Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Blu-Ray has the Midas touch
'Goldfinger' is one of my favourite movies and was the first DVD disc I ever played. I put off buying a Blu-ray player until 'Goldfinger' was available on that format. So, putting that disc into my brand new Panasonic DMP-BD35 player was a much anticipated event, fraught with the possibility of either fulfilment or of bitter disappointment.
Fortunately, I was served...
Published on 27 Mar 2009 by D. A. Campbell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but a little over-rated
Probably the most iconic of all the Bond films, but time hasn't been as kind to the movie as it has to some of the others in the Bond canon. Sure, it has great villains, the most iconic car, great panache and humour, but the fact is it was directed by a bit of a hack in Guy Hamilton, who proved himself to be even more of a hack in subsequent Bond films. Some sequences,...
Published 22 months ago by Mr. Ja McLaughlin


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goldfinger DVD, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Item delivered very timeously. It was packaged very well and goods were as stated in advert. I have used seller and will continue to buy new and used goods from them. Always very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor sound level, 24 Sep 2012
By 
Allan Webb - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Let's forget about the film itself as everyone who buys this blu ray knows exactly what they are getting, however i think it needs to be told that the sound level is so poorly recorded that you will have to have your fader set excessively high to get anything from it. Often DVDs etc have the sound recorded far too low but this one is the worst I have even come across. I would suggest you look at something else because you wont get the effect you are after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He loves it, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goldfinger [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
He loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goldfinger [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James bond 3 is the best ever., 3 July 2000
By A Customer
They don't come any better than this who could forget odd job and austin martin. This has one of best antors in the world and best bond sean connery more of Late great Q and gret ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Aug 2014
By 
The Spankster (The Canal Boat, Lincs,) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
enjoyed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The first parody-worthy Bond film, 23 Oct 2011
By 
Koala (Southampton, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Goldfinger [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
As great a Bond as Sean Connery is, his coolness in this film is rather overshadowed by the ludicrousness of the plot. There seem to be fewer notable moments for him and more notable moments for the ridiculous villain. Also, this is the first Bond film which features the kind of corny lines that Austin Powers parodied, such as him electrocuting someone and then saying "shocking". He also seems a bit less smooth than in the previous films. There's nothing exactly wrong with slapping a woman's bum as she walks away, but anybody can do that and you expect a little bit better from the man who's supposed to be the coolest man in the world. I've already mentioned the villain, and for me, he seemed more absurd than intimidating from the start. Being so obsessed with gold that you feel the need to paint a murder victim with gold paint is just a little bit odd, and his ultimate plan (which I won't spoil for you) perfectly fits the phrase from Austin Powers of being "overly elaborate". I'm not even particularly sure it would work economically, but I won't bother trying to debate that. Overall, this is the first film in the Bond series which I would consider just okay, and nothing to write home about. Yes, Bond is still pretty cool in it, but no cooler than he was in his two previous films, and those had plots which didn't make suspension of disbelief almost impossible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By far the best, 17 Jun 2000
By A Customer
I agree this is the best bond film ever. This film has it all. The best baddies. best plot, best gadgets. Quite simply worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic bond, 1 July 2000
Goldfinger is quite simply the best bond film. I like to watch it when I get in after a big night out, with my wife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure Goldfinger, 11 May 2006
This is the only Bond film matches the first in every way, from start to finish it is one huge laugh and a rollercoster; the film features the greatest bad guys in film history; totaly fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goldfinger [DVD] [1964]
Goldfinger [DVD] [1964] by Guy Hamilton (DVD - 2007)
3.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews