Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where's your Dignity?
Ok after falling in love with Hilary back in 2005 before the release of Wake Up i have been a huge fan. I actually bought this cd back in 2007 when it was released but i have actually wore my orginal copy out.

What strikes me about this album how not one song has dated. Released pre Gaga i found some moments on the cd to be something she would record now. Gypsy...
Published 22 months ago by OwenDavies2

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars boring me to tears
As a young girl I absolutely adored this artist, however as I tried to re-kindle my love of her now I am a yound adult the feelings were just not the same. Unfortunately a lot of the songs that were good enough to be made into music videos were few and far between. Disappointingly I was not blown away.
Published on 24 July 2011 by smellymelly


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where's your Dignity?, 16 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dignity (Audio CD)
Ok after falling in love with Hilary back in 2005 before the release of Wake Up i have been a huge fan. I actually bought this cd back in 2007 when it was released but i have actually wore my orginal copy out.

What strikes me about this album how not one song has dated. Released pre Gaga i found some moments on the cd to be something she would record now. Gypsy Woman is still a stand out track this should of been released as i think this would of been huge.

With Love the lead UK single could of been released anytime this year which shows how strong that song still sounds as its now 5 yrs old.

i would really recommend this cd to anyone my metal loving twin brother loves this album too.

Great music from a overlooked lady :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The "new" Hilary Duff is surprisingly good, 26 Mar 2007
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dignity (Audio CD)
As a bubblegum pop princess Hilary Duff had her merits. Granted those merits had never gone as far as producing, or perhaps the right word should be "fronting", a knock out album but her best moments were ripe for a "collection".

So it was with some trepidation that I heard tales of her going "electro". It sounds like it should be my kind of thing but is it really a wise move? As it turns out, artistically at least, it is. Not least because the over-sentimental and cloying ballads that spoiled great swathes of her previous albums are absolutely nowhere to be seen.

Things start off decently enough with Stranger, but things really kick into life with the title track. A thinly-veiled attack on the Hollywood party girls ("you'd show up to the opening of an envelope"..."it's not news you've got a new bag") it may be, but it manages the task a whole lot more successfully that Pink's Stupid Girls ever did. It's also a killer tune to boot. You can make up your own mind about who are the targets (for my money you have to look no further than Nicole Ritchie - who's knocking off that Good Charlotte fella now I think- and Duff's long-term rival Lindsay Lohan).

Gypsy Woman is much easier to pin down as a knock on Nicole Ritchie and is just as fantastic as the title track. Other essential, and I do mean essential, cuts include No Work, No Play, with its positively addictive drum beat, and Danger, which seems to address her stalker problems (we're talking "people have been sent to jail" levels here) to another addictive beat.

Of course it's not all as good, but a lot of it is surprisingly, and nagglingly, memorable. Quite what it will do for her is another matter indeed. There comes a time when every teen star has to strike out and there is no doubt that the time had come for Duff to take that step. She's certainly come up with something fresh and, more importantly, something quite good indeed. Whether fans of the old stuff will follow her on the journey is uncertain, but it would be their loss if they didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No bubblegum pop!!!!!!, 5 April 2007
This review is from: Dignity [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
I have to say, being a 21 year old I was a bit worried about buying this album as I wasn't a massive fan of Hilary until she released With Love which lead me to buy this album. I expected to get a collection of blubblegum pop songs but I was so wrong!!!!!

This is a fantastic album, there is not a song on it that I don't like. Far from the little girl on Lizzie M Hilary has blossomed into a woman with each track featuring catchy dance beats like those of Nelly Furtardo's Loose or Justin Timberlake's FutureSex albums!!!!

What is great about the deluxe version is the DVD that comes with it. This contains all of Hilary's music videos to date and a interview with her about her career so far. Beat of my Heart, Play with Fire and With Love are particularly fantastic videos!!!!

You MUST buy this album, you will not regret it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars say it with love!, 5 May 2007
By 
M. Weild "metamorphosis-17" (wee scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dignity [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
This album is a big departure from what hilary used to do & this new sound suits her down to the ground, it's full of dancey songs & of course the odd dig at her ex joel madden (good charlotte)!!

Here's what i thought of every track on the album:

1. stranger 9/10 - good song has a kind of an indie vibe

2. dignity 10/10 - has a killer beat, gr8 song

3. with love 10/10 - official 1st single, it's really good

4. danger 9/10 - this song has grown on me, i now luv it

5. gypsy woman 10/10 - amazing track, has such an infectious beat

6. never stop 10/10 - cool dance song

7. no work, all play 7/10 - not the best song, bit to slow but has a good chorus

8. between you & me 10/10 - sounds a bit lyk a kids song, it has an innocence about it, which i luv!!

9. dreamer 10/10 - it's about the stalkers, but she does it in a light hearted good way!!

10. happy 10/10 - is not as dancey as the rest of the album but i luv this song

11. burned 7/10 - least favorite track on the album, bit of a ballad type song

12. outside of you 7/10 - going back to her rockier roots, not a fan of this song

13. i wish 10/10 - one of my favorites in the album, it's fab!!

14. play with fire 10/10 - gr8 song, has a different sound to me, really good song

Overall this album is a huge change but it totally suits her & this deluxe edition comes with all of her 9 music videos:

with love, play with fire, beat of my heart & come clean are the best.

Buy It NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sings with style,class and . . .'Dignity', 25 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Dignity (Audio CD)
Hilary returns with her 4th studio album with a vengance.Throwing away her teen pop rock image,Duff swaps the guitars for synth club rock and it works.On hearing the album for the 1st time it was hard to sinle out one paticular song. . . this being a good thing.

The album opener,'Stranger' has a rock feel to it and has some arabic sample playing throughout.From here the album descends into more dark club tunes.'Dignity' has a thumping chours,with lyrics that will stay with you,although its strange why this wasnt her first single as its the best song on the album.'With Love',the albums 1st UK single is more dance with a hint of hip-hop,defintley a step forward in her career.The next song,Danger' is futuristic sounding yet gives a throw back to 70's disco - defintley one of my favourites. Track 5,'Gypsy Woman',which is co written by the Duff sisters,is dark rock which again is club filled,features amazing vocals from Duff in the chourus,excellent track.'Never Stop' is a very upeat,fast paced synthizezd pop song - not as strong as the others,as it feels like one long chours but possibilty of growing on you.With a title of 'No Work,All Play',I though track 7 was going to be a dance floor-filler,but is actually a slow paced song - think Natasha Bedingfield but darker. 'Between You And Me' continues the positive feel of the previous 2 tracks but has something more special - a constant grower,this track is a gem.Track 9 'Dreamer' samples a tunes everyone will recognise.The lyrics are honsetly weak but the overall song is good,just not as strong as the others.After 4 good but happy songs,Duff goes even darker than before with a song ironicly titled 'Happy'.This is a song that will get u excited from the opening and the chours is great.The more you listen to this,the more you will enjoy it.It gets better as it goes on.'Burned' is the albums only ballad like song and it isnt even slow-just slighlty slow paced but with hip-hop beats and dark lyrics,'Burned is another good song.

Track 12 'Outside Of You' is the only rock like song but still fits in on the album a great faced pace chours makes the song an enjoyable one.The only really weak track is 'I Wish',just nothing realy special here. . . could be a favourite for some people,just not me as i prefer more of the dancey tracks which is why I was happy with the album closer,'Play With Fire'.This was the 1st singles in the states and is a more mature song for a Duff,very dancey with a thumping beat and a loud guitar-synth filled chours.

Overall 'Dignity' is a triumph and is Duffs best album by far.Its obvious that shes not holding on to the teen princess title and maturing more which will win her more fans.The album has no real weak tracks,just ones which arent as strong-but these are still great.Pick up this album,you wont regret your choice'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Effervescent electronic pop, 21 April 2007
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dignity (Audio CD)
Don't be fooled by that sultry over-the-shoulder cover photo - Hilary Duff's third studio album bubbles with enthusiastic electro-pop rhythms that would inspire even hardened couch potatoes to take a turn on the dance floor.

First single "Play With Fire" is about a young woman who has gotten over a break-up, and has just encountered the former object of her affection. Though not the best song on the album, it has an infectious '80s style chorus which makes up for a slightly monotonous vocal performance. Second single "With Love" is another '80s retro track and is strictly for dancing, but all is forgiven with the third single "Stranger", which has an unusual Eastern influenced beat running through it. "Stranger" mixes up the rhythms and allows Duff to show a little more range, and the lyrics are also much better than the first two singles. The song is about a couple who appear perfect in public, but this image quickly dissipates when they are alone.

And now for the rest of the album -

The title track is a wickedly funny take on the young publicity-hungry starlets, hotties and heiresses doing the entertainment circuit, and is one of my favorite songs on this album. "Danger" is another track with an Eastern influence, but although I like the beat, the lyrics make me feel really old. (The song is about dating an older man, who was born in 1974 - this makes me archaic) "Gypsy Woman" is about a woman who breaks up a family, a short track which leads into the bouncy "Never Stop", a disco number reminiscent of "Knock on Wood".

The slower paced "No Work No Play" didn't do it for me, but I like how she does the chorus lines - "Let the clouds roll in and fill the sky / Get that melancholy feeling inside". "Between You and Me" is just more of the same old, same old, except for that "oompah oompah" tuba bit, and the intro for "Dreamer" (a song about a stalker) sounds just a bit Paris Hilton in delivery. "Happy" doesn't really come over that way, but it's about a girl getting over a bad relationship and feeling much better about herself. Rounding out the album are "Burned", "Outside of You" (the only song not co-written by Duff, with Pink and Chantal Kreviazuk doing the honors), and "I Wish".

An enjoyable, danceable, guilty pleasure album that you should buy for a teenager and borrow every once in a while.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best album ever, 13 July 2010
By 
R. J. Riley (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dignity (MP3 Download)
everysong is really good and catchy 1st hillary duff album i got but will deffo be looking forward to her next one! would highly reccomend best played while getting ready to go out clubbing in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This DVD is very good. 2nd disk., 11 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. P. Charles "paulch35" (United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dignity (Audio CD)
Those people, who appreciate Hillary Duff, might also appreciate the Chinese singing group "Twins." This DVD is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The lady has dignity in her voice, 31 Aug 2008
By 
Ghost of Kai (South Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dignity (Audio CD)
I bought this album a few weeks ago on download from itunes. After listening to it several times I've come to really love her voice. She has got a good voice despite the mixed reviews. My usual taste in music is rock, metal and some rock-pop artists and I'm very suprised at how good this album actually is.

My favourites are "Stranger" which has an edgy quality to it. I also love the title track "Dignity" and "Burned." Overall, the track list is well chosen and her voice executes each song excellently. The tracks go from pulsating pop beats to rocked up numbers then to sugar-coated pop. The range of sounds is more than enough to keep listening interesting and I'm very pleased I bought it.

Here she's clearly moved onto a more grown-up sound and it seems Hilary herself has grown up too. Nice work and I look forward to hearing more of her music in the future.

The cover features Hilary in a side angled shot glowing in a haze of bronze and sunset colours. Very pretty. You get 15 songs on this album - a rarity these days!

Well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Album Rocks!, 27 July 2008
This review is from: Dignity (Audio CD)
This album is very good, here's what I think about each song:
1.Stranger-Cool Indian sound, great intro to the CD
2.Dignity-Amazing instrumental intro
3.With love-Good rhythm, one the best songs on the CD
4.Danger-No intro taking you straight to the brill point
5.Gypsy Women-Interesting intro followed by an amazing song
6.Nevor Stop-Has a very catchy, fun chorus that sticks in your head in a good way
7.No Work, All Play-This song has a really good message
8.Between You and Me-Hilary has got a good note range in this song
9.Dreamer-A country styled song with very clear lyrics
10.Happy-Again one of the best songs on the CD
11.Burned-A really sad song which, yet again is sung brilliantly
12.Outside of You-Another song with a catchy, fun title
13.I Wish-A really good song with brill lyrics
14.Play with Fire-Hilary sings rally smoothly in this piece
Over all I think you should definately buy this.Thanks for reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dignity
Dignity by Hilary Duff (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews