Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not their best but a good introduction
The Waterboys new album Book Of Lightning is an excellent introduction to one of favourite bands as it uniquely includes many of the musical styles that lead Waterboy Mike Scot has pedalled over the last 20+ years. Not that you would be able to tell this though from the opening tracks...

The first three tracks The Crash Of Angel Wings, Love Will Shoot You Down...
Published on 27 Jun. 2007 by Greg Farefield-Rose

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to usual standard
I wouldn't say don't buy this but even if you are a Waterboys fan I would advise you to listen to it a couple of times before spending any money on it. The Waterboys are one of my favourite bands and I've loved them from the start back in the 80's but I just can't get into this album. I like You In The Sky but this was on the re-release of Fisherman's Blues which most die...
Published on 18 July 2012 by DJ Carr


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not their best but a good introduction, 27 Jun. 2007
By 
Greg Farefield-Rose (Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Book Of Lightning [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
The Waterboys new album Book Of Lightning is an excellent introduction to one of favourite bands as it uniquely includes many of the musical styles that lead Waterboy Mike Scot has pedalled over the last 20+ years. Not that you would be able to tell this though from the opening tracks...

The first three tracks The Crash Of Angel Wings, Love Will Shoot You Down and Nobody's Baby Anymore are a return to the mainstream rock of much of the 1993 LP Dream Harder though some may also argue that they are a kind of modern version of the famously monikered Big Music of the 80s. New guitarist Leo Abrahams is consistently present with some fine clipped playing but the fellow who fiddles Steve Wickham is almost entirely absent. Fortunately though Wickham soon makes his highly talented presence felt as the album continues...

Other tracks on Book Of Lightning are more suited to Steve's fiddle playing. These include folk-rock songs in the vein of the Fisherman's Blues LP, Mike Scott's distinctive piano "ballads" and even a nod to the more introverted style of his 90s solo LPs on the closing track The Man with The Wind At His Heels. Of the folk-rock songs, Everybody Takes A Tumble is destined to be a (live) Waterboys classic with its catchy fiddle and organ reels. The other lengthy song of similar style, She Tried To Hold Me is also melodically memorable but contains some of the worst rhyming couplets ever written. The guess-the-next-line game reaches its zenith when Scott rhymes uranium with cranium! So cheesily bad it's almost kind of good...

Thankfully the lyrics are better on the piano-written songs such as the nicely oblique Strange Arrangement and You In The Sky, originally released on the Collectors Edition of Fisherman's Blues in 2006 and newly rerecorded here. The other piano song, the sparse Sustain includes an excellent piercing trumpet solo by long-time Waterboys alumni Roddy Lorimer. It's good to hear him once again on a Waterboys record.

Initial copies of the Book Of Lightning LP include a special limited edition DVD, "The Travels Of The Waterboys: A Unique Compendium Of The Band's On Tour Home Movies". A nice souvenir though the hand-held cameras and snippets of songs grate a bit though a full acoustic live version of The Pan Within at the end of the disc makes serious amends. It's also strange though refreshing to see serious man of mystery Mike Scott larking about so much in the film. Maybe he is a kind of regular guy, albeit a very artistically talented one, after all...

Regular guy, artist or visionary, Scott has produced an excellent album in Book Of Lightning with songs harking back to the various musical styles he has adopted over the last 20 years. It's not perfect yet the best moments are stunning and superb and are well worth a place as an introduction or addition to the Waterboys product in your music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A welcome return to the Biggish Music!, 18 April 2007
This review is from: Book Of Lightning [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
I first discovered Mike Scott and the Waterboys back in 1985, the first two albums for some reason had passed me by.

I can still remember the moment, I was browsing through the racks of a record store in Luton (very glamourous!);when my attention was suddenly drawn to the big music blasting out of the speakers.

The song was "Don't Bang the Drum" the stunning opener for the "This is the Sea" album, from thence onwards I've been an afficianado.

The Waterboys last album "Universal Hall" I found to be a mixed bag, whilst I admired Mike Scott for having the courage to commit some very personal and some would say spiritual songs to an album, unfortunately for me it didn't quite hit the spot!

2007 brings us "Book of Lightning" and on the first few hearings it does appear to be a real return to form.

Across the ten tracks of the album, Mike and the band have managed to convey the many intriguing facets that make up The Waterboys.

Part of their attraction to me is the fact that the are so difficult to pigeon hole and can be both enthralling and sometimes infuriating (sometimes on the same album!).

The album commences with a trio of powerful guitar led tracks, but then concludes with quite possibly four of the best songs Mike Scott has ever penned.

The highlights for me being the beautiful "Sustain" that features old compatriot Roddy Lorimer on trumpet and "you in the sky" which first surfaced on the Fishermans Blues sessions back in the late eighties.

Mike's lyrics are particularly biting and humourous, with several "one liners" and put downs that Bob Dylan would have been proud of, it's also nice to see him not taking himself too seriuosly.

In conclusion Mike Scott and his colleagues fiddle player Steve Wickham and keyboardist Richard Naiff have produced an excellent new album and I'm really looking forward to seeing them on tour later this month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daily Telegraph Review, 3 April 2007
This review is from: Book Of Lightning [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
To listen to Mike Scott's soulful Celtic voice, grapple with his visionary lyrics and surrender to the wild, flowing abandon of his band in full flight is to touch the very spirit of music. At his best, Scott is as good as it gets. And the new Waterboys album, Book of Lightning, represents Scott at the top of his game.

If quality of work were the only criteria, the man should be a rock legend by now. But if he is famous for anything, it is for blowing chances, turning away from the bright lights down unmarked byways in search of his own truth. "Absorption in music is a way of having a spiritual experience for me," he has said of his wayward career. "Music has a life of its own."

Lyrically, Scott draws from the same rich sources of poetry, folk tale, sacred texts, blues and myth as Dylan. He relishes crunchy couplets and resonant metaphor, and leavens grandiloquent proclamations with humour. He writes with purpose and without waste, each line carrying its own weight.

Book of Lightning synthesises the stages of Mike Scott's journey, blending rock with folk in a 21st-century version of The Big Music. Lyrically, his dispatches evoke the wonders and horrors of our world. Whether summoning the storms of global warming with a sense of Biblical retribution (It's Gonna Rain), heralding the fall of corrupt powers (Love Will Shoot You Down) or musing on survival at the end of the world (the magisterial Sustain), Scott attacks his songs with relish.

With his talent, commitment and mystical otherness, Scott raises the bar for fellow songwriters. The Book of Lightning demands to be heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's been a long road!, 10 May 2007
By 
Mr. Paul Martin West (Hull, East Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Book Of Lightning [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
For anyone who has travelled the road that Mike Scott embarked on, it's been an interesting ride. Since the mid 80s, the music has changed with each new release. Sometimes the changes haven't been to everyones taste, but what has always shone through is the talent and belief. This new release is a drastic departure from Universal Hall and a return to a 'band' album. Great playing, interesting lyrics, humour and some fantastic tunes should please just about everyone. 'Nobodies baby', 'Strange arrangement' and 'Everybody takes a tumble' are instant classics, but really it is just an album full of great songs. Having recently seemed them live, it's amazing how well these new songs have slotted so easily into the canon. Long may they continue and thankyou for the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great DVD, not so great CD..., 27 July 2009
By 
Asgeir Notvik "asgeirn" (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Book Of Lightning [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
i found this latest Waterboys release not as good as previous releases from the great Mike Scott.

but, even though the CD was disappointing (apart from the last song, The Man With The Wind At His Heels, which sounds like a b-side from the beautiful Bring 'Em All In record#, the DVD was a positive surprise!

filmed mainly from his 2000/2001 tour (featuring the lovely Jo Wadeson on bass!) this is a great addition to the Waterboys catalogue. It follows Mike and the band on and off stage, featuring many humorous clips. The DVD lasts almost for an hour, so this makes it worth the purchase despite of the poor CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to usual standard, 18 July 2012
By 
DJ Carr (Falkirk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Book Of Lightning (Audio CD)
I wouldn't say don't buy this but even if you are a Waterboys fan I would advise you to listen to it a couple of times before spending any money on it. The Waterboys are one of my favourite bands and I've loved them from the start back in the 80's but I just can't get into this album. I like You In The Sky but this was on the re-release of Fisherman's Blues which most die hard fans will already own.Some of the other tunes are okay but I don't think the lyrics are up to Mike Scott's usual high standards.I love all the Waterboys and Mike Scott solo albums apart from this one and Rock In A Weary Land both of which aren't totally terrible but lack any songs which stand out or stay with me. That's just me though and you might like it but have a listen before spending your cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended collection, 13 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Book Of Lightning (Audio CD)
The latest offering from Mike Scott and his Waterboys. This really did receive some wonderful reviews and was hailed by many as a return to form. For me, the form never went away, Scott just presents his work in different styles. Favourites here include the first single, the wonderfully buoyant "Everybody Takes a Tumble" and the moving "Strange Arrangement". Highly recommended collection of Waterboys work still at the top of their game in 2007.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Infectious Listening, 3 Dec. 2007
This review is from: Book Of Lightning (Audio CD)
Songs and poems are closely related and Mike Scott yet again pulls the rabbit out of the hat. A mixture of old style and new. You in the Sky and Strange Arrangment really do stand out. Take some time out and listen.... I am sure your collection of this band's music will grow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody loves a fiddle player, 28 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Book Of Lightning [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
For all you listeners to Radio Caroline, you will have heard two of the songs from this album, On the strength of the single Everybody Takes A Tumble I am glad to be the first in the queue to tell everyone to go and buy this album. Where Fairport Convention seem to be going backwards The Waterboys are happy to take influences from modern music and keep evolving. Good luck to them, I can't wait to hear more fiddle playing and I know it will be money well spent!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous, 31 July 2007
This review is from: Book Of Lightning [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
I am long-time Waterboys fan -- in fact, I am a die-hard Waterboys fan. But this album beggars belief.

First of all, Scott's voice has deteriorated to the point where he shouldn't really even be allowed to sing in the shower, let alone on an album. Let alone on a Waterboys album.

Secondly, the songs are weak, sketchy affairs, with mediocre lyrics and painfully muddled production.

Anyone who loved the early to middle-period Waterboys be warned: this further demonstrates how far gone these guys are, and should be avoided like a nest of African Honey Bees after a run-in with a sack of fresh pollen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Book Of Lightning [CD + DVD]
Book Of Lightning [CD + DVD] by The Waterboys (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews