Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beverley Knight the finest voice of her generation
After a decade of successful contemporary Soul/RnB album's Beverley Knight gets back to the classic old school soul sound. If the likes of Sam Cooke, Aretha Franklin, Al Green, Otis Redding and Marvin Gaye are your 'thang' then this album is for you. Each track was recorded live, instead of layered, to keep that classic soul sound. Produced by Mark Nevers and featuring...
Published on 29 April 2007 by eviex

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What was she thinking?
Oh dear. I like Bev a lot but can't find anything to enjoy in this one. In my opinion (and my wife's who I bought it for) it's bland with no memorable tunes at all.

Avoid this one and buy everyththing else by Bev instead.
Published on 3 Oct 2010 by Moving Target


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beverley Knight the finest voice of her generation, 29 April 2007
By 
This review is from: Music City Soul (Audio CD)
After a decade of successful contemporary Soul/RnB album's Beverley Knight gets back to the classic old school soul sound. If the likes of Sam Cooke, Aretha Franklin, Al Green, Otis Redding and Marvin Gaye are your 'thang' then this album is for you. Each track was recorded live, instead of layered, to keep that classic soul sound. Produced by Mark Nevers and featuring session musicians who have worked with legends like Al green and Elvis Presley. Also featuring, The Rolling Stones, Ronnie Wood (a huge fan of Ms Knight) on three tracks: 'Every Time You See Me Smile', 'Black Butta' and 'Ain't That A Lot Of Love'.

With fabulous song arrangements from the great piano groove on Ain't That A Lot Of Love to the catchy brass riffs on Queen Of Starting Over this album is guaranteed to get your toes `a' tapping.

The songs range from heart rending ballads like No Man's Land and After You thro' to get up n jump about floor fillers like Black Butta and a blistering cover of The Stones Time Is On My Side.

This is THE album to get you through the summer of 2007 with a smile on your face and a groove in your step.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much better now she's doing proper music, 15 Jun 2007
By 
ChrisD (Eastbourne, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music City Soul (Audio CD)
I'll admit, the Beverley Knight of the 90s largely passed me by. She was an R&B artist - admittedly a cut above most of her genre colleagues talent-wise - but R&B, or rather the production-line pap that calls itself R&B these days, tends to leave me cold. Old school soul, on the other hand, is another matter entirely. Since switching focus, Ms Knight has been a bit of a revelation. Her talent as a singer has never been in doubt, but now at last she is performing music that really does her justice. Gorgeous first single No Man's Land is no fluke, although neither is it indicative of the rest of this mainly upbeat, feelgood album. There is not a duff track in sight as our Bev sings her heart out on songs that have soul to spare.

The album is a nice balance of well-chosen and perfectly executed cover versions (two), original songs written by other people (three), and songs co-written by Beverley herself (all the rest), showing that she has songwriting talent to go with that fine voice. She has turned again to former collaborators, four of the songs being written with Martin Brammer (remember The Kane Gang, 80s children?), and two with former Robbie Williams puppeteer Guy Chambers. As before, the Chambers contributions are two of the rockier tracks - Black Butta and Saviour. Let's hope they don't meet with the same tiresome inverse snobbery from urban radio stations as their predecessor, the excellent Come As You Are.

There have been criticisms that the album is less than glowing with originality. It is true that After You, written by Leeson & Vale (the duo behind Charles & Eddie's Would I Lie To You, amongst others) sometimes strays a little close to Al Green's Let's Stay Together, while the start of Black Butta will conjure up nightmarish visions of Tina Turner's thighs hoving into view as their owner prepares to belt out Nutbush City Limits. What such criticisms miss however is that it's the instantly familiar feel of the songs that is one of the album's big strengths. The other, of course, is Beverley's voice. Along with the likes of the rather scarier Amy Winehouse, Beverley Knight is doing her bit to bring back old school soul to the masses. A classy album from a classy singer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Soul!, 10 May 2007
By 
JR Latham "johnronmusic" (Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Music City Soul (Audio CD)
To a long-time old school blues and soul freak like me, Beverley Knight has always been just a slightly superior artist of the variety usually (and to me unfathomably) referred to as 'RnB' so this attempt to produce a 'classic' soul album is a dangerous undertaking, to put it mildly, especially with the inclusion of songs associated with Irma Thomas and Aretha. So let it be said that this is a brilliant piece of work, with both the classic numbers and Beverley's own material done superbly, with her own musicians augmented by Nashville luminaries to good effect, and a bit of Ronnie Wood here and there. One of the records of the year in my humble estimation and a must-buy for soul aficionados!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spine tingling, life affirming soul .... and she's british!, 6 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Music City Soul (Audio CD)
This is damn fine stuff! Like a number of other reviewers some of Bev's previous stuff has been a little 'soul-lite' for my tastes; that's not to say it's bad, on the contrary, just not my bag so to speak. Now this album, whoah it's fine, without the warbling histionics of some our trans atlantic cousins! Just does the business, job done. A British soul singer who should be cherished! However, to get 5 stars it would have to reach a pinnacle of her abilities AND be of it's time in dealing with social issues (in Britain) today, as some of the classic soul songs have i.e. Livin for the City, What's goin on etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She can do no wrong!, 29 July 2007
By 
L. Brittles (Liverpool,UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Music City Soul (Audio CD)
Saw Beverley on a BBC show and bought an album.Then ended up buying all her albums!Going to see her in concert in October.This particular album is brilliant.This women could sing the phone book and be brilliant!She is up there with the best in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is It...., 10 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music City Soul (Audio CD)
....the album that Beverley Knight has been threatening to make for a long time - she proves here that she can hold her own with and in most cases top any classic American soul singers. I really admire BK for not going along with all the other R&B wannabees or singers in their 30's plus who feel the only way forward is middle of the road smooth bland slush. I hope this album gets some good airplay - people will see that BK is a performer to be reckoned with. A few years ago I went to a Courtney Pine concert at the RFH and Beverley guested - she blew us all away with her great voice and choice of material. This latest album is a great selection of songs - new and old - her interpretation of Time is on my Side is pure classic - Fantastic!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proves she is THE best British soul singer, 30 Jun 2007
By 
Brida "izumi" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Music City Soul (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Beverley for a few years now (since growing out of my pop group stage!) and I have never been in doubt that she has one of the most amazing voices in the business. With MUSIC CITY SOUL, she has just gone and proven that she could deservedly be awarded the accolade of THE best British soul singer.

From the very first track, "Every Time You See Me Smile", you know that you are in for something special. Her voice is perfect. She has truly put her heart and soul into this album.

I have seen other reviewers slightly criticise this release because it is not comprised of just Beverley's original songs, I think this is unfair. The songs are so good, does it really matter? Especially in an age when we seem to put high regard on performers who go on a talent show, and then just release mediocre pop or covers of classics? The direction for this album purely seems to be damn good soul music, in the truest sense of the word soul. In a way, it is showcasing her as being up there with the best of the classic soul performers, such as Aretha, but bringing it into more of a contemporary feel.

This is a great album. Definitely one for when you need a pick me up. Even songs which have a slower tempo, such as "No Man's Land", make you feel better because of Beverley's faultless singing.

For any lover of soul music, this album is an absolute must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just go out and buy it, 9 Jun 2007
By 
Andy Edwards "staxasoul" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Music City Soul (Audio CD)
Beverley Knight has always been well above the average, and she has 3 excellent albums to her name, which have always hinted at the real Soul voice that she has, rather than putting it out there in all its glory.

So what a pleasure it is to discover that she has approached her latest project by gathering some real musicians around her and using production which harks back to the golden age of Soul. Some of this stuff seems instantly familiar, although there are only "Rock Steady" and "Time Is On My Side" are covers of well known songs, and that is a tribute to all involved.

After a couple of hearings you'll find yourself singing along (if you're prone to that, like I am!!) and I would pick out "No Man's Land" and "After You" and "Queen of Starting Over" as my favourites. Having said that, this is an album which rewards listening to as a whole.

Beverley Knight has called this Music City Soul - it is indeed Soul, and a simply great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soul singer indeed, 7 May 2007
This review is from: Music City Soul (Audio CD)
There are few contemporary R&B singers who could try to make this sort of album. But not only can Beverley Knight manage it - she masters it.

Having shown herself the queen of modern R&B whose luscious vocals have bettered everyone else in her genre, she now moves into Aretha Franklin territory - back to her musical roots. This could have been fraught with danger but Beverley has the voice and the ability to interpret every song. There is no doubt that on this showing Beverley could share the stage with Aretha herself and hold her own.

It would have been easy to put out another album like Affirmation, and welcome it would have been. But Beverley instead has moved back to the great Atlantic Soul Style - and nailed it.

Buy it - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen of British soul and so much more, 7 May 2007
By 
Beefer28 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Music City Soul (Audio CD)
Great great album. All of beverleys albums are excellent but I always found she shined so much more on the pure soul tracks than the pop or RnB crossover type songs and this new album is ALL about the soul. It digs right into Beverleys musical roots, Gospel tinged Soul a la Aretha and Sam cooke and she does it justice amazingly. Her cover of "Time is on my side" is a highlight as is "no mans land", "Everytime you see me smile", next single "after you", the stomping "black butta" and my personal fave which for some bizzare reason is a bonus track "Uptight" her voice is amazing on this track! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Music City Soul
Music City Soul by Beverley Knight (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews