Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the Critics and embrace The Weirdness
Following the general consensus on this review page I think The Weirdness is a good album. It is EVERYTHING you could possibly want from the Stooges so I am baffled at the reviews it's been getting.

By the way, if there are any full-on Iggy fans out there I bought a surprisingly good DVD slideshow of Mick Rock's photography recently, and it is fantabulous. Rock...
Published on 30 April 2007 by woidy

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let me tell you about the weirdness......
The weirdest thing about The Weirdness is Ron Asheton's guitar style. There's nothing to be found here reminiscent of the first two Stooges albums. If you're expecting No Fun and 1969 type riffing, forget it. Ironically, with The Weirdness Ron has concocted a bunch of riffs that give a more than knowing nod to the material on the one Stooges album he didn't play guitar...
Published on 3 July 2007 by XBBX


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars oh dear mister Albini, 7 Mar 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weirdness (Audio CD)
I guess i'm just like every other Stooges fan, i couldn't believe it when they reformed and i nearly collapsed when i heard they were recording a new album. Funhouse is without doubt the greatest rock and roll album in the world ever, and like every other fan, i was hoping and praying that this might come close. i was waiting for Iggy and the boys to show the world how it was done.

Okay, so on first listen i coul;dn't believe what i was hearing. The word dull springs to mind, and the production job seems a real hatchet job. The mix is so bad (so Albini) that Mike Watt's bass can hardly be heard. Scotts drums are the major instrument, and Ron's guitar has a habit of washing in and out, a far cry from the minimal, lean sound of yore. And then there's the songs. 1st impressions, not up to scratch. What were we expecting? i don't know, just...more than this. A groove, perhaps. A sense of menace.

But there is an up side. Play this disc in your car at FULL volume and it begins to make sense. Play it so loud that it hurts and Mr Albini doesn't seem to have done such a bad job. Try forgetting about Funhouse and Raw Power et all and judge it on its own terms, as a modern rock album by a bunch of 60 year olds and by christ it rocks. There's some very good stuff on here, it just won't be changing anyones life the way the first three did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stooges do what they do best, 1 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: The Weirdness (Audio CD)
This is an ace CD - The Stooges are back with their own style of guitar sound and I love it. OK, it's not Fun House! Who cares if the lyrics are stupid - it's not that type of album. Turn up the volume and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stooges deliver, 12 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: The Weirdness (Audio CD)
I've read all the bad reviews but as someone who's been a disciple for 35 years I think they're wide of the mark. The Ashetons have never sounded better, Iggy's lyrics are just as dumb as when he was 21, the songs rock, the production is good and the music has a live feel. My one criticsm is that Steve Mackay doesn't get to blow on many songs. Its not slick, its not groundbreaking (thousands of bands have been influenced by the Stooges) but its streets ahead of anything else in its genre. The Stooges remain the real deal and the product shows they are growing old disgracefully. Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Weirdness, 3 July 2009
This review is from: The Weirdness (Audio CD)
Quite simply the worst album I've ever heard. I wasn't necessarily looking for another great album from these guys. They did, after all, record the holy trinity of pre-punk albums back in the sixties and seventies, but with that in mind you'd expect, if nothing else, something that rocked. This doesn't. The music in uninspired, and whilst unoriginal isn't necessarily a concern, it's painfully formulaic, and that is a concern. No member of the band really offers anything that becomes their musical status, boring guitar and drum work, ordinary sax that may as well not be there, crappy lyrics offered in an unconvincing and uninspiring monotone, and the whole thing helmed by Steve Albini, who should know better, but doesn't, it seems.

I feel justified in saying it's the worst album I've ever heard, because I've never felt such intense dislike for an album recorded in a genre I love by musicians I respect. There are albums in other genres I have no time for, but this offers absolutely nothing. There is nothing new in it worth hearing, and there's nothing in it that's not new that hasn't been done better somewhere else before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the most awaited 4th album in the world, 27 July 2008
This review is from: The Weirdness (Audio CD)
its ...ok or is it ??
i fully except its not going to be raw power or funhouse I KNOW THAT !
the first 20 seconds i was still thinking this is it !! then you hear the lyrics and oh god its skull ring 2.
like the guy before says the ashetons are on great form iggy you let them down .lyrically its almost appalling
opinion = couldnt be arsed and no one had the courage to say iggy this is crap

the two stars are for the ashetons, Mike watt & steve mackay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stooged again!!!, 9 May 2008
This review is from: The Weirdness (Audio CD)
I anticipated this CD with trepidation!!! Don't know what i expected but it's Brutal, it's Dumb to a fault, brilliant stuff. No one could expect the Stooges to sound like they did 30 odd years ago. I've got older,so have they, the world has too. we've all learned new tricks and it's a great album for today. Worthy of the name - Shame it takes old hands to make decent records these days!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What the HELL did you expect ?, 9 Mar 2007
This review is from: The Weirdness (Audio CD)
To be fair, I mostly agree with Andrew J. Stevenson's review (apart from the number of stars, right). But tell me what other band could reform 34 (I mean, THIRTY-FOUR !!!!) years after its last effort and still find the guts to give it a go. Well, these dudes have, and, in the case of being THAT Iggy Pop and THOSE Asheton Brothers, that's something.

Ok, "The Weirdness" is no "Fun House", nor it is a "Raw Power" Vol.2. But then again, what is ? Nirvana's "Nevermind" ? Well crafted pop songs with volume turned to 11. The White Stripes' "Elephant" ? A white blues tribute to guitar heroes. The Clash's "London Calling" ? A more than fine effort from a (brilliant nevertheless) bunch of American music fans who turn out to be punk's success story all by themselves. Let alone "Never Mind The Bollocks", "Exile On Main St." and (yes) even "Revolver".

Just for tracks like "My Idea Of Fun", "She Took My Money" or "The End Of Christianity", this output is well worth the wait (which is about my age, by the way). So Ok, this release won't change anyone's life the way the first three Stooges LPs did. But I just wish that most current interesting bands (Arcade Fire, TV On The Radio, Little Barrie or The Kills to name a few) could grow up THAT good.

To be honest, I don't believe it at all.

"The Weirdness" is a big slap in the face of formated rock music and a tiny reminder of a spirit gone, bashed by merchandising and customer policies.

Once again, STOOGES FOREVER.

Peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stooges my A***, 16 Mar 2007
This review is from: The Weirdness (Audio CD)
Just buy it , its a million times better than ANYTHING around at present.

Just good old feelgood high energy( 60 years old????) bluesy rock. What more do you want , look at the other CACK is out there , i mean get real . We have to get rid of the other talentless tosh that says its ROCK, so buy this instead OK MAN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Close, But No Cigar, 12 Mar 2009
By 
N. T. Procter (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weirdness (Audio CD)
Having been a huge fan of Iggy Pop and The Stooges for over 35 years, I had high hopes of this album, although it was unlikely to ever be as good as their first 3 albums and Metallic KO.

Although it is not as bad as some reviewers have suggested, I really can't justify giving it more than 3 stars, when comparing it to their earlier work, or I would be doing prospective purchasers a disservice.

The reason it lacks the instant appeal of their earlier work is twofold; firstly, because it lacks ambition and tries to recreate the past and secondly, Steve Albini's production job, which is not his best work.

However, it's still worthwhile and compares favourably to many comtemporary albums, but there is a lack of memorable guitar riffs and Iggy's lyrics are unimaginative and repetitive.

I couldn't help feeling that this could have been a much better album, if it had been produced by a more creative producer like Rick Rubin (rejected on grounds of cost and Iggy's impatience about his availability), Brian Eno, or John Cale, to name but a few alternatives.

Albini is first and foremost an engineer, but he is not an ideas man and it shows here, with most tracks being overpowered by Scott Asheton's drums, to the detriment of Ron Asheton's fretwork. Iggy's voice also sounds uncharacteristically thin and strained at times, yet concerts of the same period and later show his voice has lost little of it's power.

If you want to know how good the reformed Stooges are, check out Telluric Chaos, which is a simply fantastic live set and highly recommended.

Although the return of James Williamson, following Ron Asheton's premature death, is potentially good news, I do hope Iggy entrusts him with the production on any future Stooges studio albums, as this record hasn't done their reputation any favours.

The vinyl issue of this title includes 4 additional tracks, all of which are superior to those on this CD (although only the first of these is available on the CD import) O Sole Mio (an original, not the old song), Claustrophobia, I Wanna Be Your Man (Stones' cover version) and Sounds of Leather.

Let us hope that a remaster with James Wiliamson in charge will unlock the potential of this album and include the missing tracks, whose exclusion from the CD is bizarre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars damp squib, 8 Mar 2007
By 
freewheeling frankie (north London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Weirdness (Audio CD)
OK, so there's two issues here: what they sound like and the quality of the songs.

Let's get the second out of the way first - the best ones are OK, no more than that. But if you've heard any of Iggy's albums since the mid-90s or so you'll know that his songwriting isn't what it was, so I guess this shouldn't be a huge surprise. Most of the lyrics are pretty unimpressive and the guitar riffs unoriginal, though by no means embarrassingly bad. One of the most disturbing things about this album is how many of the vocal lines basically follow the guitar riffs - it's as if Iggy can't think of any melodies that would compliment the riffs, so he just sings the riffs.

But the most depressing aspect of this album is what they sound like. I saw them live 18 months ago and they reproduced the sound and fury of their first two albums superbly - the playing was great and Iggy hadn't sounded in as good voice for years, reproducing every whoop and shriek as if he was still in his early 20s.

On this album, the vocal fireworks are completely absent and Iggy sounds as if he's just singing a guide vocal rather than giving it his all; his pitching's a bit dodgy in places too. The guitar and drums riff away efficiently enough, but they just sound so anonymous, as if they were some middling punk band that could play pretty well but weren't very distinctive. The only difference between this and some of Iggy's more recent solo albums is that they sound more punk and less metal, which is a good thing but not nearly enough to rescue this uninspired effort. The album's crying out for a producer to say, "buck up the vocals", "this song's rubbish" etc. etc. Apparently one possible producer was Rick Rubin but they couldn't afford him so they went with Steve Albini instead, who of course doesn't produce, he just "records". Unfortunately he hasn't even made a very good job of that.
Fundamentally they just don't sound like The Stooges - I know they haven't forgotten how because I saw them do it. It's almost as if they were a superb Stooges tribute band who ill-advisedly and without any great conviction decided to make an album of their own material. Maybe they just can't do it without an audience - they just don't sound as if they could get it up in the studio.

I love The Stooges to death and I was over the moon when they reformed, especially when I saw them live. If you're a Stooges fan, avoid this mediocre album like the plague, it just leaves a bad taste of what might have been. If, on the other hand, you really like Iggy's recent solo albums, you may quite enjoy this one.

PS: Given all the 5 star reviews here I thought maybe I was missing something so I've listened to this album some more (6 times now) and really cranked it up, and perhaps I was a little hard on the Ashetons, they produce a pretty powerful sound and there are some moments when they really hit a groove, and even sound quite Stooges-like, but most of them are spoilt by Iggy's cruddy vocals - often woefully flat and even weedy - and the songs, which are ok at best - "deliberately trite" doesn't come into it, they're just not very inspired. And as for the mix - powerful as the overall sound is, the vocals and Steve Mackay's sax are mostly buried under a wall of drums and guitar, and although the overall sound is quite bottom heavy, the bass is almost completely inaudible most of the time, fighting a losing battle against the bass drum. All of you out there who think this album is worth 5 stars are kidding yourselves - you know perfectly well it's nowhere near as good as the 3 original Stooges studio albums, so how could it possibly be worth the highest rating? Don't make excuses for them. You'll soon tire of this and go back to the old albums. I didn't get this album to hear a few quite good bits, I wanted a rip-roaring Stooges album full of great songs and danger and I didn't get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Weirdness
The Weirdness by Iggy & The Stooges (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews