Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MACIC!
A lovely film. This is pure entertainment from start to finish. I too, don't have access to Sky and was fretting over missing it. However, the DVD has more than made up for that. I can watch it now, whenever I want! The plot as ever is the usual Pratchett mix of wierd and spectacular. You need to watch this one a few times as you get something different each time you...
Published on 6 May 2007 by Yvonne Green

versus
14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Liked but not loved
I need to start by admitting I was always coming at this as a long term enthusiast for Pratchett's books and so have been 'imagineering' the Discworld and characters in my head for around 15 years.

This said, the sets were great, acting good and the whole thing tried really hard to do the book credit. In particular I enjoyed Death but didn't find Te-a-ti-me as...
Published on 2 May 2007 by Mr. B. J. Purcell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MACIC!, 6 May 2007
By 
Yvonne Green "Rainbows In Beverley" (Beverley, East Yorkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hogfather Limited Edition [DVD] (DVD)
A lovely film. This is pure entertainment from start to finish. I too, don't have access to Sky and was fretting over missing it. However, the DVD has more than made up for that. I can watch it now, whenever I want! The plot as ever is the usual Pratchett mix of wierd and spectacular. You need to watch this one a few times as you get something different each time you watch it. The cast is brilliant (I loved Nigel Planer as the student wizard). Of course, there's much more to the book than you could possibly fit into a film. If you're a Pratchett book fan just enjoy the film as a great piece of film making and don't try and compare the two. If you've never encountered Terry Pratchett before, and like something a bit fantasy, you'll love the film. Great entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last a Pratchett adult adaptation that delivers, 23 Mar 2007
By 
Mr. W. Norman "Bill Norman" (Washington UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hogfather Limited Edition [DVD] (DVD)
The best programme on TV last Christmas - This is just fantastic - the casting of the late Ian Richardson as the voice of DEATH was inspired .So sad he wont be around for any more

David Jason's contribution is a tad underplayed but there again he doesnt steal the show and I suspect he deliberately pitched it so he wouldnt be THE BIG STAR

The FX are very well done the story moves at a cracking pace - all the flab from the book is gone

The Unseen University is magnificent and Joss Ackland has the time of his life as the Chancellor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars teh hogfather (DVD), 18 Mar 2007
This review is from: Hogfather Limited Edition [DVD] (DVD)
i am a fan of the books but not the tv versions. this one is different. i watched it when it was broadcast over the christmas period and it is fantastic. the special effects are top notch and the storyline matches the written version. buy it and get your family and friends round to watch it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special Edition, 23 April 2007
This review is from: Hogfather Limited Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I have only just received my copy so have not had chance to see it yet. Stars based on previous review and anticipation

But incase you were wondering what was so special about the "Special edition"- its simply the packaging. The extra pounds get you a fold out cover with a hole cut in it. As far as i can see the discs are identical. Worth the extra money- draw your own conclusions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Words from the wise, 21 Mar 2008
By 
Stephen A. Haines (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hogfather Limited Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Terry Pratchett fans long waited for the transformation of Discworld tales into visuals. Computer games, animations and stage productions were all right in their place, but film adaptations are the mark of success. Pratchett resisted adaptations because most producers "didn't get it". Vadim Jean "got it" and has made the story of "Hogfather" into a fine film presentation. As a TV production, there are limitations and omissions, but these do not detract from the success of Jean's efforts to bring Pratchett's story of intrigue, power and imagination to the small screen.

But what of the newcomer to Pratchett and his Discworld? Will they gain the same satisfaction from the visual presentation of one of the more compelling [and best-selling] authors of the past generation? The DVD opens with a Bang. Not a very Big one, but enough to discharge a wondrous sight - a disc sitting atop four elephants who stand on the carapace ["shell"] of a giant tortoise. The vision certainly imparts the feeling that something unusual will follow. Which it does: a young governess is reading "Jack And The Beanstalk" to a pair of youngsters on Hogswatch Eve. Tucking them in, Susan notes: "If you don't believe in the Hogfather, there won't be any presents." It is the film's key statement.

For the Hogfather has gone missing. This may be because the Auditors of the Universe, who resent life and loathe humans because they're unpredictable, have commissioned Guild of Assassins to have the Hogfather "brought to an end". The Guild's Head assigns the job to a young Assassin, Mister Teatime ["Tee-ah tim-eh, most people get it wrong, Sir."] who has already devised a plan to accomplish it. Teatime gathers a team to put his plan into effect. This scheme starts by kidnapping the Tooth Fairy. Wot?

Meanwhile, across town, the wizards of the Unseen University are experiencing some bizarre events. Strange new beings enter their lives - not entirely strange, however, since they all seem to represent tales of their childhood. Among the wizards is one who has constructed HEX, a "thinking machine". You can tell what it is from the label "Anthill Inside" pasted on one side. Archchancellor Ridcully is suspicious of such devices, but thinks he can make HEX do his bidding by mere shouting.

Throughout these events, an Anthropomorphic Personification, known as Death, feels an imbalance in the universe. Discovering the Hogfather has failed to go out on his rounds delivering gifts, Death dons a red suit, a false beard and, with his assistant Albert, undertakes the role. Death is interested in humans, finding their habits and prejudices fascinating, and he wants to know more about them. The rituals of Hogswatch [Christmas] are but one aspect. Those rituals extend from deep time and are thereby fundamental. Resolution of the Hogfather's disappearance and the Teatime Gang's invasion of the Tooth Fairy's castle are gently woven into the film's concluding scene. There are many threads and the novice Discworld viewer will note there are many levels to the story. That's what turns the first Discworld encounter into a habit.

There are "big names" in this film - listed lead David Jason does a fine job as Albert, while Ian Richardson's voice of Death is peerless. The surprise here is Michelle Dockery, who picks up this film early and keeps it essentially hers throughout. She is relatively unknown, but won't be after this. As a robed "skellington", Death is hardly visually appealing, but Richardson's inflections on Pratchett's text keep us smiling. Unlike many "fantasy" or SciFi films, "Hogfather" relies on little in the way of "special effects beyond Death's character. Some snow stops falling and a few sparkling things are used, but the story is too straightforward to need extra dazzlement. As with Pratchett's stories it's the characters and what they tell us that counts. Watch this and see. [stephen a. haines - Ottawa, Canada]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Christmas film!, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hogfather Limited Edition [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the best Christmas films to watch and the limited edition is great. I bought this copy after wearing out my sisters copy and gave it to her for Christmas and she loved it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ho! Ho! Ho!, 21 Dec 2013
This review is from: Hogfather Limited Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I am a big fan of Terry Pratchett's Discworld series, and was really looking forward to this first TV adaptation of Hogfather. It is a very good adaptation with some very good performances, with a great performance from Ian Richardson as Death himself. David Jason also does a good job as Death's servant Albert, though he does disappear quite early in the second part. Mark Warren is very creepy as the villainous Teatime and Michelle Dockery is terrific as Death's granddaughter Susan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terry Pratchet on drugs, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hogfather Limited Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Only one person could write a story like this. Terry Pratchett. What more is there to say? Wonderful. Even death is fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terry Pratchett 's retake on Christmas, 15 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hogfather Limited Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Terry Pratchett has once again shown that the step between the narrative word and into film has been a success that seems to come so easy to him.

Long may he continue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A flawed but entertaining adaptation, 25 April 2007
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hogfather Limited Edition [DVD] (DVD)
The Hogfather is the first of the Discworld books to be adapted into a live action program and although it is a worthy try I do not feel that it has done the books the justice that they deserve. The Hogfather is the Discworld's version of Father Christmas and that is why this book was chosen for the adaptation as it was showing at Christmas. The story sees the Hogfather disappear forcing Death to take his place while Susan, Deaths granddaughter, must try to find out what has happened to the Hogfather and reverse it.

Generally this adaptation of the Hogfather is, in places, visually stunning and although some of the effects are less than perfect this is most probably due to the TV budget than anything. Although much of the casting is, in my view, spot on for the characters they are portraying there are a few notable exceptions who just do not fit right such as Marc Warren as the assassin Teatime. Overall the Hogfather is a more than adequate but could have been so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad0468dc)

This product

Hogfather Limited Edition [DVD]
Hogfather Limited Edition [DVD] by Vadim Jean (DVD - 2007)
£7.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews