Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid album from a solid album
Mick Hucknall has always been one of those people that the public either love or hate. People on Simply Red's website forums seem to think of Mick as a God, whereas the press are not nearly as generous, often slating his music. Simply Red's 10th studio album is unlikely to garner favour from those in the `hate' category but it'll almost certainly be a hit with fans and...
Published on 24 Mar 2007 by k0402562

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simply Red
Decent cd by a good team of performers. Will retain in my cd stock. No complaint about the cd BUT the delivery time was a bit lengthy. Will stick to zoverstocks
Published 11 months ago by J. J. Mason


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid album from a solid album, 24 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Stay (Audio CD)
Mick Hucknall has always been one of those people that the public either love or hate. People on Simply Red's website forums seem to think of Mick as a God, whereas the press are not nearly as generous, often slating his music. Simply Red's 10th studio album is unlikely to garner favour from those in the `hate' category but it'll almost certainly be a hit with fans and should convert a few others along the way. `Stay' finds Mick at a happy point in his life - he now has a long-term girlfriend with a recently announced baby on the way and Mick wants to sing about this new-found happiness, and also have a rant or two at the end of the album. `Stay' certainly has an energy and vibrancy that has been unseen for a while. It's a welcome return to some new material, after 2005's effort `Simplified', which contained mainly re-workings of classic Simply Red tracks. The album is slightly rockier than previous releases, but that shouldn't put anyone off and it is a welcome direction for them.

The first five songs on the album are love songs, but they are not all mushy and they have a respectable melody to them. Many people will probably be able to identify with the lyrics of `So Not Over You', whilst `The World and You Tonight' has a refreshing and catchy tune to it. `Oh! What a Girl' provides one of the albums funkier tracks and the soaring horns and the slight hint of innuendo make for a good combination. Possible future single `Stay' also has a catchy pop tune.

Hints of soul are included with `They Don't Know' and the blues infused, autobiographical `Good Times Have Done Me Wrong', has a raw sound that suits Mick very well. It also showcases three of the band's brightest stars - Kenji Suzuki on guitar, Ian Kirkham on saxophone and Dave Clayton on piano. `Lady' is a sophisticated song and Ian Kirkham's sax solo at the end shows he has lost none of his talent over the years. Kenji gets another chance to shine on `Money TV', a cool sounding rant, possibly aimed at reality pop. `Death of the Cool' and `Little Englander' end the album nicely, although die-hard fans may find `Little Englander' a slightly strange song for Simply Red, what with the whistling and the child choir, but after a few listens it becomes surprisingly enchanting, as Mick launches into rant mode, possibly at his critics (`Judge me go on it amuses me...'). A mention also for the cover of The Small Faces song `Debris', another strong song, although unusually for a Simply Red cover, it is questionable whether it beats the original.

Overall, this is a good solid album from a good solid band. One of the problems Simply Red seem to have is that everything is compared to the `Stars' album, which may not be such a good thing as it could be said that it was an album for its time (although it still remains an all time classic). It's difficult to begin to compare `Stay' to other albums but Mick's voice is as strong as ever, the band is in top form and the album is very well produced. Well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A major return to form, 22 Mar 2007
This review is from: Stay (Audio CD)
Ok, let's get things straight here - I can honestly say my admiration for Mick and the gang have wained over the years. "Stars", admittedly, was nothing short of a masterwork but, let's face it, that was over 15 years ago. Since then, although both "Life" and "Home" had a handful of great songs, Simply Red have never really come close to matching that seminal record from 1991 - until now. I can honestly say that there isn't a duff song on this album. Sure, the latter half of the album may not 'rock your boat' on first listen, but set your CD player to 'repeat' and I guarantee you will be humming along in no time - not to mention whistling along to "Little Englander"! Summing up, this album confirms that Mick is back to his best and, incredibly, his voice sounds better than ever. I hold my hands up - the boy's still got it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Pop-Rock Album..., 22 Mar 2007
By 
Recep Meric Egemen "Mericege" (Izmir-Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stay (Audio CD)
I am a fan of Simply Red for ages.I puchased Stay today and listened to it few times,and oh my god this album is instant classic.The tracks are well written and played.Simply Red is back and they are in a good form.Don't miss it !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Red - Still on Top, 21 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Stay (Audio CD)
With seminal albums like 'Stars' and 'Home' in their repertoire, Simply Red had much to live up to with their new long player, 'Stay'. For this reviewer (a fan for more years than I care to remember), this album has delivered on every level.

It's a vibrant collection of songs that range from the slick soulfullness we've come to expect (`The World And You Tonight') to the wonderfully guitar-driven Ronnie Lane classic 'Debris' and the playful 'Oh What A Girl'. If I had to choose a highlight, it would be the irrepressible title track 'Stay'.

And all delivered, as always, by Mick Hucknall's incredible vocal - a voice that few other artists can hold a candle to.

So, to sum, an essential addition to your CD collection if you appreciate top quality production and songs you will never tire of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Marvellous !, 13 Mar 2007
By 
Ms. E. B. Hawker "emily_hawker" (Reading, Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stay (Audio CD)
To me, buying a Simply Red album is something I do with confidence and that confidence was confirmed in abundance yesterday when I received my copy of Simply Reds third independent release, STAY. The opening track, The World and You Tonight is a song for you and that special someone, sang with ease and soulful tones there is no doubt in my mind that this track will be ranked amongst Simply Reds all time classics. All songs on the album have an edge that many artists would find difficult to beat. This album has been compared to the massive selling 1992 album Stars but to me its uniqueness is its selling point. Fantastic melodies and musical arrangements with some very meaningful lyrics, a must for any music lovers collection. The musicians excel as much as Hucknall. Oh and it sounds great in the car with the sunshine gazing down and the windows open !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Love This Album ....!!!, 21 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Stay (Audio CD)
Admittedly i haven't bought a Simply Red record since the mid-90's. I heard the single 'So Not Over You' on Radio 2 a couple of times and thought that Mick and the boys were back on track. I really like the whole album especially Debris, They Don't Know and The World Any You Tonight. It's a really complete listen that you don't get too often when you buy albums these days that have just one good track on...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just love simply red, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stay (Audio CD)
Just love simply Red, wanted another one for my studio! I already have two others but need one for my car home and studio!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILL CD, 16 Dec 2013
By 
R. Reeves "roysie" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stay (Audio CD)
LOVE THE MUSIC LOVE THE SONGS MICKS FINEST CD EVER -EXCELLENT GO ON BUY IT IN ITS WELL WORTH IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simply Red, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stay (Audio CD)
If you like Simply Red your like this, another good album from a good group, Good postage, cheers
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Red always delivers, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stay (Audio CD)
Great album by one of my favourite performers, particularly like Stay and Debris. The dvd released after stay album is an excellent buy where he performs some of this albums tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stay
Stay by Simply Red (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews