Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a band
I am an old school Marillion fan and dropped out soon after Fish left quite some time ago because I really did not like Hogarth's voice and the direction all this was taking. But recently Marillion came in my small home town on their 2007 tour and I thought "what the hell let's go see them". And I was shocked into amazement: the band still displays outstanding...
Published on 25 May 2007 by Ramses

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars One for the fans
This is not a bad album. If you are a Marillion fan, you are bound to like tracks such as Somewhere Else, A Voice From The Past, and Thanks Whoever You Are. All the ingredients are there. It's just that most of the albums they've made are better than than this. Don't even think about buying this until you have the real classics like Brave, Afraid of Sunlight and...
Published 6 months ago by M. Bamford


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a band, 25 May 2007
This review is from: MARILLION / SOMEWHERE ELSE (Audio CD)
I am an old school Marillion fan and dropped out soon after Fish left quite some time ago because I really did not like Hogarth's voice and the direction all this was taking. But recently Marillion came in my small home town on their 2007 tour and I thought "what the hell let's go see them". And I was shocked into amazement: the band still displays outstanding musicianship and cohesion; but Hogarth really surprised me as a good showman, very friendly with the crowd, beautiful vocals.

So yes it is my fault at playing the ostrich all these years but now I discover all the great songs they have been making all this time, and I am rushing to catch up with all I have missed. Including the last album, this contains a lot of great stuff, beautiful melodies and solos, fast and slow, long ans short. Well now that I am reconciled with Hogarth I can say that Marillion has remained a top band with unique chemistry among marvellous musicians, with a catalysing singer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Takes a while, 8 Dec 2007
By 
Mr. James Mcquillan "redwrapper" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MARILLION / SOMEWHERE ELSE (Audio CD)
When I first heard Easter many, many years ago, I rushed out and bought the album, but it didn't do anything for me. And so I left it at that. A while back, I heard Don't Hurt Yourself in the charts and thought it was good, so I went out and bought the single version of the album at HMV (not knowing of course that there was a double version available - in fact, not knowing ANYTHING about Marillion) and took it home and played it. It didn't do much, but I was intrigued as to why they had the double version available so I bought that as well. It still didn't do much for me, but I listened to it on and off for a year, and then I suddenly "got it". It is a magnificent masterpiece, and I was hooked on the band. Spent a fortune on every album I could find, pretty much every single T-shirt, DVD, book, anything out there. There are highs and lows in the band's music, but they reach a part of the soul that no other band has ever done for me. Somewhere Else came along, and I was a bit disappointed. I wanted it to blow my mind first time, but it didn't. But now, as before, I'm beginning to realise that it is also a wonderful album. I think that many of the songs could have been produced better. They groove much better live (have now seen them twice at the Forum - spectacular) than on the album. I still don't think that it is a Marbles or an Afraid of Sunlight, but it might be. It just takes time. Something new every single time you listen to their music, and how many bands can you say that about? At the recent Forum gig, Steve H said that they used to not look forward to the London gigs, the audiences were "cool" (i.e. not very warm). But he said something changed of the last two years or so, and he didn't know what it was. It was Marbles. Thanks guys .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoy it ...like going to an unknown destination on a vacation ., 25 July 2007
By 
This review is from: MARILLION / SOMEWHERE ELSE (Audio CD)
Well how about then forgetting about "comparing" and "evaluating" and let yourself enjoy this "ride" . I am not saying it is their best offering but every Marillion album ( until now ) has proven to be unique and has its own charm ...and "Somewhere Else" has definetely it's place .
Find yourself a good view : on a balcony while the sky is still blue at the end of the day and let it play ...let yourself go away ; somewhere else .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No such thing... as a bad Marillion album, 15 April 2010
This review is from: MARILLION / SOMEWHERE ELSE (Audio CD)
Following in the wake of epic concept albums Anoraknophobia and Marbles, this album sees Marillion distilling its trademark sounds into a compact ten-track format with mixed but, overall, pleasing results. Honestly, we've become so accustomed to the band delivering sublime music with a regularity nothing short of prolific, anything less than absolutely superb is considered a tad disappointing. Aside from 2 tracks, "Most Toys" and "Last Century for Man", I loved it. True, it needs more than one listen to get you hooked, but that`s their great secret. My favourites are the opener "Other Half", which culminates in a lovely Steve Rothery guitar solo, and the stripped-down "No such thing". I thought the vocals sounded a bit like Led Zep's "No Quarter", but you might disagree. Had it been possible, I would probably have given this album a 4.2 rather than a straight 4. There are few dead certainities in life, but one of them is: there's no such thing as a bad Marillion album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're Back...., 2 April 2007
This review is from: Somewhere Else (Audio CD)
The Music Industry's best kept secret are back with their best album in over 10 years. An album which threatens to catapult them back into the public consciousness. It's an album with many highlights - the rousing opener - The Other Half is a real feelgood uptempo number "but I'm rushing downwards into blue sky"... You'll be singing along after a couple of listens. The langourous groove of See it like a baby will draw you in slowly but keep you hooked for a long time.

Third track.. Thank you, Whoever You Are is one of the strongest choruses to come out of Aylesbury for a long time. A future single? A future Top 10 hit.

Phew... three singalong anthems. Time for a little breather with the jump up and down madness of Most Toys. A forgettable little rocker but perfect in it's context on the album.

Somewhere Else is destined to be the fan's favourite - the most prog-like track with it's other worldly voices - sophisticated structure and dynamic shifts.

Slow builder "A Voice from the Past" is followed by the chill-out No Such thing (a close relation to Talk Show Host - Radiohead).

So far so good. But in case you are getting too comfortable. Marillion pull out a couple of absolute belters. The forlorn "The Wound" and the biting "Last Century for Man". Just as you are gasping for breath - the Beatlesque "Faith" leads you to the end of a magical journey

The production is magical. Whereas previous albums have felt claustrophobic. This album really breathes. It has a feeling of summer, of air, of wide open spaces. Hogarth's voice sounds back to it's best after the slightly nasally whispering approach of Marbles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Falling In Love All Over Again With Marillion, 26 April 2007
By 
John Polston "Neelix" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MARILLION / SOMEWHERE ELSE (Audio CD)
Being a fan of 23 years, I am astounded that a band I have followed from my early teens through adulthood can still produce an album of such stunning clarity, emotion and musicianship.

From the opening bars of The Other Half to the closing section of Faith, there isn't a filler on the album.

Hogarth once again proves his worth as both songwriter and singer. His voice powers through the heavier sections of tracks like The Wound, while seems fragile and glasslike in the middle of A Voice from the Past.

The production is loose and gives a 'live' feel to the music, rather like Radiation and Dot.Com. A credit to Mr Hunter!

Musically, the band has made every effort to impress on Somewhere Else. Ian Mosley's drums are crisp and drive the tracks along with a thumping bass supplied by Pete Trewavas. Steve Rothery still puts most of today's guitarists to shame putting phrasing and melody before technical pyrotechnics. Mark Kelly has done a fabulous job filling the spaces with his keyboards and his extensive use of the piano rather than synthesisers gives a more organic feel.

In addition, what can I say about Steve 'H' Hogarth? The man is a lyrical genius with a gifted voice that moves you to tears on No Such Thing.

Overall, I think this is their best album since Afraid of Sunlight. It well rounded, has 10 very strong tracks and leaves the listener eager for their next album due spring 2008.

If you are new to Marillion, buy the album and discover a new world of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another gem, 20 April 2007
This review is from: MARILLION / SOMEWHERE ELSE (Audio CD)
Having been a fan since I first heard their debut session on Tommy Vance's Friday Rock Show in 1982, I have awaited each new release with anticipation. This one, Marillion's 14th (where have the years gone!), does the business yet again.

On first listen, nothing stood out and I was delighted. Its always the sign of a good album when its takes a few listens to get it. After a few listens this album revealed its brilliance. I cant believe another reviewer calling Steve Rothery the weak link- what?, the guy is amazing, his solos again on this release create a mood very few guitarists can (Michael Schenker at his best being one).

The first track, what can you say, I was hooked from second listen. The closing guitar solo is amazing and exactly the sort of emotional soundscape Steve Rothery does so well. The finale of The last century on earth for man again creates a unique sound and is brilliant. In between Marillion create a suite of apparent understated at first, songs that grow and grow with each play.

Its definitely more restrained and compact than Marbles, but it is unique and the sign of a band who are still growing, even after 25 years.

For fans new to the band do yourself a favour and listen to a wonderful back catalogue, and for those diehard fans, I'm sure you will agree Marillion never seem to lose their edge, even though they have had to do it the hard way, once the fairweather fans of Kayleigh moved on to the next fad.

Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slow-Burning Excellence, 6 Dec 2007
This review is from: MARILLION / SOMEWHERE ELSE (Audio CD)
This takes a few listens but if you persevere you'll remember why we all love Marillion so much in the first place, there are some instant classics of Steve Rothery magnificence including the Title Track, and as ever the band have acquitted themselves admirably. Go on give it a listen, and then if you have to give it another and you'll soon find that it will become a regular on your Ipod, Turntable or gramophone !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ten more good reasons to listen to Marillion, 29 April 2007
By 
R. Hewitt "Drumski" (N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MARILLION / SOMEWHERE ELSE (Audio CD)
Marillion had a quote on their website from a review from their previous studio album saying "you will either get it or you won't", sounding almost like a challenge from the band to get into the music. I don't strictly agree with this as there is a lot of Marillion I don't get, but the vast majority is well structured, tuneful and thoughtful music with "Somewhere Else" being no exception.

Notable on the new album is the lack of meandering epics which has been the hallmark of the band throughout its career. But what Marillion have succeeded in doing with this offering is to create music away from the verse-chorus-verse-chorus-middle 8-chorus structure while maintaining a collection of cohesive and melodic songs.

The earlier catchline does ring true in as much as one needs time to 'get into' the music due to the non-commercial nature of the album. Exceptions to this are the single "See it like a Baby", and unsurprisingly the forthcoming double A-side "Thank You Whoever You Are / Most Toys". Highlights are "The Other Half", the title track, and "The Wound".

"Somewhere Else" is up there with the best of Marillion but hardcore fans will maybe find it hard to rate it alongside the 'classic' Marillion albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly fresh for a 14th album!, 21 April 2007
By 
This review is from: MARILLION / SOMEWHERE ELSE (Audio CD)
I never review a Marillion album after less than a week's non-stop listening. This is music that grows on you and that you need to take time to get into. Where most modern music is the throwaway but easy equivalent of Mills & Boon, Marillion would be Dostoevsky in comparison, i.e. not easy but ultimately far more fulfilling.

So after many listens, and an uncertain start, this one gets five stars - and while I am a longtime fan, probably only three other Marillion albums would get that accolade from me. So what's so good about this one?

Firstly, it is fresh and different. This starts with the production, by Mike Hunter, which is so completely different from the polished, clean sound Dave Meegan delivered on predecessor Marbles. This is far more raw and clinical, although intentionally so, unlike tenth album Radiation whose poor production is notorious amongst fans. It is intended to be listened to at high volume, and the production fits this perfectly, allowing a powerful but painless sound.

Secondly, it shows a very different mood and influences. It coincides with the break-up of singer and lyricist Steve Hogarth's marriage, and many of the lyrics reflect this. I cannot help but hear The Cure in a couple of the songs, and Steve Rothery borrows that powerful yet melancholy guitar sound to perfection on the title track, and the distinctive Robert Smith sound on No Such Thing. Cure fans would doubtless adore both tracks.

The other clear similarity would be Radiohead, at least on the title track which is a masterpiece worthy of five stars on its own. It takes the best of Thom Yorke and Robert Smith, and turns it into a sublime slice of genius. It's Marillion, Jim, but not as we know it.

Other tracks of note are the opening The Other Half, which concludes with a classic Rothery guitar solo which is among his most memorable; Thank You Whoever You Are, a gem of rock-meets-Radio-2; Most Toys which is a raucous slab of in-your-face rock which Franz Ferdinand would love to be able to do; and Faith, which has echoes of The Beatles' Blackbird or Extreme's More Than Words, and could even make a surprise hit if they dare to release it. And the ones I've not mentioned - well, they're also damn good. Even first single See It Like A Baby, which isn't Marillion at their best, is growing on me and sounds so musically lush that other bands could only dream of producing such a sound.

If you're a Marillion fan, you'll probably have Somewhere Else already. If not, but you like Radiohead or The Cure, buy this and give it time. Otherwise, Marbles might be a slightly easier introduction, but Marillion isn't easy music. If you want background music, look elsewhere. If you want something deep, emotive and fulfilling, look at Somewhere Else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

MARILLION / SOMEWHERE ELSE
MARILLION / SOMEWHERE ELSE by Marillion (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews