Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought-Provoking Dark Comedy
A man, bored with his dull, lonely life as a comic-reading traffic warden, decides to sign up to a drug trial at the stage where they try it on healthy people to see if it has any adverse effects. With little effort he is accepted into the trial and given a bottle of Special pills. Once he starts taking these pills, he develops super-powers - floating being the first of...
Published on 6 Nov 2010 by J. Ritchie

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dark and funny
I bought this film expecting a comedy after reading the back, it did make me laugh but more in surprise it lso shocked me. It was quite sad in ways and i really felt for Les. At times I was laughing out loud, cringing with embarassment for him and wanting to cry for him. Michael rappaport was amazing in the film.
It is about a man who does a medical trial to earn...
Published on 30 Mar 2009 by Ms. S. R. Morgan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought-Provoking Dark Comedy, 6 Nov 2010
By 
J. Ritchie (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Special (RX) Specioprin Hydrochloride [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
A man, bored with his dull, lonely life as a comic-reading traffic warden, decides to sign up to a drug trial at the stage where they try it on healthy people to see if it has any adverse effects. With little effort he is accepted into the trial and given a bottle of Special pills. Once he starts taking these pills, he develops super-powers - floating being the first of these, with others rapidly appearing over the next few days. Quitting his day job to become a super hero full-time, we see how this decision affects the life of the Hero, his friends and his enemies.

What follows is a funny, sad, thoughtful and thought-provoking study of a man's descent into madness, or greatness, depending on your point of view. This is an adult film in the true sense of the word. A film for mature, thinking people, who like to see a well-crafted plot brought to life by a great performance. Are the events real, could they happen, have they already happened, is a pill all it takes to turn someone from a mouse into a lion?

You'll laugh, smile, cringe, cry, cheer and empathise strongly with the hero of this film, for a hero he truly is.

There are points in the film where you're not sure where it's going, and some of the events portrayed seem a bit too weird, but stick with it and all will be revealed. The film rarely puts a foot wrong and drives along at an entertaining pace until the finale.

My favourite part is where the Hero offers his services to the police. All I can say is, OUCH!

A cult film that deserves a much wider audience. Buy it, watch it, enjoy it - it's better than most films you'll see this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What were they smoking?, 10 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Special (RX) Specioprin Hydrochloride [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Here Michael Rapaport appears as a guy called Les: a timid meter-maid by day and a ballsy superhero by night.
Les believes that his superhero powers are manifesting themselves thanks to his participation in a drugs trial. It's infinitely more likely that he is in-fact having a psychotic reaction to the medication.

Michael Rapaport, possibly more widely known as Dave Gold in 'The War at Home' in another 'Special' film (see what I did there?). I say 'special'; I mean 'weird'. Rapaport seems to be the go to guy for weird films just like 'Special': 'The Naked Man' (in which he is NOT naked) and 'Comic Book Villains', to name a couple - all of which are so obviously low budget, surreal and darkly humorous in nature.

As this tale unfolds; due to the self-editing, if you will, of the superhero/crazy-person; it's harder to know what you're actually watching, and from which perspective. Is it a true account? - Does he have 'special' powers? Or, are the fantastical scenes we see merely glimpses into his delusional psychosis? It does seem pretty obvious which, but I think there is an element of the "what if...?" factor. Either way, superhero or psychotic - the drug company wants it covered up and so an ultimate battle of Hero vs. Villain is soon underway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Captivating cult film, 6 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: Special (RX) Specioprin Hydrochloride [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
This cult film was exactly what i was looking for. It kept me interested to the end, which so few films manage to do. Rapaport's acting is excellent and drew me in from the start, and consequently made me smile, laugh, crimace, wince - it had everything a good film should. I'd recommend this film to those who think a film should be more than just a blockbuster full of star names. Looking round the videostore i could see nothing but films about murder or violence. While this film is by no means a feel good film it was full of understanding of modern life. For a film made on a limited budget it's right up there with donnie darko. If i was nit-picking i'd say that some of the support acting could have been better, as could the soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Film, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Special (RX) Specioprin Hydrochloride [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
A wonderfully simple and moving indie film, telling the tale of an insecure man who puts himself forward for a drug trial, and starts to believe he has super powers.
I thoroughly recommend a watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars special - the best film in the last decade, 2 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Special (RX) Specioprin Hydrochloride [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
special - this film is just that, special and rare..Its so very funny and thought provoking at the same time. I myself have had encounters with mental illness and this depiction of someone having a phycosis is very very accurate and very very funny. The film is also a tragic tale but leaves you empathising with the charcters. I can not reccomend this film enough its great truly a great piece of work and totaly unheard of in the mainstream media. This film should win many awards and the media need to promote this more. i rate 5 stars!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!! Buy it, Buy it, Buy it... You'll be laughing for days :), 18 Mar 2012
This review is from: Special (RX) Specioprin Hydrochloride [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Wow... What can i say... This is something "Special" indeed.

A drug fuled comedy with hilarious side affects. My sides were splitting as i considered never taking prescribed drugs ever again... Then i realised how many i need to stay sane and thought better of it... For now. Lol.

Trust me, after watching "Special (Rx)"... You may need to get prescribed a little something yourself. ;)

Buy it... You'll love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Avengers it is not, 21 Jan 2012
This review is from: Special (RX) Specioprin Hydrochloride [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
With Hollywood so obsessed with easily-bankable superheroes, sooner or later you were going to get a spate of movies making fun of them.

However, `Special' isn't one of them. It, like another similarly-themed film called `Defendor,' is a different take on the genre. If you want a parody of a superhero film then watch something slapstick like `Superhero Movie' (which, incidentally, is the cinematic equivalent of self harm). `Special' is about a decent, well-meaning man who signs on for some experimental drugs-testing trials. The results make him believe he has superpowers. Obviously, he doesn't. Here might have been the time to add in some really funny jokes into the mix. Special doesn't. It's a sad take on seeing a rotten world through the eyes of a man who wants to do the right thing, but doesn't really know how - or even get it right.

I found this film sad and poignant rather than laugh-a-minute. If people do think it's funny, then it's the blackest black comedy around.

It won't be for everyone. It's low budget is visible from time to time and it goes without saying that there are know well-known actors in it.

Did I enjoy it? Yes, but you have to be in the mood for something a little heavier than Toby Maguire in red and blue tights.

Uplifting and heart-warming it is. The X-Men it is not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Special, 18 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Special (RX) Specioprin Hydrochloride [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed Special, it's a good movie with very good characters, it in the same mind set as Defendor and Super, the normal hero with no powers. It is not as violent as the other two but still good fight sequenses and worth a watch if you enjoy these kind off down to earth super hero movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 10 Jun 2011
This review is from: Special (RX) Specioprin Hydrochloride [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
got this out on dvd years ago and it made a lasting impression on me so decided to buy it.its at tale about a man taking experimental drugs for depression that kind of gets out of hand.this film has lots of levels to it and if you enjoyed kickass and defendor you will enjoy this,but personaly i think this is the best real life super hero film of the last few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd never heard of Michael Rapaport before, and now I wonder why not, 2 Dec 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Special (RX) Specioprin Hydrochloride [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Michael Rapaport's performance in this film is one of the best I've seen in a long time. I remember thinking to myself while watching "If they'd cast anyone else, I'd just be laughing right now," with Rapaport I felt like laughing and crying simultaneously.

It's a strangely uplifting film, poignant, but with some truly hilarious moments - I particularly like Les' early interactions with his doctor.

The understated shooting and soundtrack add to the believable atmosphere, and the secondary characters (barring perhaps the main antagonist) avoid being stereotypes.

Highly recommended to anyone looking for a thoughtful, funny, moving take on the Superhero genre and mental illness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Special (RX) Specioprin Hydrochloride [2006] [DVD]
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews