Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And the films on this collection are......
If you could only cook
Too many husbands
My sister Eileen
She wouldnt say yes.

It would be kinda useful if Amazon would include these sort of details.... Sheesh!
Published on 21 Jun 2011 by the santa cat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as wonderful as "Wonderful Town"
I don't recall ever seeing this, or any clips from it, on TV and I think I can see why. However, it is worth the purchase, just to see the brilliant Bob Fosse and Tommy Rall spinning "on a sixpence" in one number. Unfortunately, however, the music throughout is not memorable and the acting a bit wooden even given the three main actors in the cast, and knowing...
Published 15 months ago by Katie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And the films on this collection are......, 21 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you could only cook
Too many husbands
My sister Eileen
She wouldnt say yes.

It would be kinda useful if Amazon would include these sort of details.... Sheesh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best musicals from the best era, 31 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Sister Eileen [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
A wonderful entertainement that will have you smile all along. Viva the 50s, viva jack Lemmon, they haven't come close to such quality ever since they stopped producing great musicals in the late 50s. Rock'n'roll came along and things were never quite again the same, for better and for worse in some domains..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good old musical!, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Sister Eileen [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
A combination of fantastic choreography by Bob Fosse and feel-good comedy with great actors such as Jack Lemmon! The Alley Dance a must-see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as wonderful as "Wonderful Town", 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Sister Eileen [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
I don't recall ever seeing this, or any clips from it, on TV and I think I can see why. However, it is worth the purchase, just to see the brilliant Bob Fosse and Tommy Rall spinning "on a sixpence" in one number. Unfortunately, however, the music throughout is not memorable and the acting a bit wooden even given the three main actors in the cast, and knowing the Bernstein "Wonderful Town" version of the story, full of catchy numbers, this is nowhere near as good. If only someone would film that in full (instead of the concert recordings).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who can't cook?, 6 Sep 2012
By 
If You Could Only Cook (William A Seiter, 1935, 72')

"It has laughs but lacks pace", The New York Times reviewer wrote. Correct, and also its title lacks explanation: Jean Arthur certainly can cook, counter to what most reviews stipulate - eg as follows

"In the screwball comedy If you could only cook, unemployed Jean Arthur happens to meet Herbert Marshall on a park bench. Assuming that he needs work, too, she asks him to pose with her as husband-and-wife so they can get jobs as a married cook-and-butler team at the mansion of mobster Leo Carrillo. Marshall, who's actually the head of an auto firm, goes along with the gag, learning the finer points of butlering from his own butler, but Arthur simply can't cook. The comedy complications multiply from there."

But like in other screwball comedies (though not necessarily by their title), confusion is ripe, and that not all is resolved by film's end quite customary.

I also fail to see Arthur's proverbial outstanding screwball comedy talent - Loretta Young and Catherine Hepburn do at least as well - and her performance depends much on the director: She certainly does much better under Frank Capra in Mr Deeds Goes to Town or in Too Many Husbands by Wesley Ruggles (1940).

147 - If You Could Only Cook (William A Seiter, 1935, 72') - 6/9/2012
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAB!!, 25 Oct 2011
This review is from: My Sister Eileen [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
I couldn't love this movie more. It's a heartfelt story about two small town girls who move to New York, each looking to make it big in their own way. The relationship between the two sisters is complex, as each struggles with her own limitations, in the harsh face of each other's successes. Beautifully warm and heart felt (and laugh-out-loud funny!), this movie is a real must for any vintage movie fans :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 July 2014
This review is from: My Sister Eileen [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
exellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Second strings, 26 Mar 2009
By 
W. Russell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Sister Eileen [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
The interesting thing about this is that Betty Garrett, so good in the heroine's wisecracking best friend roles really doesn't shine - somehow she lacks the necessary star quality because she has the lead role. Eileen is the young and very pretty Janet Leigh, a modest musical performer at best. The songs are run of the mill - different from the stage show - and Jack Lemmon, looking impossibly young and handsome, plays a rather slimey chauvinist hero. It ought to be a sparkling New York new girls in town affair but frankly it isn't. For musical afficionados only, and only if you collect them because you like the genre and don't care if it is a second rate example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Sister Eileen [DVD] [1955]
My Sister Eileen [DVD] [1955] by Richard Quine (DVD - 2007)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews