Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That Mitchell and Webb Look Series 1 Witty and erudite university humour
Mitchell and Webb have to be one of my favourite comedy partnerships of recent years. While poking fun at the seemingly mundane in life, the extraordinary things we all seem able to accept and occasionally going off on flights of hilarious fantasy, they're never afraid to give the inner geek free reign.

In this first TV series we are treated to the secret life...
Published on 17 Nov. 2011 by Victor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not sure
Brought this DVD as I was a fan of peepshow which they also star in... I find this a little bit weird for my tastes & not really funny :(
Published 22 months ago by Destiny


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That Mitchell and Webb Look Series 1 Witty and erudite university humour, 17 Nov. 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Mitchell and Webb Look - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Mitchell and Webb have to be one of my favourite comedy partnerships of recent years. While poking fun at the seemingly mundane in life, the extraordinary things we all seem able to accept and occasionally going off on flights of hilarious fantasy, they're never afraid to give the inner geek free reign.

In this first TV series we are treated to the secret life of snooker commentators, discussing party invitations for the likes of Scooby Doo and James Bond and a myriad of other quickfire, usually hilarious sketches.

Also starring Olivia Coleman and James Bachman in a bewildering array of characters, this is a well written sketch show, and while there is the odd dud most of the sketches hit rather than miss, and the short quickfire nature means there are plenty of laughs in each episode.

All six episodes are collected here onto 1 DVD. Series 1 of the Mitchell and Webb sound repeats a large proportion of the sketches, but there is enough material unique to radio or TV to make it worth owning both.

5 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 7 July 2008
By 
This review is from: That Mitchell and Webb Look - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Sketch shows have a rich British tradition, The Fast Show, Harry Enfield And Chums, dating all the way back to Monty Python. However, first season aside, Little Britain heralded a different brand of sketch show, a lowest-common-denominator, catchphrase-and-gross-out based style. This predictability removes the one thing which made shows like Monty Python in particular great, namely the unpredictability. The whole point of a sketch show isn't to have recurring characters every week, but to just spent a couple of minutes in each little world and then move onto something totally different. That Mitchell And Webb Look restores this balance, reviving sketch shows as they were originally intended.

This is not to say that there aren't recurring characters in That Mitchell And Webb Look. The likes of delusional tramp Sir Digby Chicken Caesar, conman Barry Crisp and spectacularly surreal gameshow Numberwang all have repeat appearances, but crucially have enough material to make it worth seeing each time, with each rendition having a new spin. Also funny are the Extras-style, 'backstage' moments, with Mitchell and Webb playing perverse, childish verisons of themselves to great effect.

In addition to this, each episode is crammed full of one-shot sketches which deliver home-run gangs and then disappear; like the abusive detective on the phone, the man with the telekinetic power over biscuits or the BMX Bandit and the Angel Summoner. Best of all is the saga of Chip And Pin, a hilarious mini-biography of the rise and fall of four stage performers. An original, sharp, witty show that's well worth watching from front to back; and the DVD comes with a bunch of deleted sketches and outtakes which are worth watching, as well as an interesting (and funny) making-of documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FUNNY, FUNNY, FUNNY!, 16 July 2007
By 
This review is from: That Mitchell and Webb Look - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Not as good as Peep Show, but still very, very good! This is just a sketch show from David Mitchell and Robert Webb, containing some fantastic writing and timing, and generally some fantastic sketches.
'Numberwang' is one that reccures frequently, it's just a game show that makes absolutely no sense and is just a load of rubbish, but in a good way. The last few sketches of it though offer a 'Wordwang' and a German 'Numberwang'.
The sketch with the two snooker commentators is another reccuring one. There are too many sketches to go through them all, but they are all fabulous.
Definitely worth wasting three hours of your life watching, and if you like this, why not try buying the four 'Peep Show' series, or their 'Magicians' film. It's all brilliant stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Das ist Numberwang!, 6 Nov. 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: That Mitchell and Webb Look - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
That Mitchell & Webb Look is one of those sketch comedies which I didn't think was entirely fantastic, but some of the sketches had me in stitches and I had to re-watch them.

I suppose pretty much all sketch comedies are hit and miss as you can't love all the characters. Most of the sketches are catchphrase based, but they don't rely on them. Take the snooker commentators Ted and Peter for example, the sketches aren't solely reliant on one saying "..and that's a bad miss", the sketch goes on to explore the hollow lives of the guys and their homoerotic descriptions of the players.

The surreal sketches are the ones I love the most, such as the Clarinet of Embarrassing Secrets, Angel Summoner and BMX Bandit is pure genius, `Big Talk' is a brilliant spoof of late night political debate shows, and everyone seems to love the Numberwang sketches. The `behind the scenes' sketches are the least funny, maybe it's because they lack the creative energy of the rest of the programme, and they seem to interrupt the pace of the show.

There's nothing here that's going to change your life, you might find some of the sketches mildly amusing - but you'll find some of them to be absolutely brilliant. This isn't as well honed as the seminal Peep Show, but the unstructured format and the performances from two of our best comedy performers/writers means that this is an important piece of British Comedy which will proudly adorn the DVD shelf of many a comedy fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More absurd observations from the masters..., 18 July 2007
By 
R. Burgess (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Mitchell and Webb Look - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't catch the whole series, but those sketches I did see had me in stitches. The human shortcomings of their characters are always neatly observed... my favourites are Sir Digby Chicken Caesar who suffers from the delusion that he's Sherlock Holmes, Dick Barton and Biggles rolled into one, (in reality he's just a crusty hobo in a Deerstalker hat who's adventures are limited to park benches and dumpsters); then there's crime fighting "duo" Angel Summoner and his redundant sidekick BMX Bandit, and the very posh condencending person who's unaccountably still a waiter.
Can't wait for more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best show about, 22 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Mitchell and Webb Look - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely fantastic. This is the best. 100% recommended for everyone. This is (in my opinion) the funniest series of 'That Mitchel And Webb Look' and is brilliant. On my copy there is a slight problem where halfway through the first episode there seems to be a scratch where the sound and picture stop and the DVD jumps to about a minuet later. This is a problem and is something you could be wary of. However the rest of the DVD is fine. 5 stars for the show, 4 stars for the DVD and the scratch. All round great show. definitely worth a buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 3 Aug. 2007
By 
Rob the brilliant (derby, derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: That Mitchell and Webb Look - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is great,great, great, buy now! It's hilarious, witty and generally fantastic! David Mitchell is without a doubt the one of the greatest comedians ever (watching him constantly outshine Lee Evans on Would I Lie To You is great!) and Webb enters great sums of hilarity.
This is yet another comedy that outshines the perpetually dull Little Britain and I can't wait for their next work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not sure, 31 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Mitchell and Webb Look - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Brought this DVD as I was a fan of peepshow which they also star in... I find this a little bit weird for my tastes & not really funny :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly unique, 25 Feb. 2009
By 
D. Hoyte "si3001" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: That Mitchell and Webb Look - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is not the same as the other sketch shows around; Mitchell and Webb have a unique characteristic which makes every sketch on this brilliant DVD hilarious, genius and addictive! I urge you to buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Mitchell and Webb Look - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
If you have not seen this show then you need to pick it up immediately because it is one of the funniest shows to ever be made. Kudos to David Mitchell and Robert Webb for making such an amazing series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

That Mitchell and Webb Look - Series 1 [DVD]
£2.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews