Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film that keeps you guessing all the way
I first saw this film many years ago at a Spanish film festival in Manchester and the two hours flew by.

I can't really give you the story in full as I am not one to spoil a film, however I can tell you while you watch this film you are constantly wondering which of the realities you are presented with is true, or if any of them are true.

The film...
Published on 17 Sep 2008 by R. DONLAN

versus
12 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for the Vanilla Sky fan...
As a fan of the film Vanilla Sky I decided to buy this and give it a go. After all this is the film Vanilla Sky was based on.

The film allowed me to appreciate two key points:

- How heavily Vanilla Sky copied Abre Los Ojos/Open your eyes
- How much of a better job Cameron Crow done with Vanilla Sky

The film is certainly not bad. I...
Published on 4 April 2009 by J. Moller


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film that keeps you guessing all the way, 17 Sep 2008
By 
R. DONLAN (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open Your Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this film many years ago at a Spanish film festival in Manchester and the two hours flew by.

I can't really give you the story in full as I am not one to spoil a film, however I can tell you while you watch this film you are constantly wondering which of the realities you are presented with is true, or if any of them are true.

The film centres on a rich kid played by Eduardo Noriega he is in prison and may or may not be horribly disfigured, has been accussed of murder of a woman but it is not fully clear which woman, it seems to switch between two women or is he just insane??? You decide.

The film does build to a great climax on the roof of a high building as the main character tries to piece everything together, having to risk his life to test what reality is.

I really enjoyed this ride. Some good acting in this film Eduardo Noriega is excellent and Penelope Cruz is good as she always is in the Spanish speaking films she does.

Well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toward the top of my list of all time greats, 5 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Open Your Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
Alejandro Amenabar has gone on to create great films like The Others and The Sea Inside but it will surely take a stroke of genius and some good fortune to make a film that is as dramatic, enthralling and brilliant as Abre Los Ojos. Its really quite hard to understand why Mr. Cruise though he might be able to upstage Eduardo Noriega in the role of Cesar or why he saw the need to do a remake? So that the Americans wouldn't need to read sub-titles and he could pull out a good performance based entirely on Noriega's one would presume.
Its a shame the remake was made and that more people seem to know the Vanilla Sky film than the far superior original. Open Your Eyes is full of wonderful performances from both cast and crew. Eduardo Noriega, Pénelope Cruz, Chete Lera, Fele Martinez, Najwa Nimri all give their characters exactly what was needed. There is no over acting but a realism and simplisity to the characters despite the unclarity of reality within the story. Very rarely do I see this in American cinema.
As for the crew, Amenábar had done a wonderful job, from writing this intricate script to the beautiful way its filmed. Hans Burman the Cinematographer has achieved a wonderful look for the film which uses light and darkness as implications of Cesar's state of mind and to hint at what is reality and what may not be.

I won't go into detailing the narrative as its more enjoyable for the viewer to watch this film with an open mind. The less you know the better. Sit down and let a great story unravel in front of you and In the same fashion of Amenabar's other films this is done at a steady pace, deliberately reeling you in, captivating you till it reaches its intense climax!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than "Vanilla Sky", 5 Dec 2005
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open Your Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
"Open Your Eyes" is the Spanish language film that Hollywood remade a few years later into "Vanilla Sky" featuring Tom Cruise. The latter film is pretty much a direct remake, with the plot essentially the same and Penelope Cruz even reprises her role in "Open Your Eyes" as the delectable Sofia, the love interest of the Cesar (played by Eduardo Noriega), whose car crash and subsequent facial disfigurement precipitate a mental breakdown. "Open Your Eyes" is less flashy and noisy than "Vanilla Sky" and has a more authentic feel to it. It is essentially a science-fiction film, not unlike "The Matrix" in structure, although it does not reveal itself as such until towards the end of the film ."Open Your Eyes" uses confusing dream sequences and flashbacks until the viewer is left finding it difficult to distinguish between reality and fantasy, just like the main character in the film. The only part of "Open Your Eyes" which "Vanilla Sky" significantly improved upon was the quality of the make up used to create Cesar's facial disfigurement; at times it looked as if he was wearing two masks and this did detract a little from the quality of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perchance to Dream...., 16 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Open Your Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
This mesmerizing and origional Spanish film from director Alejandro Amenabar is about the life we dream of, and the life we're given, and the manner in which it is told is nothing short of brilliant.
Eduardo Noriega portrays a shallow bed hopping young man named Ceaser who has never given a second thought to real love until he falls for Sophia, who just happens to be the girl his best friend brings to his birthday party.
Penelope Cruz gives a sexy and luminous performance in her own language as the charming Sophia. Contrasting her is Najwa Nimri as the overtly sexual Nuria, the one night stand who has Ceaser's shallow number and refuses to just go away. She plays on his weaker personality by accusing him of being scared to take a ride with her for one last fling and the aftermath is a mind altering journey.
An apparently disfigured Ceaser finds himself in the criminal psychiatric ward after being accused of a murder he can't remember anything about. He tries to sort through his dreams, and possibly his memories, with the help of Antonio (Cheta Lera) and begins to slowly unravel what is real and what is imagined. To reveal more would ruin the journey for the viewer.
This film is a terrific thriller that ultimately becomes a heartfelt drama of what can happen when we put the emphasis on the shallow and realize the need for tenderness and love too late. The performances are solid, the fawn like grace of Cruz a standout, lifting this film far above its inferior American remake. The ending will linger with the viewer a long time.

This film is a fine argument for expanding your film library to include great foreign films such as this one. Pick this up as soon as you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vanilla Sky was truly lost in translation...., 15 Feb 2006
By A Customer
Hollywood & Tom Cruise why don´t you keep your hands of what you don´t understand. Abre los Ojos is the the original Spanish film version of this clever if rather complex storyline. It´s convincingly acted,with Penelope Cruz now getting rather unfairly biased credit for the film´s success. Vanilla Sky was not half so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A challenging, emotional, but rewarding journey., 28 Feb 2002
By 
Mark Lee (Kettering, Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Open Your Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
Do not watch Vanilla Sky before experiencing the entrancing power of it's predecessor, the quieter but far more emotive 'Open Your Eyes'.
Alejandro Amanabar's Spanish picture is complex and challenging, but also careful and ultimately rewarding.
Cesar (Eduardo Noriega) is a young, handsome, and wealthy playboy who looks after his own interests with seldom regard to others, including his best friend Pelayo. However, when Pelayo attends a party with the enchanting Sofia (Penelope Cruz, playing the role to perfection), Cesar is immediately drawn to her beauty and charm. He returns with her to her apartment, and spends the night with her, although unusually he doesn't push for anything more than Platonic friendship for the night.
The following morning, as he leaves Sofia's apartment, he runs into an obsessive past conquest, Nuria. She lures him into the car. As if in punishment for this decision, the plot sees the insanely jealous Nuria steer the car off the road in an horrific crash, killing herself and severely disfiguring the vain Cesar.
What follows is a journey into Cesar's own personal hell. Frustrated, confused and bitter, he struggles to regain control of his life. But strange things are happening...
To explain any more of the plot would be criminal. Do not allow anyone to give it away to you, the impact of the storyline is crucial to the films success. Nothing is what it appears to be in this picture, the film initially seems to be about a man coming to terms with a terrible accident, but 'Open Your Eyes' is so much more imaginative and innovative than this. It is at once a love story, science fiction and thriller, and yet so much more.
I was left feeling emotionally worn; I truly felt that my view of the world had altered. This is a film that will stay with you for days, if not weeks. It will make you think about relationships, mental states, and our obsession with image and appearance.
I have bought the DVD version so that I can watch it a few more times, and it just gets better. My only criticism is that there are no extras on the DVD, but when a film is this good it justifies itself as the only feature necessary.
Step into Cesar and Sofia's strange world, become entranced by their story. Open your eyes to one of the best films ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing head-spinner, 29 Dec 2004
By 
Simon H (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Open Your Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this film whilst living out in Spain for a year. When I saw it it was in its 23rd week on release at the cinema, which should say something in itself for its quality.
Having a subtitled version available is fantastic as it opens the film up to non-Spanish speakers. This is important as it knocks the spots off Vanilla Sky. Every plot change in the latter film, however slight, detracts from the gripping nature of the original. Has Cesar, the man who has it all [nearly], lost it all?
This will keep a novice viewer guessing for some time, and even for viewers who know the story the film i so well-made as to demand repeat viewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films you'll see, 7 Oct 2002
This review is from: Open Your Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone who says the only reason 'Open your eyes' is so poular is because of Vanilla Sky (the remake) is wrong, I stumbled across Open your eyes one night on television, and was totally gripped, i went immediately to amazon the next day and bought it!
The story is stunning, original and so gripping, dont even think of making a cuppa whilst watching! Vanilla Sky is a very poor attempt and is so 'hollywood'. The original is far more sinister and intense, the acting is fantastic and though this is the first foreign film with subtitles i've bought, it only adds to the films richness.
If you appreciate GOOD films and i mean really aprreciate them you will want this in your collection along with Thesis, you won't be disappointed i guarantee it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Open your eyes., 13 Dec 2010
This review is from: Open Your Eyes [DVD] (DVD)
If you are a fan of psychology and films such as donnie dark and the butterfly effect, then this is certainly a film for you.
I won't go into the storyline as such because personally I always feel it ruins the surprises and you can guess what happens from what others say.
Anyway, this film is definitely something very different to any other film. The story is deep and always full of many surprises, usually with enough guesses you can always see the end of a storyline, however with open your eyes... well it does exactly what it says. You'll need to open your eyes to understand this film.
I had my doubts at first and although I am starting to have quite a collection of DVDs by now, I in fact am rarely impressed by a well pulled together storyline.
Only a Genius, or someone very crazed could have come up with something quite like this...
I leave you to make your own decision, nevertheless I would recommend. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is far out of the league of Vanilla Sky, 24 Feb 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Your Eyes [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Despite having the same lead female (Penelope Cruz), and being the basis of Vanilla Sky, this movie is around about 10times greater. The acting is brilliant, that is if you can manage to view it, as you have to read the subtitles. This is possibly the only bad part to a movie so filled with 'action' and makes you think hard about life. The subtitles also make it a reason to buy it, as you would have to view it more than once to get everything taken in. Yet this is not to say you would only view it just twice because as soon as you finish watching it, your finger is twitching to hit rewind to watch it that one more time. Eduardo Noriego plays the part of Cesar and does so more effectively than Tom Cruise's portrayal in Vanilla Sky. Penelope Cruz's performance is on a par with Noriego's.... It only leaves me to say, please go out and buy it as your life will not be complete without it (no really), it makes you think about lots of things you would never question before...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Open Your Eyes [DVD]
Open Your Eyes [DVD] by Alejandro Amenábar (DVD - 2007)
£5.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews