Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite a suprise
Prior to listening, I was sceptical about the necessity of this release, reanalysing and reinterpreting the Dylan catalogue. However, as well as being a Dylan fan, I have a high respect for Ferry and his output. The CD grips you after the first spin. High quality production capturing the essense of the original, but often setting it in a new direction. Ferry's vocals...
Published on 31 Mar 2007 by Patrick Sykes

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for Both
Good album but not a great one. It is of course very polished and sounds great,& Ferry is of course a high profile fan of the Main Man.

There are some good versions here, but none seem to match the intensity and oomph of previous Ferry cover versions, such as "Hard Rain" or "It's all over Now Baby Blue".

For those not too familiar with a lot of...
Published on 5 Mar 2007 by FRS


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite a suprise, 31 Mar 2007
By 
Patrick Sykes "patrick11240" (nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dylanesque (Audio CD)
Prior to listening, I was sceptical about the necessity of this release, reanalysing and reinterpreting the Dylan catalogue. However, as well as being a Dylan fan, I have a high respect for Ferry and his output. The CD grips you after the first spin. High quality production capturing the essense of the original, but often setting it in a new direction. Ferry's vocals still have that individuality and are balanced by a tight backing band who do a superb job on all of the tracks here. I congratulate Ferry on the excellent choice of tracks too - yes, some common staples are chosen but they sound fresh and you don't need to skip tracks. There are no duds, which for a covers album is high praise indeed.

It is an album you want to share and recommend, and you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait..., 9 Mar 2007
By 
G. F. SHARPLES "Gill" (Preston, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dylanesque (Audio CD)
Well, I expected this album to be good, but in fact it is brilliant! The energy with which Ferry delivers his vocals is very refreshing, and the arrangements of these classic Dylan tracks are effective. He recorded this album quickly in order to take a break from writing the new Roxy Music album, which is due sometime this year.

Standout tracks on Dylanesque - Times They Are A-Changin', Positively 4th Street and All Along The Watchtower.

Also, The Dylan Sessions are to be released through Eagle in June this year. I think that may be an extended version of the concert which was screened on Channel 4 recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Ferryatric!, 29 Mar 2007
By 
T. Nolan "Lightmonger" (Formby, Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dylanesque (Audio CD)
Having been a big fan of both Roxy and BF I have always loved the way that most of the songs are structured and performed. In the last few years there have been some questionable songs in terms of performance and content. When I saw the ads for a Dylan covers album I did worry a bit, but never the less bought it. BF's voice has changed, but it some ways its got better, and I enjoy the way he's relaxed the delivery. Never having been into Dylan, I have few reference points to refer to, so all I can say is - EXCELLENT! Spot on performance and content, that leaves you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars positively good, 9 Mar 2007
By 
Paul Kerr (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dylanesque (Audio CD)
Bryan Ferry brings Dylan alive in many ways. I am a Ferry and Dylan fan. Ferry brings some Dylan stuff out of the non-melodic [though brilliant] poetry genre to the really great song genre. And by so doing, maybe makes Bob Dylan more accessible to more people. A couple of weak tracks, most VG, 2 excellent and worth the money on their own: 'Positively 4th St' and 'Just like Tom Thumb's Blues'. Bryan Ferry turns these around really nicely, a bit like 'Hard Rain' in some ways. Best tenner I've spent in ages. I hope this album inspires one of the most under-rated songwriters to bring out a classic pre-76 type Roxy Music album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interpretative Genius, 8 Mar 2007
By 
Dr. Simon Blease "ILoveMusic" (Monmouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dylanesque (Audio CD)
Any one who sets out to re-interpret the works of an icon and genius is setting themselves up for a kicking. In this regard, you have to respect Ferry for risking his artistic integrity in this way. But I suspect Ferry would not care either way. This is a recording of instinct and love without regard to 'career' or 'marketabilty'. It was thrown together in a week by a group of pro's at the top of their game. So why bother?

Well, I'm not a Dylan fan. I find the presentation of his work too abrasive for my taste. But now I sit in shame for not persevering because Ferry has been able to show what fantastic songs he wrote. This, then, is the triumph of the album. An intepreter should be able to show the value of the source material without destroying its integrity. This Ferry does with panache, style and sheer musicality. Not an album for all, but if you love music you can't help admire this collection and you'll probably adore some of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 2 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Dylanesque (Audio CD)
Dylanesque is a lush, 'live' yet rich album of Dylan/Ferry tracks. It's sort of 'Frantic' meets 'As Time Goes By'. Highlights for me are 'Positively 4th Street', 'To Make You Feel My Love', 'Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues' and best of all 'Gates Of Eden', which almost sounds like Mercury Rev to my ears. It's a relaxed sounding album, without big pretentions, which I like. Just a nice record to put on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The still capable Ferry, 15 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. Mark W. Longden (Stapleford, Nottingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dylanesque (Audio CD)
In some ways it matters not that these tracks are cover versions of Dylan's works, the point is how does it sound? I like music and have enjoyed the career of Roxy Music and Bryan Ferry for their music, despite the late wilderness years. Here we have again a peerless Ferry production, all tracks are commendable with some first class musicianship. Forget the carping about the material choice, enjoy this rather good CD for what it is - music to the ears. Carry on Ferry, a little longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't listern to the critics Bryan, 12 April 2007
This review is from: Dylanesque (Audio CD)
Mr Ferry is known for his interpretations of other artists songs and he has always had a thing for Dylan. Well here he has gone the whole hog with an album dedicated to the great mans work. Nothing outrageous or unpredictable in his choices, he has picked Dylan tracks that most fans would know and are easily accessable. His versions are presented in typical Ferry style and the musicians playing on the album are tight and it is well produced. If you like Bryan Ferry (and I do) you will love this. Only one note of critisism, you should not have bothered with "All Along the Watchtower" Bryan, Mr Hendrix did the definitive version (even Bob agrees with that!)so everyone else should leave well alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool and refreshing take on Dylan, 30 May 2009
By 
David Stewart (Glasgow, United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dylanesque (Audio CD)
This is a well produced foray into the world of Bob Dylan from the king of lounge lizards Bryan Ferry. Ferry manages to obtain those essential elements of the original Dylan recordings whilst at the same time breathing a new life into songs we all know such as All Along The Watchtower and Knocking On Heavens Door.

Balanced and easy to listen to, an accessable collection of Dylan covers with great vocals and instrumentals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Knockin' on Heaven's door, 25 April 2007
This review is from: Dylanesque (Audio CD)
You'll either love this or you'll hate it, I doubt if there'll be any middle ground. For the record I love it! The selection of songs is intriguing. Some well known, others not so. Curiously, it's the less well known that are the most absorbing on this album.

"Make you feel my love" is by far and away the pick of the bunch. It is achingly beautiful. Rarely has Ferry sounded as vulnerable in his vocal interpretation as on this song. But the album just gets better each time you hear it. Right from the start on "Just like Tom Thumb's Blues" and "Simple Twist of Fate" the groove and understated guitar playing in the background just captivate you completely. You can't help but tap your fingers or move your head as you listen along.

"Positively 4th Street" and "Gates of Eden" are also top draw versions. The production and arrangements on each track are superb, I absolutely adore the CD. Everything from the female backing singers to the supporting musicians suggests CLASS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dylanesque
Dylanesque by Bryan Ferry (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews