Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh what a tangled web....!
Seems to polarize opinion, but I quite liked this film with its amusing script, clever camera work and unmistakable chemistry between the cast. I don't think it's as bad as some of the reviewers think. It's best thought of as a modern day farce which illustrates the futility of greed, deception and dishonesty to build an amusing and entertaining storyline...
Published on 6 Feb. 2013 by A.McGrath

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching
Husband-of-cop, PhD-toting, statistic-quoting Charlie (David Schwimmer) is forced into a dead-end telephone helpline job to put bread on the table for wife Penelope (Natascha McElhone) and young baby. At the call centre he meets Gus (Simon Pegg), who brings him in on his criminal plan to blackmail a local porn-loving reverend.

The ensuing crime caper is a...
Published on 2 May 2007 by Mr. S. J. Downing


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear!, 20 May 2008
By 
S. L. Martins (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Nothing [DVD] (DVD)
I read the reviews below before opting to throw caution to the wind and give this film a go, hoping the 4 and 5 star reviews would be nearer the mark than the others. Unfortunately, as the film progressed I could hear the voices of the 1 & 2 star reviewers saying "I told you so!".

I really like Simon Pegg and David Schwimmer and really wanted to like this film too, but the plot was too dull and the script felt like a first time outing for someone. By the last scene I couldn't care less what happened because I had yet to care about the any of the characters. I couldn't help thinking that this would have been a lot better had it been a set in Britain, especially considering that 3 of the main actors are British.

On a night when there was nothing on tv, I was glad for the end credits to roll so I could go back to channel hopping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars some funny bits. simon pegg saves it from being "i ..., 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Nothing [DVD] (DVD)
some funny bits. simon pegg saves it from being "i don't like it"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars far from original, 26 Jan. 2009
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Big Nothing [DVD] (DVD)
Big Nothing is a film about a plan that all goes wrong,sound familiar?,you bet it does,it tries to blend the genius of fargo with the black heart of shallow grave and comes up very short indeed,this is meant to be a black comedy,i hardly broke a smile,while simons peggs american accent is as bad as my fellow reviewers say,its terrible,david schwimmer is good while the female lead is a bit annoying,the double crossing etc all becomes a bit tedious in the end and there really is little to praise here,i bought this for three quid,someone is laughing loud at me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny, 14 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Nothing [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this was hilarious i first saaw this film on work experience with a media editing company and couldn't wait to buy it. It's hilarious i hightly recommend buying it. another great film from simon pegg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than it sounds, 30 April 2009
By 
Grant Fitzgerald (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Nothing [DVD] (DVD)
David Schwimmer does his usual 'Ross from Friends' thing. Simon Pegg has a dodgy American accent. Doesn't sound great but I actually really enjoyed this slightly slapstick, blackmail-gone-wrong, dark comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Nothing [DVD] (DVD)
First class service and great DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Nothing [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyable. DVD arrived on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big Nothing - Simon Pegg, 6 Dec. 2010
By 
SJ Welsted "SJ Welsted" (Milton Keynes, Bucks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Nothing [DVD] (DVD)
Got this on a whim as it had Simon Pegg and we'd seen most of his other works. Quite dark but pretty funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laughable, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Nothing [DVD] (DVD)
Funny & seriously funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, good actors, 3 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Big Nothing [DVD] (DVD)
As a Simon Pegg fan, I bought this film on a whim and was very impressed. I am not overly keen on David Schwimmer, but have to admit that he is pretty good in this too. I found the dark humour plentiful and the story very good. I would highly recommend you give this film a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big Nothing [DVD]
Big Nothing [DVD] by Jean-Baptiste Andrea (DVD - 2007)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews