Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warm American Nostalgia
Traditional American values and warm nostalgia blend seamlessly in this WB film based onBooth Tarkington's 'Penrod' stories. Starring a young Doris Day and Gordon MacRae and set in Indiana during WWI it is more a sweet story of love and family values scattered with songs than a traditional Hollywood musical. The end of this film will leave a warm feeling in your heart...
Published on 15 April 2003

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars That must have been written by a man with a glass of beer in one hand and a rhyming dictionary in the other.
On Moonlight Bay is directed by Roy Del Ruth and stars Doris Day & Gordon MacRae. It's based loosely on the Penrod stories written by Booth Tarkington.

1917 and Marjorie Winfield (Day) is a tomboy who moves with her family into a new house in small town Indiana. Here she begins a romance with the boy next door, William Sherman (MacRae) and starts to learn...
Published on 2 Feb 2011 by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warm American Nostalgia, 15 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: On Moonlight Bay [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Traditional American values and warm nostalgia blend seamlessly in this WB film based onBooth Tarkington's 'Penrod' stories. Starring a young Doris Day and Gordon MacRae and set in Indiana during WWI it is more a sweet story of love and family values scattered with songs than a traditional Hollywood musical. The end of this film will leave a warm feeling in your heart just as it did the public in 1949.
The sets of Indiana during the early 20th century are marvelous and a cast that includes Leon Ames, Jack Smith, Ellen Corby and Rosemary De Camp give Doris Day and Gordon MacRae all the fun and drama they need to fall in love.
Along the way we get snowball fights and the sweet angst of young and innocent love, not to mention some really nice songs. A few belly laughs are provided as Margie's little brother, Wesley, makes up a horrible story about his family to sidestep some homework, based on a 'flicker' he has seen, that has the whole town talking!
Perhaps because this film so often gets compared to the perfect musical of American nostalgia, 'Meet Me in St. Louis,' it doesn't get the recognition it deserves. Doris Day shows that glowing magic that endeared her to audiences around the world and the film itself is a warm and wonderful reminder of America and its values.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great feel-good Sunday afternoon movie, 1 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: On Moonlight Bay [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Romance, comedy and singing in the street. This film has all the ingredients required for a relaxing viewing. Doris Day plays the tom-boy of a respectable American family, who has to contend with the adoration of a dull music teacher, a typical annoying (yet funny and imaginative) brother whilst attempting to be the proper young lady in courting her Amry-based love.
Welsey (Day's brother) is without question my favourite character. His vivid tales of his Father's 'antics' are relayed to his teacher with the expected, yet still humurous, consequences.
Buy it and watch it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Doris, 1 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Moonlight Bay (DVD) [1951] (DVD)
Doris Day is of all times and never tires!
She was an inspiration for millions all over the world and allways will be!On Moonlight Bay is a wonderful movie for all to enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Moonlight Bay (1951) - Doris Day, 29 May 2007
By 
P. D. A. WALDER "Paul Walder" (West Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I love this film and the sequel By The Light Of The Silvery Moon (1953) with one of my favourite actresses and singers Doris Day.

I remember as a child watching this and loving every minute of it. I am now 42 years old and was not even born when it was released but have seen it on TV many times and have copies of them on Video. My Mum got me into Doris Day with her music and films but this and its sequel are my favourites of hers and Mum's to.

It is a true family musical film about childhood, growing up, life in the early 19th Century USA.

I ordered my copy and the sequel from Amazon USA as I could not wait for it to become available on Region 2 DVD. I can now at last retire my old worn out VHS Tapes and watch them on my DVD Player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Moonlight Bay (DVD) [1951] (DVD)
superb service and quality of item, delivery was far quicker than expected. many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good old fashioned film, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Moonlight Bay (DVD) [1951] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film so ordered the sequel By the light of the slivery moon which also was good they are both lovely feel good films to snuggle down and and watch on a rainy cold day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 9 April 2014
This review is from: On Moonlight Bay (DVD) [1951] (DVD)
I love Doris Day films and this has got to be one of my favourites. A very happy feel good film with superb singing, acting and humour with great scenery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good old flims, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Moonlight Bay (DVD) [1951] (DVD)
we where so happy to get dvd so quick an to seat an watch we the family would recommend to everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make them like this anymore, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Moonlight Bay (DVD) [1951] (DVD)
This was bought for my 90 year old mother who thoroughly enjoyed it and the memories it evoked. If it's nostalgia you're looking for, this will fit the bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Moonlight Bay (DVD) [1951] (DVD)
the service was great arrived the day after ordered. it was a gift . we watched it right a way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Moonlight Bay (DVD) [1951]
On Moonlight Bay (DVD) [1951] by William Jacobs (DVD)
17.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews