Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Covert military Ops - Mamet and Ryan Style
A U.S delta force unit led by Jonas Blane(Dennis Haysbert) and under the overall command of Col Tom Ryan(Robert Patrick)trawl the world and home soil putting out fires that range from hijackings to 40 lb bombs to guarding political summits etc.Their missions are constrasted with their families lives on base and the steps they have to take to protect their husbands real...
Published on 20 Oct 2008 by Mark Pearce

versus
30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Disappointing
I bought this purely on the strength of Dennis Haysbert being in it after admiring his work as President Palmer in 24, but after watching this it is a reminder that it takes more than just a great actor(s) to make a great show.

The writers of The Unit have tried to make each episode individual with regard to the stories but this has the unfortunate consequence...
Published on 5 Oct 2007 by M. Power


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Covert military Ops - Mamet and Ryan Style, 20 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: The Unit - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
A U.S delta force unit led by Jonas Blane(Dennis Haysbert) and under the overall command of Col Tom Ryan(Robert Patrick)trawl the world and home soil putting out fires that range from hijackings to 40 lb bombs to guarding political summits etc.Their missions are constrasted with their families lives on base and the steps they have to take to protect their husbands real identities.
Military soap opera has some excellent performances,a thoughtful and well drawn account of the lives of those left behind and some exciting and hair-raising moments for the "Unit".
Created surprisingly by David Mamet and Shawn Ryan(The Shield)The Unit is a well written and engaging series marred only by the occasional story lull,some obvious twists and a preposterous final episode that was just too silly for words.Haysbert stands out as the beacon of responsibility and decision making in the field in a well chosen cast of characters who are all allowed to develop quite nicely.
Solid Entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A terrific series, 7 Mar 2008
By 
Sophie Masson (Armidale, New South Wales Australia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Unit - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great series, which we discovered by accident on DVD and thoroughly enjoyed. It can be characterised as a kind of mix of action thriller and soap opera--Spooks crossed with, say, Neighbours--but lest that put you off, I hasten to add the mix is generally very well done. The characters are great and you really get to know them well over the course of the series. The actors are excellent, and the plots generally tight and interesting(with one or two rather unrealistic ones, such as the final scenes of the final episode, which raise a good many questions that aren't answered.) And although there are some cheesy and corny moments, by and large there is some genuine exploration of the ambiguous double world inhabited by these elite soldiers and their families. We certainly couldn't stop watching, once we'd started!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Disappointing, 5 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: The Unit - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this purely on the strength of Dennis Haysbert being in it after admiring his work as President Palmer in 24, but after watching this it is a reminder that it takes more than just a great actor(s) to make a great show.

The writers of The Unit have tried to make each episode individual with regard to the stories but this has the unfortunate consequence of making it feel rushed as writers are fighting against the time restrictions of an episode whilst characters get weighed down with dialog because of the need to explain a whole new scenario.
Couple that with the unnecessary viewpoint of the army wives's perspective alongside the main story and it feels like the opportunity to show the men in full on action has been, sadly missed.

This is a shame because you want to like these men, and you want to see what these highly trained special forces can really do, but they never really face a challenging enough adversary to impress the viewer, and they always get it right and go home to their wives at the end of the day.

On the subject of the wives, it seems like they were thrown into the mix as an afterthought to maybe draw in some female viewers, but in the process, not really adding anything to the story or the enjoyment but holding it back in most cases.

It's unclear to me exactly who this show is aimed at as there doesn't seem enough involvement in either the wives or The Unit's character development to feel any empathy or respect for them. Your not really given any time to get to know anyone or care what happens to them as it makes you feel like you are an observer skimming over the surface of their day to day lives rather than being privy to, and involved in a great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Badgers Nadgers!, 25 May 2007
By 
Mr. I. N. Robinson "Joe robinson" (dunstable, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Unit - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
ive been watching the unit now since it started on bravo on a tuesday night, and i must say having a big military intrest i bloody love this show. Its a military drama that is not only about a special forces team of 5 but also about their wives and how they cope with their husbands being deployed around the world at very short notice into extremly hostile and dangerous missions. The missions themselves are soo well written and you can be assured that no two missions are ever remotly the same with different scenarios from assasinations, plane hijackings, hostage rescues, search & rescue missions, natural disasters, dealing with drug lords and special forces competitions and those are just the first few episodes. series 2 is now being shown on bravo and it keeps just getting better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Force made in USA - still worth your time, 14 Feb 2007
By 
You have to inevitably compare this series to the UK Ultimate Force. They are just too similar. Or...it is only too obvious that The Unit has been created based on the success and brilliant idea of the Ultimate Force. Only the budget makes the main difference.

I like the series. Characters are interesting, plots are interesting. There are good action sequences. There is this secrecy magic in it.

But...and that makes it lose the 5th star...the military reality is definitely not a strong point of The Unit (see: the gung-ho action in the 1st episode as an example). The 8th episode is complete nonsense (again Ultimate Force shows what the interrogation test is all about). The steel-solid-stare of Jonas' wife who is always right etc. is just boring. Finally, the language Jonas speaks is not one of a military (Henno's harsh behavior and language add a lot to realism).

Briefly - a good series. Enjoyed watching it. I am looking forward for the second one. Even despite a number of flaws as described above.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needs More Grit, 27 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. R. F. Shurvinton "shurvinton" (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Unit - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
An entertaining series for action addicts, but somewhat flawed.

Just how many of you would believe that elite Special Forces troops would happily parade their faces after an action and lose the necessary anonymity they require to do their job effectively ?. You wouldn't ?.

Hmm. Then why did the makers of this series think that the actors playing such troops would be representing them accurately by doing so fairly regularly in the show ?.

Overall, the series is an entertaining way to pass a few hours if you like things exploding, which sadly I do :).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Unit - Ultimate Farce Not Required, 22 Jun 2007
By 
N. Clarke "genco1901" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Unit - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
This reviewer was pleasantly suprised when, on first viewing Season 1 of The Unit, it turned out to be nothing like the ludicrous Ultimate Force, which depicted cardboard-cutout soldiers bumbling through absurd plots with a caste of wooden officers, evil, toothless East European villains, and even a female team member to distract from the appalling storylines. Intelligently written, The Unit can be divided into two distinct halves; the men and their activities, and their wives, who hold it all together behind the scenes. Although the soap-opera aspect of the wives' tribulations can seem a little overdone, The Unit benefits from Eric Haney's contribution as a former Delta Force soldier - the squadron's decidedly un-military 'interest room' with its wall of fame and fridge full of refreshments; the laid-back attitude to 'mixed orders of dress'; the selection programme itself; and the relentless, ear-splitting weapons practice that allows the soldiers to stay on top of their game.

With a clearly limited budget in the first season, it's amazing - to paraphrase Austin Powers - how Southern California can be made to look like any part of the world with a few potted palms. In that respect it reminds me of old TV series like Mission:Impossible, but is none the worse for this. The emphasis here is on the characters, not the nuances of location. And led by the imposing figure of Dennis Haysbert as Jonas Blaine it's hard to ignore them. A strong cast, a not overly politicised script which contains a healthy measure of criticism of the culture within the US forces, and extremely good attention to detail make The Unit a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In this moment, the best TV military series, 4 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: The Unit - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
After Over There (sadly stopped after only a season) is the best military TV series on the screen. Perfect, realistic and variated plots, in style with Andy McNab first books, with an eye on the "internal front" made of wifes and "domestic" dramas. A very good cast, with a perfect Dennis Haysbert and a "reborn" Robert Patrick. A good soundrack. What else ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so sure, 9 Sep 2007
This review is from: The Unit - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I had never seen The Unit before buying it on a whim. I got it on the strength of the packaging and thought I would give it a go. It also has Shawn Ryan as a Producer and as I love The Shield it seemed like a fair bet.
Like the previous reviewer I am a fan of Ultimate Force. That programme was a good advert for the SAS .
I feel The Unit might do Delta Force a disjustice (even more so than Chuck Norris!)

When I watched The Unit I watched all the episodes back to back in one go as I was laid up with the flu. This isn't too hard though as there are only 13 in the first season which makes you kind of think you're not getting your moneys worth.
I thought right from the beginning that it seemed like a US version of Ultimate Force as there are so many similarities. However there are some glaringly obvious differences that set it aside.
The main thing is that the soldiers to me are ok but NOT really Special Forces. I live in the Middle East and have come across a lot of military personnel and you don't have to be a brain surgeon to know the difference between a squaddie and a trained Special Forces guy.

You have the Team Leader played by Dennis Haysbert who just reminds me of a fabric softner teddy bear! He is shown getting soppy in the field and getting told off by Plod. Henno would have none of that!
Robert Patrick does a decent turn as the Colonel and Williams and Gray are woefully underused in favour of.....
.........the Wentworth Miller look-a-like who plays Bob Brown. Bland, and I have seen more ruthless bouncers at my local pub! At one point he has to do an escape and evasion and messes it up royally. He's meant to be a killing machine but instead of going all Jason Bourne, he goes all Clay Aitken and comes onto some old man. Would you find an SAS trooper doing that? If they did I wouldn't want to see it! What's even worse is when the others find out how he escaped he gets away with a mild ribbing. What's that all about?
The only one who resembles a special forces soldier in my eyes is Mac. He is the only one who seems to get flashes of anger, PTSD or has any issues at home. He seems to be consistently injured although it's always via blue on blue contact (again, not the best advert). He also is the only one in my opinion that even looks like he knows what he's doing.

As a Brit, seeing fighting men after a mission having a beer and actually discussing womens emotional issues is just farcical. What were the writers thinking???????

Second big difference is that this show spends as much time on the home front as on the front line. This may put some men off but actually get female viewers watching. Sometimes it's refreshing as they actually address some real issues of forces wives (kind of weird when it's only the women who say "train hard, fight easy"). More often than not though it's all about the next bake sale.
They spend so much time harping on about keeping the home fires burning that you keep expecting Vera Lynne to show up at one of their coffee mornings.
Most of them also look like models and although they whine about the pay they are dressed in their finest. But that's Hollywood right?
The leader of the women, Molly, is like Oprah and shoves tough love down the throats of the other wives. Bob's wife (so bland I don't remember her name) is just so lame I can't find words. Meeting with a potential attacker she is rescued by a hippy DJ. Did you learn nothing from your husband in how to defend yourself?
The saving grace again is Mac and his wife Tiffy. She makes things a whole lot more interesting by cheating on him (a complete rip off of Pete Twamley in UF and his wife).

I know there is a war on and that they don't want to be too harsh and kudos to them for not making arabs the bad guys in every episode but at the same time the show could be a lot more gritty.

So why the 3 stars?
1 star = for the fact that despite all this (and you could blame the flu medication) during the 8th episode SEER I found myself rooting for the guys.It's kind of ironic though that the scariest episode is the one where they are tortured by their own side! It was also the point in the season where I got into the theme tune.
2nd star = The season finale is great and I actually ended it all thinking that I wanted to know what happens next.
3rd star = No matter what I say about realism etc etc I am still a girl and this star goes to Mac for taking his shirt off in nearly every episode! Good lad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unit - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Great item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Unit - Season 1 - Complete [DVD]
The Unit - Season 1 - Complete [DVD] by Scott Foley (DVD - 2007)
£18.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews