one, it's OK for a saturday night but you'll have forgotten it by Monday morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Willis raised his game for this one...again, 23 May 2013
By 
Mr. S. Storey "eats beans" (not at work) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 16 Blocks [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This taught little thriller is bereft of the explosive action we've come to expect from a Willis movie and it's all the better for it. From time to time Willis lets the mask slip to reveal he's actually an actor masquerading as an action star; this is one of those times. The simple set up involves a washed up alcoholic cop Jack Mosley (Willis) pulling an easy prisoner escort duty, unknown to him though, other cops have his prisoner in their sights and the 16 Block run to the courthouse turns into the proverbial cat and mouse chase. David Morse effortlessly plays the villian of the piece, he's like a pit prop to any movie, honestly, he could read a menu and I'd listen, but the real revelation is Mos Def, his cowering, bullied, sensitive, seemingly low brow persona is a tour de force performance. There's a moment in the movie when they get cornered, the odds seem hopeless and it's time for Mosley to pick a side, the cops taunt him with booze and promises of a better future in the department, you desperately want Mosley to step up and do his duty, to regain some self respect and remember why he became a cop in the first place. I really enjoyed seeing the ageing, underestimated Mosley outsmart and outshoot the smug, self righteous bad guys. There's a bit of schmalts at the end but ahh who cares.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT.. JUST GREAT!, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 16 Blocks [Blu-ray] [2006] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Willis's acting in this is one of the strongest I've ever seen him. The movie has a really fantastic plot that keeps your eyeballs sticking out.. it's just a really really great film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect another Die Hard!, 19 July 2008
By 
Mr. T. A. Maurice "Film Addict" (Essex,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 16 Blocks [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
From the very outset,Bruce convinces in his performance as a hard drinking,broken down cop clocking in,and going through the motions of being "on duty".
The plot is conveyed in other reviews,but the reason for his condition is not revealed until well near the end of the film.
Yes Mos Def's whining voice is initially offputting,but one soon gets used to it,and then begins to appreciate not only his performance,but the character's interaction with that of Bruce Willis,and the growing warmth of their relationship.
For me this was a taut,and very enjoyable thriller,played out among the teeming city crowds,with excellent performances from the two lead actors,and David Morse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing - even the most devoted Bruce Willis fans will find it hard to watch until the end, 27 April 2008
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 16 Blocks [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I like Bruce Willis very much, even in bad films, but this one I didn't manage to watch until the end without fast forwarding a big part of the second half. There is no action, there is no humour, the plot is archi-ridiculous and not credible no matter how much you stretch your tolerance - and I am usually all ready to tolerate a lot, but not THAT much. I will give no spoilers, essentially because there is nothing to spoil. No, really, I mean it - I can not remember one scene worthy watching! The only reason I give this move two stars is because of Bruce Willis. If you are not his really big fan, stay away of this thing. Believe me, it is EVEN worse than "Tears of sun"!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Willis dodders around downtown Manhattan, 28 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: 16 Blocks [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Pretty boring, not a great deal of action. Having Mos Def whining all through the movie didn't help either. Thank god it didn't go on for 16 hours (though it sure felt like it).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaab2e534)

This product

16 Blocks [Blu-ray] [2006] [Region Free]
16 Blocks [Blu-ray] [2006] [Region Free] by Sasha Roiz (Blu-ray - 2007)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews