Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Hell of a great show!
This show was a bit of a televisual hidden gem, so it's great to see it out on DVD. It's funny and quirky with some unforgettable cartoon characters and genuine laugh out loud moments. It also features the voice of late comedy legend Bob Monkhouse in the title role. I just hope Bobs not in Hell now as that would be just too ironic for words :o(
Published 6 months ago by Doug McGrave

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing.
The show itself? Great. Highest recommendation possible.

On the down side, there are two highly annoying things about this set that have been neglected by prior reviews.

First of all, the episodes are in the wrong order. This is only a minor irritation as there is very little continuity in the show, but it's still somewhat disorientating for someone...
Published on 28 July 2007 by Mail-order Christ


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., 28 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aaagh! It's The Mr Hell Show [DVD] (DVD)
The show itself? Great. Highest recommendation possible.

On the down side, there are two highly annoying things about this set that have been neglected by prior reviews.

First of all, the episodes are in the wrong order. This is only a minor irritation as there is very little continuity in the show, but it's still somewhat disorientating for someone who watched it when it aired.

The big gripe, however, is that the episode 'Big Buzznizz' is of a much lower production quality than the other episodes. The frame rate is marginally faster creating a constant blur effect, and the animation is noticeably out of sync with the audio. This was how the episode originally aired on BBC2, but the repeat of the episode a few nights later was in perfect quality - which only adds to the mystery and the stupidity of including the worse version on the DVD. It's not like you can make the argument that they did this to keep in continuity with how the series aired - again, the episodes are out of order anyway, so there is absolutely no excuse for this. It tarnishes an otherwise great package.

Not much to say on the series itself, I loved it when it was televised and I still enjoy its dark and twisted humour now. It's especially enjoyable since Bob Monkhouse's death as one of the raunchier elements of his immense legacy. It's just a shame that the DVD itself has been so horribly butchered in so few, but so significant areas. If these flaws aren't likely to bother you then go ahead and buy the set, it's good value for money and a good laugh, but just be aware that it's far from what it should have been.

Great show, let down badly by a hacked release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Hell of a great show!, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aaagh! It's The Mr Hell Show [DVD] (DVD)
This show was a bit of a televisual hidden gem, so it's great to see it out on DVD. It's funny and quirky with some unforgettable cartoon characters and genuine laugh out loud moments. It also features the voice of late comedy legend Bob Monkhouse in the title role. I just hope Bobs not in Hell now as that would be just too ironic for words :o(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hell yes!, 6 Mar 2007
This review is from: Aaagh! It's The Mr Hell Show [DVD] (DVD)
There was a time, about yesterday in fact, that I thought that the Mr Hell show was gone forever.

Not so! Here it is, ready to enter my hands in full glory on April 2nd 2007.

Hooray!

This little-known TV series is the funniest cartoon I ever remember seeing, full to the brim with hilarious sketches, including some popular regular contributions from favourite characters, such as Serge the seal, and Mr Hell himself, voiced by Bob Monkhouse no less.

I was bitterly disappointed when the show was shoved later and later in BBC2's schedule. So here it is, and I can finally show the world how good it was.

See for yourself, buy it now---if you're a fan of all things cartoony and adult comedy, you shalln't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Aaagh! It's The Mr Hell Show [DVD] (DVD)
not enough features on but product is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insane, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aaagh! It's The Mr Hell Show [DVD] (DVD)
Quirky, original, irreverent, and hysterically funny. A Canadian gem that should not be overlooked, and where nothing is sacred. Well worth the money for the laughs you can have again and again. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devilishly funny., 25 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aaagh! It's The Mr Hell Show [DVD] (DVD)
This show was Bob Monkhouse's final performance, in a way. He voices the host, Mr. Hell as a clever, witty and charming chap. I would've preferred Bob to have played it in his own voice, which he does for the main part, but he has dropped in the slightest US accent on some words, I suppose to fit in a little better with the Canadian cast. Shame, that.

Anyway, the show looks good - like something from Cartoon Network. It's fast-paces and irreverent. The jokes are good and the extra features are all interesting and entertaining. A good value-for money ratio.

The animation is a little disppointing in places, through no fault of its own - this was made in a time where Flash was a simpler program, and as a result, it's what Flash animators call 'symbol-based' animation - the final product looks like a cross between cut-out animation like South Park, but it's trying to look like traditional 2D drawn animation.

That said, it is quite nicely done, and after a few sketches, you ignore it and just enjoy the show.

Not for kids, by the way. It's not obscene but there are mild swear-words and some tame sexual references/images. Okay for teenagers who've probably said and done worse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how long have we been waiting!!!!, 3 May 2007
By 
Mr. P. R. Davies (hayes middlesex, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aaagh! It's The Mr Hell Show [DVD] (DVD)
i have been surfing the net for years waiting for when this series would hopefully come along to buy on dvd and now its finally here afer five years the funniest adult cartoon ever. Its a shame sir bob monkhouse passed away and that the beeb didnt sign up to many more episodes of this great masterpiece of humour family guy,american dad,south park eat your heart out its just too funny no wonder i used to stay up late on a sunday night!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yes!! it's the mr hell show!!, 20 Aug 2007
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aaagh! It's The Mr Hell Show [DVD] (DVD)
The delight of dvd is that it brings you series you thought you'd never see again. Although I did tape this off tv when it was first broadcast in 2001 I missed the twelfth episode due a change in broadcast time and it's never been repeated, so it's great to finally get a chance to see it.

This is an animated sketch show. Bob monkhouse voices the main character, a blue suited demon who plays nasty tricks on people, and who introduces lots of linked sketches throughout the course of an episode. There are several regular characters such as serge the seal of death, a seal out to destroy the fashion industry, and..

it's not an easy show to describe! fast, anarchic, utterly black humour that will not be to all tastes. Bob monkhouse is brilliant in the lead, in his typical deadpan fast talking style. There are thirteen episodes spread over two discs, and a few decent extras on the first one such as deleted sketches and a short pilot episode.

A cult show. A great show. and it's great to see it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long-lost classic, 24 Mar 2013
By 
D. Hughes (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aaagh! It's The Mr Hell Show [DVD] (DVD)
"I play a slick, slimy devil! Great. Typecast again." -- Bob Monkhouse.

An excellent collection of rapid-fire skits with an animation style that was ahead of its time. Memorable characters abound, from Josh (who'd love to talk to you about reincarnation), to little Pepito (who'd love to tell you how wonderful the world is, in spite of Mr. Hell's protestations), to Serge the seal cub (who'd like a word with the moguls of the fashion industry, if only he could remember to ask questions first and shoot later), with the titular character voiced to silky-smooth devilish perfection by the late, great Mr. Monkhouse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!, 3 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aaagh! It's The Mr Hell Show [DVD] (DVD)
I remember seeing this when it was first brought out on tv when I was about 8. Ever since I have been looking for it! Finally found it here on amazon, and have to say, it is just as good now. It may have tougher opposition in American Dad, Family guy ect, But I still believe this is the best 'Adult Cartoon' made! With the voice of the awsome Bob Monkhouse as Mr. Hell, and surge a sycopathic seal hell bent on revenge, this truely one of the greatest show ever to grace a British T.V!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aaagh! It's The Mr Hell Show [DVD]
6.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews