Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Springfield year eleven
Here in one box set, spread over four discs, are all twenty two episodes of the Eleventh season of the Simpsons.

Episodes are as follows:

Beyond Blunderdome.
Brother's little helper.
Guess who's coming to criticize dinner.
Treehouse of Horror X.
E-I-E-I-[annoyed grunt].
Hello gutter, hello fadder.
Eight misbehavin'...
Published on 20 Jan. 2013 by Paul Tapner

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The first season of The Simpsons that isn't essential.
Firstly, there has been a lot of complaining about the packaging to this set in other reviews. Well yes, it's fairly bad, however not nearly as bad as many have made out. I just don't understand why they didn't keep the box style from the previous three or four seasons.

The real reason to potentially avoid this set though is the dramatic fall in quality from...
Published on 7 Jun. 2010 by Mr. M. Turner


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Springfield year eleven, 20 Jan. 2013
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Here in one box set, spread over four discs, are all twenty two episodes of the Eleventh season of the Simpsons.

Episodes are as follows:

Beyond Blunderdome.
Brother's little helper.
Guess who's coming to criticize dinner.
Treehouse of Horror X.
E-I-E-I-[annoyed grunt].
Hello gutter, hello fadder.
Eight misbehavin'.
Take my wife, sleaze.
Grift of the magi.
Little Big Mom.
Faith off.
The Mansion Family.
Saddlesore Galactica.
Alone again, natura-diddily.
Missionary: Impossible.
Pygmoelian.
Bart to the future.
Days of Wine and D'oh'ses.
Kill the alligator and run.
Last tap dance in Springfield.
It's a mad, mad, mad, mad, marge.
Behind the laughter.

The quality of the show at this stage in the run is a matter of opinion. And you do get the sense of them just taking an idea and running with it. But this is a very solid season. The Mel Gibson guest starring season opener 'Beyond Blunderdome' is a very good episode and a strong season opener. And the season finale 'Behind the Laughter', a parody of a certain documentary series which has the Simpsons as actors in their own show is inspired and very clever and very funny with it.

The discs have the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English.

Subtitles: English.

Although you can choose to watch 'Beyond Blunderdome' in either Italian, Portugese, Czech, or German.

All episodes have a commentary from production staff and occasionally cast members also.

You can choose to watch every episode on the discs in a row or individually.

Those that have deleted scenes allow you the option of putting them back into the episode should you desire.

Disc one also has:

A short introduction to the season from show creator Matt Groening.

Animation showcase: which allows you to watch 'Beyond Blunderdome' at various stages of it's development.

Disc two also has:

One minutes worth of original character sketches.
'The many faces of Krusty': seven minutes worth of clips from Krusty related episodes showing how his look has been down the years.

Disc three also has:

Another animation showcase. Like the one on disc one, it allows you to watch 'The Mansion Family' at various stages of it's development.

Disc four also has:

Deleted scenes. Nineteen minutes worth of these, all the ones for the season in a row. Some are unfinished and some are in black and white. You can watch them with or without a commentary which explains why they were cut. Usually for timing reasons. Amongst them is an alternate ending for 'Beyond Blunderdome' which is well worth a look.

There's also another minutes worth of original sketches.
'And then there were menus'. A minute long feature showing how the interactive menus for these dvds are put together.
'A star on Hollywood boulevard'. A two minute long feature showing the ceremony that took place when the show was granted a star on Hollywood Boulevard.

As with other seasons the menus on the dvd do contain some fun animation that is well worth watching. And there are extras gags in the artwork and writing on the box of the dvd and in the booklet that comes with it.

Unfortunately this season isn't as well packaged as before. Instead of putting the discs in plastic holders the packaging folds out and you have to slot them into little cardboard pockets. Which is mildly inconvenient and somewhat annoying.

As with season ten this does feel a little light on extras compared to what came before.

But even so, it's a strong collection and what you do get extras wise is pretty good.

Just a shame about the packaging. But otherwise a very strong product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The first season of The Simpsons that isn't essential., 7 Jun. 2010
By 
Mr. M. Turner "Ginsoakedboy" (bradford, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Firstly, there has been a lot of complaining about the packaging to this set in other reviews. Well yes, it's fairly bad, however not nearly as bad as many have made out. I just don't understand why they didn't keep the box style from the previous three or four seasons.

The real reason to potentially avoid this set though is the dramatic fall in quality from previous seasons. My personal opinion is that The Simpsons "jumped the shark" in season 10 with the first poor episode to have no reason to exist except celebrity cameos. ("When You Dish Upon a Star") However, in season 11, we are given an episode that the writers actually have no idea how to finish.. instead they literally stop the episode in its tracks and end with some very lame satire aimed at the Fox Network. ("Missionary: Impossible")

There are some laughs to be had here, but they are few and far between. This is certainly the last Simpsons season I will buy.. though it goes without saying that Seasons 1-9, and probably 10, are absolutely essential buys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment but let down by flawed packaging., 28 May 2012
By 
I'm saddened to rate this item 2 out of 5 stars. This is due to the poor packaging where the discs are tightly packed into cardboard sleeves. This creates a problem, first getting the DVD out is tricky as it is tightly packed into the cardboard sleeves, if one were not careful they could rip the box and the discs are nearly gauranteed to be scratched already the first time you take the disc out as it is scraping against the cardboard every time you take out and put back the disc.

On the positive side, you have 22 episodes of the Simpsons which provides a nice lengthy watch, a nice little episode guide booklet and while the packaging is poor, it is colourful and looks nice.

My suggestion is this, purchase some thin DVD cases along with this, they are sold cheaply on the Amazon Marketplace and while you shouldn't have to, you won't have to worry about your discs being broken after being taken out of the case a few times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Season! Awful Packaging, 6 Oct. 2008
Another Great Season for The Simpsons. Have been looking forward to this coming out for some time. Can;t believe its taken so long.
I would have given this a higher rating if it wasnt for the packaging. Unlike the other Limited Edition Simpsons boxset (i.e. Homer Head boxset etc) this comes slightly smaller where the discs are stuffed into cardboard sleeves which can be quite hard to get out, and also have to touch the readable side of the disc with your fingers leaving grubby marks.
Also the packaging is very confusing and you are lucky to find the right disc you are looking for, first time.
As long as you aren't fussy about the packaging then this is a must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Looks like my Simpsons collection ends with season 10, 11 Aug. 2014
By 
A. Oliver - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Due to the appallingly shoddy packaging there is absolutely no point buying this box set. Each disc is shoved into a thin cardboard sleeve with no protection ensuring that each and every one is badly scratched or scuffed before you even play them. I hadn't even got two minutes into disc 1 episode 1 before the disc was freezing and jumping. It's also extremely difficult to even remove the DVDs given so tightly they are crammed into each pocket. Looks like my Simpsons collection ends with season 10. The ultimate false economy from the manufacturers - they might save a few pennies on cheap packaging but I wonder just how many future sales they've lost entirely because of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Simpsons Season Eleven: The bad episodes double, 20 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. D. J. Varney "Douglas Varney "film d... (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Simpsons's Eleventh season (1999-2000, 22 episodes) was sadly at an point where the era of great Simpsons series ended and the downward spiral properly began. The point of being that the writing was badly shifted away from the original, character-driven plots and pop culture satire to zany, celebrity-driven, try-hard-funny adventures. It also started to concentrate more on how stupid Homer is without probably developing any realism into his antics and the way the characters behave at this point was so out of place that they became kind of parodies to themselves. Sadly however, that was the way they would stay to this day.

Looking at the season, there are some good episodes here and there but nothing completely stands out. The only one capable of this is "Behind the Laughter", which was actually this season's finale, kind of makes you wish that Matt Groening pulled the plug at that point! "Guess Who's Coming to Criticize Dinner?" and "Faith Off" are also decent episodes. However, instead of being occasionally poor episodes like in Seasons 9 and 10, this seasons was littered with bad episodes. I would badly say that they begun to make "crap". "Take My Wife, Sleaze", Saddlesore Galactia", "Last Tap Dance in Springfield", "Eight Misbehavin'" and "Alone Again, Natura-Diddley" were the worst offenders and the Christmas episode "Gift of the Magi" was painfully weak. At the season's nadir, the episode "It's a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad Marge", in which it's ending featured Homer shooting an sleeping dart at Marge in the neck probably summed up to many of us that this isn't the same show anymore. Espicially considered Homer & Marge seven years back riding off into the sunset on a bike in Season 4's "Duffless".

To any old-style Simpsons fan, this would probably be the last one you would want to buy. Season 12 is simply just where we are today and it just got poorer and poorer and poorer and poorer. A shame that the Simpsons have become to this, shows that Matt should have stopped at "Behind the Laugher", that would have been a worthy finale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars start of the end credits...., 13 May 2009
By 
G. Hill "grahamthill" (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This season marks the beginning of the end of the great Simpsons episodes and is the last one I will buy. While these episodes still provide laughter and entertainment there aren't as many that stick in the memory as there were from previous seasons. There is less social commentary and this season also marks the end of the character development. In fact the characters start to become characterisations of themselves! There is also a greater reliance upon characters outside of the family.

The one stand out episode on this series is: "Behind The Laughter". It is totally from left field but it is produced beautifully and is a great one for Simpson aficionados.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Season, Bad Packaging, 9 Mar. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the season where The Simpsons starts to go downhill a little. I still love it and am willing to buy all the DVD boxsets but I know that the best has already been and gone. That's not to say that this season isn't still enjoyable, with some good episodes like "E-I-E-I-(Annoyed Grunt)" and "Pygmoelian", an episode where Moe finally gets to be centre stage.

However, I have to agree with the other reviewers regarding the packaging. What were they thinking?! I have all of the "Limited Edition" Boxsets that have been released and they were great. I was very disappointed when this one arrived and it took me ages to even find the first disc! Even more annoying was the fact that when you try to pull the DVD out you have to be extremely careful not to damage it. I'm very unimpressed with this set and I'm almost wishing I'd bought the normal one, but unfortunately I have the other "heads" so had to get this one for completion purposes!

If you're intending to buy this set and you have to buy the Krusty Head version to go with your other "Head" seasons then prepare to be extremely annoyed and disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Season Which Shouldn't Be Marred By Bad Packaging, 13 July 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK, I think we all understand that the packaging for this is poor, the cardboard is confusing and finding the disks was like playing a game, but once you've got the disk, the fun really begins. This is without a doubt a funny series, with Homer going insane, Barney trying to give up the booze, Homer scoring a perfect game at the bowling alley and Bart discovering his future at the Indian Casino, so really this is a good all round package.

No expense has been quashed on the DVD front. All the episodes have commentary, which is a miracle considering how many there are, and well done by creator, and actors of the TV hit. Even the extras are cool, with deleted scenes, storyboards and much more, so you'll hear no complaints from me.

Well except for one, sometimes the cartoon looks washed out, but it's very good quality usually, with a lot of different colours and palates.

Fair enough, the packaging of the DVD disks is awful and should be addressed, but this is a fine package - the DVDs are jam packed DVD9s and it's very good comedy.

Enjoy and don't be disheartened by low ratings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What's all the commotion about?, 4 Oct. 2011
Although Season 11 is mostly criticised for not being one of the strongest seasons of The Simpsons. However, it's not all bad, as some reviewers are making it out to be. Some highs and lows here and there, including some of my personal favourites, Faith Off, Little Big Mom and Behind The Laughter. The other remaining 19 episodes are average and some of them are funny and moderately entertaining, although they don't really stand out as much as episodes in previous seasons, and lack alot of original gags.

Another low, is the packaging. I acknowledge that many people have already ranted on about the cheapish cardboard. It still, is fairly off-putting having to almost rip the cardboard apart when trying to open up the box to get to the inner cardboard holding the disks. Nevertheless, whinging isn't going to put things straight.

In conclusion, there are an average set of episodes, which definitely a true Simpsons fan would appreciate. I enjoyed the episodes, they all are fairly unique, and the plots don't seem too rusty, Recommended for anybody who likes a few good chuckles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Simpsons: Season 11 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £69.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews