Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every bit as epic as the movie
If you are fan of huge epic movies, then you'll certainly appreciate the part that a decent musical score has to play in maintaining the epic vibe.
What Tyler Bates has done for Zack Snyder's eye-popping '300' is to take the production values of the movie (a tale of ancient Greek legend, performed by actors in period costume in a state-of-the-art, almost entirely CGI...
Published on 13 April 2007 by Calvin Collins

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars hmmmmm - NO
I'm sorry, but this CD just didn't do it for me. I think the film is wonderful and the music in the film is elevated by the stunning imagery. Take away that visual feast and you are left with a non discript series of 2 minute noise. I don't hear any flow between tracks or indeed any real music within the tracks. My advice, enjoy the film forget the soundtrack.
If you...
Published on 7 Oct 2008 by S. Burkey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every bit as epic as the movie, 13 April 2007
By 
Calvin Collins (Ipswich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 300 OST (Audio CD)
If you are fan of huge epic movies, then you'll certainly appreciate the part that a decent musical score has to play in maintaining the epic vibe.
What Tyler Bates has done for Zack Snyder's eye-popping '300' is to take the production values of the movie (a tale of ancient Greek legend, performed by actors in period costume in a state-of-the-art, almost entirely CGI environment) and apply them to the score, thus providing an aural counterpart to Snyder's often staggeringly visual approach.
As a result, we get genre mainstays like massive choral chanting, plaintive solo vocalists and stirring orchestral anthems thrown into the mix with pounding computerised drum rhythms, shrieking feedback and the occasional burst of crunching industrial metal guitar riffing!
And somehow it works! The combination of old and new that we see onscreen is underlined all the more by the hybrid musical backdrop, elevating '300' to an entirely different experience on all levels. Opening track (and the film's closing theme) 'To Victory' perfectly sums up the intensity of what is to come over the course of 25 seperate pieces of music. There are a few more ambient, eerie pieces to break the mood but, overall, this is (like the film) an exercise in heads-down, teeth-grinding power.
That's not to say that it's flawless, already many accusations of (...) have been levelled at Bates, both from other composers and traditional music experts. Personally, i find it strange that many of the vocal solos sound more Arabic than Greek in influence, thereby playing more to the approaching Persian army than to the Spartans, but that's a minor niggle really.
If you enjoyed the film, chances are you'll enjoy the OST too. Simple as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Molôn labe!, 10 May 2007
This review is from: 300 OST (Audio CD)
I feel what ever i write, it won't do this wonderful score justice. From powerful percussion based tracks like "come and get them" to sweeping haunting tracks like "goodbye my love" that get the hairs standing up on the back of your neck.The beautiful vocals and even the electic guitars, everything works well in this soundtrack. Turn off the lights, put headphones on, close your eyes and let yourself be taken back to ancient Greece. A true masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly enjoyable!, 4 May 2007
By 
This review is from: 300 OST (Audio CD)
If you happen to like epic, dramatic sounding music and soundtracks, then chances are you will like this! Its a little like a cross between Globus and Lisa Gerrard, haunting and powerful. Works a treat with the movie as well! The big gripe I have with most movie soundtracks written especially for the movie is that I wouldnt really want to listen to them when not viewing the movie, however I cant say that about this one, which is why it gets five stars rather than four in my vote :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding, 19 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. Warren M. Fisher (East Grinstead, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 300 OST (Audio CD)
As over-the-top and irresistable as the movie itself - sure it is more than a tad reminiscent of Elliot Goldenthal's score for 'Titus' (with a dash of Lisa Gerrard thrown in for good measure), but if the you're going to rip off someone, rip off the best. Vivid, vibrant and spellbinding this is one score not to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic soundtrack to an amazing movie., 21 Jun 2014
By 
D. Fenwick "yowzer." (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There isn't much I can say, this soundtrack has it all, heavy drum beats and guitars, slow melodic moments. Its stands by itself as well as working brilliantly with the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS.....IS.....AWESOME!!!, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 300 OST (Audio CD)
If you're a fan of the film '300' and the amazing music is uses then you will not be disappointed with this CD. It was all the original soundtracks from the film. I personally love to listen to it when exercising. Quickly delivered too, so happy with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 3 Feb 2013
This review is from: 300 OST (Audio CD)
300, as a movie, is a masterpiece, this score is no different: it is one of the best ive heard period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 300 OST (Audio CD)
Great music from the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars hmmmmm - NO, 7 Oct 2008
By 
S. Burkey "Cwrwda" (Ruthin, North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 300 OST (Audio CD)
I'm sorry, but this CD just didn't do it for me. I think the film is wonderful and the music in the film is elevated by the stunning imagery. Take away that visual feast and you are left with a non discript series of 2 minute noise. I don't hear any flow between tracks or indeed any real music within the tracks. My advice, enjoy the film forget the soundtrack.
If you want a really good soundtrack that stands on it own without the film, get Gladiator, Dune or Bladerunner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

300 OST
300 OST by Tyler Bates (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews