Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Production
I have to confess to having some misgivings about purchasing this mini-series. I wondered if Ian McShane would be right for the lead role. I needn't have concerned myself, as I thought he was excellent throughout. This was a good story, well told, about a part of our history which is largely overlooked. Out of necessity, the story leapt forward years at a time on a...
Published on 30 Nov 2010 by A. K. Smart

versus
39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile. Portrait of a romantic
"Disraeli - Portrait of a romantic" is the full title of this series. It is a good title as the drama centres around disraeli's character as he climbs the greasy pole to become prime minister against all odds.

Ian Mcshane is perfectly cast and dominates every scene. Seen purely as a drama, it compares well with your average Catherine Cookson. Beyond that we are...
Published on 27 Oct 2007 by Prof TBun


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Production, 30 Nov 2010
By 
A. K. Smart "Ken Smart" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disraeli - Complete [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
I have to confess to having some misgivings about purchasing this mini-series. I wondered if Ian McShane would be right for the lead role. I needn't have concerned myself, as I thought he was excellent throughout. This was a good story, well told, about a part of our history which is largely overlooked. Out of necessity, the story leapt forward years at a time on a regular basis, but I suppose we were only concerning ourselves with the important actions in an amazing life. He married a widow (years older than him) for social advantage, but they formed a good partnership from a loveless beginning, and his rise to the top of the political tree began in earnest. Queen Victoria (and Albert) were both apprehensive initially about his appointment, but a genuine mutual respect soon grew. The supporting cast all played their parts, and I can honestly say that this was a mini-series that I enjoyed immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile. Portrait of a romantic, 27 Oct 2007
By 
Prof TBun (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Disraeli - Complete [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
"Disraeli - Portrait of a romantic" is the full title of this series. It is a good title as the drama centres around disraeli's character as he climbs the greasy pole to become prime minister against all odds.

Ian Mcshane is perfectly cast and dominates every scene. Seen purely as a drama, it compares well with your average Catherine Cookson. Beyond that we are treated to a rare view of this important historical character.

The writer has done an excellent job of condensing so much into six hours. Hopefully someday someone will commission a couple of lengthy series with a decent budget to really do this important period justice.

If you have an interest in history, politics or romance then I think you will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I now want to know more, 18 May 2011
This review is from: Disraeli - Complete [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
This is the type of series that will whet the appetite for more information. You will want to know more about "the buying of the Sues shares" and about Disraeli himself. We bought this DVD at his house, Hughenden Manor, which you can visit. Ian McShane as Disraeli was brilliant. I wish that you could split the star rating between performance and quality of the video. The performances were good and believeable. The quality of the filming was very 1970's, a bit shakey, a bit grainy and a bit too fast for the eye (only in some parts - mainly outside shots). However, do not be put off by this. My only wish is that it could have been longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great mini series that bought one of the most colourful characters from english history to life, 27 Feb 2011
By 
vera - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disraeli - Complete [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
this is truly an entertaining mini series, with a run time of nearly 6 hours spread over two dvds, its in 6 episodes as orginally screened on tv and stars ian mcshane, i must admit he was the reason i hesitated to buy this series as i couldnt stand him in lovejoy but i needent have worried he was disraeli to a t in this series

mcshane stars as disreali, a flawed man with an overwhelming sense of public duty who truly seemed to want to do what was best for the british people and bring in reform to make life fairer for the poorest people in the country as well as for the working man

the first two epsiodes show his early life as a young man, an author of books which scandalised high society in briton and shows his exile from the country for two years after one novel he published in particular made his life a misery all though it was well recived in america, it shows his debts and him hiding from his creditors, it shows the friends he made, his wonderful father, a man of books slowly going blind and his determined couragous sister who gave up on marriage to care for her ailing father and of both of their unswerving belief in disraeli, and it shows his first three failed attempts to win a seat in parmliment

from epsiode 3 it shows his friendship with mary anne and wyndham the man who eventually funded his election campaign for a rival seat to his and his joy at finally winning, it shows the distain and hatred of some of his tory collegues who looked down on him for his flamboyant ways and his desire to reform politics and bring the vote to every man of briton

it shows wyndhams death and disreali's decision to marry his widow a woman 13 years older than him, for money and position, and then his growing love for the amazing woman who believed in him and gave him advice of how he should manage himself and his policies, it shows his achievments as well as his failures, warts and all, it dosnt try and paint only the good about him which so many of these biographys do, this series shows the whole man, the complete man

this is a truly great mini series which leads right up to his death and i fould i learnt a lot not just about disrreali, but about discrimination against the jewish faith, and about politics and attitudes of the century as well as the reforms that gradually changed so we can catch glimpses of the parliment we see today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disraeli - Complete [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
I had not heard of this serial and bought out of curiosity. I generally prefer the 1970-1980s serials because of the quality of the scripts, costumes and acting. Disraeli is not up there with the greats of this era, though it interesting and stays in your mind long after watching it.

Ian McShane is excellent as Disraeli. He has all the fascination and complexity of someone who achieved what he did. In fact all the acting and the costumes were excellent. My biggest complaint was that the story was squeezed into four episodes and time and again Disraeli would be off to make some great speech which you would not see. There were other improtant occasions too which were not seen and instead outcomes of the events were briefly summarized at some point. I got a bit irritated with this after a while, and felt that either the script writer was not up to the job or the budget was too tight for the story to be told.

Disraeli's story is somewhat mirrored by that of Phineas Phinn in the Pallisers and I kept thinking that story was better done in the Pallisers. All in all, my view is that this is worth buying for the opportunity to learn a little about Disraeli easily. But don't expect a classic of TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent biography of an exceptional politician, 10 Dec 2012
By 
M. Monette (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disraeli - Complete [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
A complete and very realistic portrait of Benjamin Disraeli - the Victorian era romantic and wit who became one of England's greatest political leaders. McShane is at his very best as he portrays a man "climbing to the top of a very greasy pole" as Disraeli described his rise in politics. An excellent supporting cast rounds this detailed portrait. Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disraeli, in person, 22 Nov 2009
By 
CJS Flawn (London,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Disraeli - Complete [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD really brought Disraeli to life for me. I have read much about him and feel that the 2nd part absolutely captured him at the peak of his power. Throughly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History at it's best, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disraeli - Complete [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Both my wife and I much enjoyed this very interesting and well presented bit of our history in the Victorian era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A time when PM's had personality., 27 Jun 2013
This review is from: Disraeli - Complete [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Very enjoyable retelling of the life of this exceptional man. Ian Mcshane was perfectly cast as was Mary Peach as his adoring wife. Don't expect a balanced view, the more negative aspects of the man are well hidden, but still a very satisfying drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very informative and a bargain, 19 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disraeli - Complete [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
pleased with this double DVD set of the 4 episodes of the Disraeli drama which I remember seeing many years ago, but not understanding much at the time due to my young age then.
It arrived in great condition and very quickly [considering the postmark was Singapore!] and was a real bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disraeli - Complete [1978] [DVD]
Disraeli - Complete [1978] [DVD] by Ian McShane (DVD - 2007)
7.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews