Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The battle between good and evil
Revelations is a series full of suspense, action and horror on a biblical scale. I won't spoil anything, but if you are into epic stories about the battle between the the forces of light and justice versus darkness and evil, then you should pick this one up. The series have good production values, and the actors are great. The excitement and tension builds up in every...
Published on 24 Oct. 2007 by E. Jorgensen

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok. Just ok.
The genre is something I like the sound of. I took a punt and bought it because some of the reviews sounded good. The plot is fairly basic and really my only main complaint is that it is really slow getting started
Worth a go but if your gunna buy it then you need to stick in with the slow pace.
Published on 19 Sept. 2010 by D


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The battle between good and evil, 24 Oct. 2007
By 
E. Jorgensen (Tonsberg, NORWAY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelations: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Revelations is a series full of suspense, action and horror on a biblical scale. I won't spoil anything, but if you are into epic stories about the battle between the the forces of light and justice versus darkness and evil, then you should pick this one up. The series have good production values, and the actors are great. The excitement and tension builds up in every episode, and our two heroes, the reluctant scientist played by Bill Pullman, and the young nun with her strong christian faith, must face many dangers and obstacles put in their path. The demonic powers are intent on creating hell on earth, and only a few good people stand in their way. The scientist and the nun have one hope, finding a child whom they believe is Christ reborn. But the demonic powers also want to find this child. The quest to secure the holy child, leads them all over the world, which is on the brink of Armageddon.

A higly enjoyable and exciting series, but the final episode is a bit of a letdown. As with another good series, "Surface", the ending is to rushed. They probably ran out of money, or someone decided to cancel the show. But that said, both series were highly entertaining while they lasted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok. Just ok., 19 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelations: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The genre is something I like the sound of. I took a punt and bought it because some of the reviews sounded good. The plot is fairly basic and really my only main complaint is that it is really slow getting started
Worth a go but if your gunna buy it then you need to stick in with the slow pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 4 July 2008
By 
N. Kerr "muvva" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelations: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
For those that fancy a cocktail of horror and thriller genres, with a familiar religious theme in the mix this is a good little show- nothing monumental, wont blow your socks off...has been done before, but the show is well acted, any effects used are good ...kinda the 'easy watching'of horror where REM are the easy listening of rock,...enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars revelations, 23 April 2011
By 
Susan A. Clay (yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelations: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
a must for eveyone, fast efficient service as always and a good resonable price. highly recommended. a shame no more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars interesting but bit corny and daft, 28 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelations: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this would be an interesting story because i loved the Left Behind series of books which were based on the same period of time - but this is very daft and corny in places and had me saying - why dont you tell him why, why - well i cant spoil it if you buy it but lots of things arent done which prolong it.

It has lots of choral (far too much) and dramatic (quite nice actually) background music so if you dont like choirs youl hate a lot of it.

It tries to be very religious but i think it overdoes it and concentrates too much on searching for a child - I thought it would be about the signs and wonders of the end of the world, kind of disaster movie lets save the world - but it really is about a nuns obsessive search for a baby. I love supernatural, Christian and interesting stories but i have to say to be bored by this, im not sure if il bother to watch the end - it can be background while i study!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A great story (based upon the Biblical text) but ultimately flawed ..., 5 Nov. 2014
By 
D. Basford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelations: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A great story (based upon the Biblical text) but ultimately flawed by poor writing and direction.
Acting is decent enough - the nun and 'hawk' put in great performances - but the direction does not get the most out of some actors (it's as if you FEEL the actor CAN do more but it's down to a timetable for the director or he thinks 85% is good enough).
My main gripe though is this
*SPOILER*
This is NOT a full story.
Hours 1-6 is all they made and it is NOT a full story!
They clearly have no plan to make more (this was in 2005)
So it ends with a whisper rather than with a crescendo :(
Production values - filming and location work and such were excellent
THAT is why 3 instead of 2
Better direction could have got a 4 - but only a 'complete' story would have rated a 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moderate Entertainment, 7 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelations: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed watching even though the story was rather predictable. As this was only a few pounds, it is excellent value for money. You get several hours of entertainment for the price of a low cost film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars AN OPPORTUNITY MISSED, 20 Feb. 2011
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelations: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Mankind's greatest challenge, as foretold in the Bible - unprecedented calamities heralding the climatic great battle between Good and Evil.

In this six part series the stage has been set - Christ apparently reborn, the Anti-Christ about to be. With decisive parts to play are an atheist professor (Bill Pullman) and a nun (Natascha McElhone)....

"Revelations" could have proved seriously unnerving and comes close to being so whenever Michael Massee is around - he compelling as a charismatic leading Satanist. The prevalence of evil comes over well (those two cats decidedly scary). Unfortunately the leads are lacklustre and many sequences confusing - especially in the last episode. The possible impact is thus considerably diminished.

Some stunning views please the eye as events move to different countries, but the series itself needs a firmer sense of direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Offensively bad, 25 April 2011
By 
James Rands (Europe) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelations: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Have you ever had a really good night out and sat down on a nightbus home feeling great only to see someone get on. You know the sort, his jeans don't reach the tops of his shoes, his shirt is buttoned up to his throat with no tie and he wears an idiotic grin. And then he comes and sits down next to you despite the availability of other seats. Apropos nothing he decides to talk to you about God. And it isn't just that the conversation is uninvited, tiresome and unwanted - he also has a vacuous understanding of science and his philosophical and theological insights are facile at best.

Well that guy wrote this TV show.

It seems unfair to call this bad - unfair that is to shows which are merely bad. Yes the idea is pretty far fetched and silly but I enjoyed the Omen and The Prophecy Films amongst many others so that's no problem. But here we have a bit of an Brownesque nonsense. The script is terrible. The characters are unbelievable and shallow. Their actions rarely make sense. The production values are low but pretensions of grandeur lead the makers to throw in sparkly effects and big(gish) names - in fact just reminding us how low budget this really is.

The inability of the writers to create a genuinely sympathetic character means that the baddies have to be ridiculously caricatured so cynics trot out straw man arguments for the believers to knock down. Complex ethical issues such as what to do with someone on life support with no hope of recovery become doctors=money grabbing and bad: nuns=kindly and nice. And the grasp on biblical issues is so tenuous it's ridiculous. End of Days with Arnold Schwarzenegger has a more sophisticated grasp of the text.

This is just bad and not even in the so bad it's good way - just dreadful and condescending and offensively crass with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Revelations, 27 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelations: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
As "end of days" films go this is one of the better kind. It has everything associated with the Bible book of Revelations. The signs in the heavens and on the earth are all there. It even dispels the notion that leaders from different religions are able to intervene with God`s plan. The Bible book of Ephesians tells us; "There is one faith". But if you are not over critical this is a must see movie. Bill Pulman is excellent throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Revelations: Season 1 [DVD]
Revelations: Season 1 [DVD] by Lili Fini Zanuck (DVD - 2007)
£8.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews