Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, outlandish, neurotic and poignant.
Peep Show is one of those shows which I didn't watch when it first came out, I started watching part way through series two and enjoyed it, and by series three I was absolutely hooked.

The unique way of filming Peep Show gives it a rare individual style, and the two main characters of Mark and Jeremy seem so realistic due to the way we are able to see them and...
Published on 6 Nov 2007 by @GeekZilla9000

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Begins well but flirts with mediocrity throughout
I loved the first three series of this show very much - great comedy acting, some excruciating cringe worthy moments and many great laughs. However, I found this series often made me cringe for the wrong reasons- the script quality is poor and I really think they were low on ideas at times. The plot was often very unbelievable (dog eating anyone?) and not in an amusing...
Published on 3 July 2008 by Ben Kelly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, outlandish, neurotic and poignant., 6 Nov 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Peep Show, Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Peep Show is one of those shows which I didn't watch when it first came out, I started watching part way through series two and enjoyed it, and by series three I was absolutely hooked.

The unique way of filming Peep Show gives it a rare individual style, and the two main characters of Mark and Jeremy seem so realistic due to the way we are able to see them and what they are thinking. Jesse Armstrong and Sam Bain have managed to create a pair of lovable flatmates and after three series of constant character development, series four is as solid as it gets. Mitchell and Webb themselves have also provided material, which no doubt helps to make their performances so believable as they have had their own hands in the characters (as it were).

Watching the socially awkward Mark, you can't help but relate to him at times. We've all experienced situations where we feel uncomfortable - it's just that Mark experiences it more than most. Series four is less about him chasing Sophie as they are now engaged. The series almost felt like it would be a natural end to Peep Show, with the couple settling down and marrying, but the final episode definitely leaves the series open to continue. The primary issues dealt with in Peep Show are the relationships the boys have, and their sexual frustrations. ...And does Mark really want to get married!?

Jeremy's love is life collapsing around his ears after accepting an `indecent proposal' for Big Suze, things are complicated further when Mark runs into Jeremy's ex Nancy. He also finds some `comfort' with his best mates insatiable future mum-in-law

A series full of brilliant episodes, each crammed with neurotic ramblings and outrageous situations. From an affair with a school friend, giving hand-jobs to a personal hero, to eating a dog and faking a brain tumour - British comedy rarely gets better than this.

For me, the most poignant moment in this series, was watching Mark go through the personal hell of a school reunion and coming face to face with the bullies who had scarred his childhood. There were some very touching moments and I think that anyone who has experienced bullying will be able to identify with the feelings of anger and upset, it shows just how bullying can effect someone for the rest of their lives. You begin to understand why he feels to uncomfortable around people. The fact that it was so moving is testament to the fantastic writing and the perfect acting involved in bringing this series to the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hard to rival this !, 22 Aug 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peep Show, Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
series four of peep show was aired in 2007 and the madness that the show is famed for continues in its very unconventional style.As usual the show relies on point of view shots and internal monolouge to convey the real feelings of those involved,albeit it,jeremy and marks thoughts,as the splutter through their lives and cause humilation and chaos for all around them.
So,on to series 4,well it centres around marks wedding to sophie,a wedding that mark is too polite to call off,thats the impression that one got in season three and it boils over here.There are other subplots here as well,nancy returns meaning jeremy is all over the place,johnson has big plans for the company mark works for and mark meets sophies family to name just a few of the little interwoven stories.
The series develops the characters maybe better than ever,and at times mark and jeremys characters almost swap places as mark gets more ruthless and jeremy shows more sense and rational behaviour,it was quite surreal in places how mark could go at times,of course jeremy is never far away for destroying scenes,watch him eat a dog is one of them that made me cringe my eyes off.
The series is great but cant really rival the glory of the first two series',some places i found myself waiting a while for a good laugh but there are plenty of them,as mad a series as ever,despite the obvious underuse of super hans,but all things being equal this is glorious tv with an edge all of its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Ever, 24 Oct 2007
This review is from: Peep Show, Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Peep show in the previous three series has been hilarious. Season four does not disappoint. It is packed with new and innovative story lines. Mainly focusing on the wedding of Mark and the crisis of to go through with it. It also blends many other story lines that are laugh out loud. It features a collection of skilled actors mixed with good writting. Ricky Gervias also likes the show commenting on the comedy festival 2006. Would say it is a must have in anyone's collection. If you want to spend an enjoyable evening in this will work a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best series yet, roll on 5!, 11 Sep 2007
By 
John Tansey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peep Show, Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
The writers of every good Brittish comedy series in recent years (Black Books, The Office, Spaced) have not dared to venture into the dangerous teritory of a fourth series. It's around this time that ideas begin to run dry, the characters show their limitations and the whole show is a shadow of it's former glory. NOT Peep Show however! Jesse Armstrong and Sam Bain, with more than a little assistance from the brilliant Mitchell & Webb, have created another excrutiating series of pain and humiliation. And it's hilarious!

The main arc of series 4 is Mark's imminant wedding to the lovely, soft-faced Sophie and his crippling, crippling doubts. The first episode sees Mark and Jez visiting Sophie's parents; with the groom-to-be agonising over conversation with dad, and Jeremy keeping both brother (played by lead singer of Joe Lean & The Jing Jang Jong) and mother company, in rather, ahem, different ways. Barn burning, finger sucking and pheasant decapitation ensues, and it's a fantastic start to possibly the best series yet. Each series has been better than the last, and series 1 was bloody brilliant!

If you caught the Peep Show bug back in the early days then, like me, you've probably worn out the video you recorded all the episodes on when they aired and now need something rather more perminant. However if you're new to the show and browsing Amazon for inspiration, then I'd reccomend beginning with the series 1-3 boxset. It's possible to dive straight into series 4 however it's probably more satisfying and rewarding to follow the saga of mysery that is the life of Mark and Jeremy right from the start. It's impossible to describe how funny this show is, you've just got to watch it! They apparently commisioned a fifth series even before this one aired, and I for one can't wait for the continuing adventures of our favourite "tight-fisted c*ck-muncher" and "work-shy freeloader"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Peep Show Fans, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peep Show, Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Their series just get better and better and so for anyone who is a fan this really is a must if you want to see Series 4 again........and so cheap to buy it really is such a good deal........arrived promptly and well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars soooo funny!!!!, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peep Show, Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I have now bought the whole series of peep show its hilarious. If you haven't seen it its definetly worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Almighty Fourth Series!, 7 May 2012
This review is from: Peep Show, Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Its another great series from the lads and it could have possibly, (as a series) ended at this point, but remarkably it didn't!

There's the usual sticky situations that both Mark and Jeremy find themselves in, (all leading up to Mark's impending marriage to Sophie).

Mark struggles to give a presentation to the JLB board, Jeremy, "works," with the, "Orgazoid," Mark goes to a school reunion, they go on their stag do down the canals and Mark struggles at the gym! Nancy also returns in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny x, 17 April 2012
This review is from: Peep Show, Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I only started watching Peep Show on channel four around series 5 so missed all the early ones. Really enjoyed this and watches them all straight away ! Can't wait for the next series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest peep show series ever., 13 Oct 2011
This review is from: Peep Show, Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the best peep show ever!!! It is the funniest and I pissed myself laughing. I'm a peep show converter and managed to convert my mates to the religion of peep show with this dvd. Came quick and in great condition. Buy this dvd you won't regret it. Classic scenarios which could only happen to Jez and Mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Church toilet humour, 19 Aug 2011
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peep Show, Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Possibly the best series out of the 7 (as of 2011), with the execption of series 3. It's the wedding series. Mark has proposed (well, sort of: Sophie accepted a proposal that was never actually given), Jez tries to reconcile with his 'wife', Nancy, and they both act as complete gentlemen on the stag do (Mark accepts a job in India in order to escape from his forced nuptials and Jez eats a dog).

Sophies's Parents: Newly goateed Mark and Jez go to meet Spohie's folks in the country. Much yokel orientated humour ensues. Jez of course sleeps with Soph's repressed mother, her father burns down a neighbour's barn and Mark perpetuates the lie of his unfaltering love for Sophie in order to co-own a cottage. Oh and a pheasant has its head ripped off.

Conference: The presentation in Kettering (Project Zeus) that actually becomes, well, about nothing. But at least Mark can run away to the car park and be at one with nature for the rest of his life. Or return to the meeting in order to announce that he's dying? Both good.

Gym: Mark joins a gym to get fit*. Jez works at the same gym because he needs a job**. They both act like normal human beings***

*To have a legitimate excuse to spend time away from Sophie
**Because his estranged wife Nancy works there and he wants to have sex with her.
*** They both accuse Mark's personal trainer of doing a poo in the pool and sexually molesting Mark because Mark has told him about his lack of feeling for Sophie and Nancy fancies him.

Handyman: Jez starts 'working' for the Orgazoid. Mark is actually found attractive and propositioned by a very attractive old school friend. And abandoned at Longleat safari park.

Holiday: the stag do! Barges, yards of ale, jobs in India and crispy peking dog.

Wedding: The big day. Time for last minute reflective, going to the toilet in a church, accusing Sophie of infedelity, marriage and break-up, all in time for tea.

Near perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peep Show, Series 4 [DVD]
Peep Show, Series 4 [DVD] by David Mitchell (DVD - 2007)
2.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews