Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The bad and the good
Here we have all the CBS songs from Steve Stills in the 70's.Too many people think Stills did nt make anything good after Manassas...Well,they are totally wrong!The first L.P "Stills" is certainly one of the best record he ever made,all the songs are soulful,lyrical with great arrangements.From blues to folk ,rock and soul,the man here is at his best!

Less...
Published on 3 Nov. 2008 by Royer Lionel

versus
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stills at his inconsistent best/worst
Yep, the Columbia years were not his best, granted. But there are still some small pearls on this good value set that probably make it worth the investment.

It's easy to dismiss post Manassas Stills output as the work of a hedonistic, egocentric and washed-up relic, but 'Stills' deserves closer examination. This is a really strong set of songs, showcasing his...
Published on 16 Mar. 2007 by Andy Clare


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stills at his inconsistent best/worst, 16 Mar. 2007
By 
Andy Clare (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stills / Illegal Stills / Thoroughfare Gap (Audio CD)
Yep, the Columbia years were not his best, granted. But there are still some small pearls on this good value set that probably make it worth the investment.

It's easy to dismiss post Manassas Stills output as the work of a hedonistic, egocentric and washed-up relic, but 'Stills' deserves closer examination. This is a really strong set of songs, showcasing his formidable grasp of a range of styles. Soft rock, ballads, Latin, blues all feature along with some tasty guitar work and strong arrangements. I still think 'Myth......' is one of his most interesting pieces and to some extent predicts the stunning 'Spainish Suite' that eventually surfaced on the recent 'Man Alive' release (itself well worth checking out). 'Illegal Stills' has its moments, the jaunty 'Stateline Blues' with a simple guitar/dobro/vocals arrangement takes Stills back to the basics. But the majority of this set, whilst pleasent enough, does nothing to stay in the mind, much like the second Manassas album 'Down The Road'. As the previous reviewer observes, 'Thoroughfare Gap' is best forgotten as Stills embraces disco (Andy Gibb contributing vocals on some tracks)and rehashes tired versions of similar sounding songs from his more illustrious recent past. Having said which, the title track is a gem with some of the best lyrics Stills has ever turned in and would appear on a Best Of or Anthology compliation for sure. 'Lowdown', although a tad turgid, shows that few use the wah wah peddle better than this man.

There is some talk of an Archives set arriving in the near future which will probably chart his earlier work with Atlantic so you may want to hold out for that. Although this set is remastered, and at just over a tenner, a good deal - don't expect too much. No unreleased or alternative takes for the collectors, this simply repackages what has always been available. That's a shame, as whilst this was not a great time for Stills in the studio, history suggests that in the late 70's he turned in some great shows with The California Blues Band (most of whom played on Gap). Not essential, but certainly enough good songs to fill 1CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The bad and the good, 3 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Stills / Illegal Stills / Thoroughfare Gap (Audio CD)
Here we have all the CBS songs from Steve Stills in the 70's.Too many people think Stills did nt make anything good after Manassas...Well,they are totally wrong!The first L.P "Stills" is certainly one of the best record he ever made,all the songs are soulful,lyrical with great arrangements.From blues to folk ,rock and soul,the man here is at his best!

Less interesting are the two others LP,but you can enjoy a few gems as "lowdown" ,"beaucoup yumbo and a greasy rocking "Not fade away"(just listen how the guy use the wha-wha stomp!)
But just for the pleasure to listen "Stills" remastered,it absolutely worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get it!, 18 Dec. 2009
By 
Udeen (Northumberland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stills / Illegal Stills / Thoroughfare Gap (Audio CD)
My expectations on buying this collection of three of the less heralded Stills records were not high and I was pleasantly surprised. 'The Great Rock Discography' awards 'Stills', 'Illegal Stills' and 'Thouroughfare Gap' an unpromising 5, 5 and 3 stars (out of 10) respectively, but then I often find Martin Strong's star system baffling.

'Stills', the first of the three LPs is quite superb (that's a minimum of 9, Mr Strong) , possibly his most consistent work. 'My Favourite Changes' is a neglected masterpiece and 'In the Way', 'Love Story', 'To Mama From Christopher And The Old Man' and 'Myth Of Sisyphus' are all excellent. The only song that doesn't impress is 'Cold Cold World'. This is a pointer to the problems to come. The follow up 'Illegal Stills' is a bit of a stinker and if you look at the writing credits it is not hard to see why. Two songs on 'Stills' - 'Cold Cold World' and 'Turn Back The Pages' were co-written with Donnie Dacus. Five of the songs on 'Illegal Stills' are credited, at least in part, to Dacus and, judging by the results, this was a most ill-advised partnership for Stills. It is very hard to pick out any highlights from this record, so I won't.

I have read several damning reveiws of 'Thoroughfare Gap' and the fact that it is buried away on its own CD here is not promising. Having heard it I feel that the panning it has received is rather unfair, and certainly would more justifiable in the case of 'Illegal Stills'. Thankfully Dacus has departed and, perhaps in celebration, Stills decides to attempt some disco settings. If this is what puts fans and reviewers off it shows Stills to be rather more adventurous than his listeners. It contains three songs that I like a lot -'Thoroughfare Gap', 'Beaucoup Yumbo' (great piano work!) and 'Woman Lleva'. 'You Can't Dance Alone' and 'We Will Go On' are interesting attempts at something a bit more funky, although ultimately a little shallow. For the life of me I cannot understand the furious reaction to 'Can't Get No Booty'.

What do you want? If you want Stills with all the edges smoothed off listen to 'Man Alive' (a misleading title if ever there was one). Surely that's not what Stills is about. This is a far more interesting package, for all its quirks and faults. Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stills fails to turn back the pages, 10 Mar. 2007
By 
Mr. A. W. Riggs "bernard shakey" (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stills / Illegal Stills / Thoroughfare Gap (Audio CD)
By the mid 70s Stephen's output had reached a very low point, although Stills and Illegal Stills contain some reasonable songs, Thoroughfare Gap represents the nadir of the great man's career. 30 years on we can see that Stills was a spent force, Stills hard core fans had hoped he could find the brilliance of CSN, Mannassas & Stills I & II - but his lack of creativity resulted in losing his record deal and he was overshadowed by Neil Young. Stills found solace in the occassional regroupings of CSN but for the years 1966-1972 represent Stills at his very best - this double cd represents great value for money, but for fans only serves to emphasise the fall from grace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a must.., 24 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stills / Illegal Stills / Thoroughfare Gap (Audio CD)
Although these 3 albums are not his finest work they are a must for any fan of Stills, there are some really great songs mixed in amongst a few average ones on each album, I'll not bore you with my personal favourites, all I will say is I'd score each album 6 out of 10, If I was to score some of his other work I'd score Manassas at 8 out of 10 and the Stephen Stills album at 9 out of 10, that should give you a fair reflection on the material contained in these 3 albums. This package itself is very good for the price, it's packaged well too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music from a harmonious voice., 13 May 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stills / Illegal Stills / Thoroughfare Gap (Audio CD)
Pure Stephen Stills at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plug yours with this album, 4 Nov. 2014
By 
Steve Law "Sven" (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stills / Illegal Stills / Thoroughfare Gap (Audio CD)
Again the man is in form. Title track can be listened to endlessly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stills / Illegal Stills / Thoroughfare Gap
Stills / Illegal Stills / Thoroughfare Gap by Stephen Stills (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews