Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 7 Voyagers of People Who Won't Sin Bad
Old fashioned and black and white may be enough to put some people off any film, but when that film is as interesting and as well acted as `Now Voyager' you have to give it a chance. Bette Davis is the put upon youngest child from a rich family who escapes the clutches of her overbearing mother only to fall for a man who is married and won't break his vows. Theirs is a...
Published on 7 Oct. 2010 by Sam Tyler

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Melodrama Overload, Some Pockets of Interest
Its not really my cup of tea this film. I can cope with romantic films but this was heavily ladened with melodrama and was drowned by it's romantic (/annoying) musical score. However a there are some good elements in the second half of the film..

Betty Davis is under the thumb of her over powering mother who see here as worthless yet expects her to look after...
Published 4 months ago by Hagrid's Umbrella


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 7 Voyagers of People Who Won't Sin Bad, 7 Oct. 2010
By 
This review is from: Now, Voyager [DVD] [1942] (DVD)
Old fashioned and black and white may be enough to put some people off any film, but when that film is as interesting and as well acted as `Now Voyager' you have to give it a chance. Bette Davis is the put upon youngest child from a rich family who escapes the clutches of her overbearing mother only to fall for a man who is married and won't break his vows. Theirs is a love that can never be fulfilled, but always bubbles under the surface. A story like this wouldn't make sense in modern cinema as you would just cry divorce and get the couple together, but `Now Voyager' relies on its old fashioned sensibilities for it to work. Davis is as always excellent, although at this period in time she was slightly stereotyped as the ugly ducking waiting to become a swan. Less successful is newcomer (at the time) Paul Henreid. He gives a decent go to a character who sometimes contradicts himself, why is he so willing to make one person happy and another so sad?

In the end, it is the story itself that is king, full of longing and sadness, but also strangely uplifting. Rather than being a run of the mill melodrama director Irving Rapper fills it with interesting moments and moves the story around from America to across the globe. There are also a surprisingly number of interesting camera shots for a film that could have been a straight forward romance. The version of the film that I saw only had basic extras with a trailer being the main highlight. However, the film itself is easily enough for a fan of 1930-50s cinema to give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, Jerry!, 7 Feb. 2010
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Now, Voyager [DVD] [1942] (DVD)
Charlotte Vale (Bette Davis) is a dowdy spinster who has been driven to a nervous breakdown by her tyrannical mother. She enters a sanitarium and emerges an attractive and confident woman, ready to experience life on her own terms. On a cruise, she meets Jerry (Paul Henried), a married man; he's charming and romantic and they fall in love.

This is a great movie. Charlotte's physical and emotional transformation and her Grand Passion are the stuff that make many female hearts race, including mine. Davis gives a powerful, intelligent performance and was justly nominated for an Oscar. Leading men didn't come any smoother than Henried and he pulls off the now-silly double-cigarette act with absolute aplomb, making his flawed character seem almost heroic. Max Steiner's heart-tugging score won an Oscar.

The movie is pure escapist delight with beautiful people, gorgeous clothes, exotic locations, and, of course, Love. A true classic romance that makes me swoon. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enigmatic., 25 Nov. 2007
By 
Observer (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Now, Voyager [DVD] [1942] (DVD)
Whilst some of her work may be categorised as, 'vehicles', Bette Davis' portrayal of Charlotte Vale in Now Voyager must have been a challenging and brave role to take on. A film which redefines what a hero can be breaks the mould in many ways. Some of the performances, a little cliched and more appropriate for a stage performance.
But these were the early days of movies and certainly early days for movies of this genre.
Great, great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charlotte Vale's (Bette Davis) coming out party, 25 Aug. 2008
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Now, Voyager [DVD] [1942] (DVD)
Over all this reminded me of a one liner in "A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum" (1966) where Hero says," For us there will never be happiness." Philia replies," We must learn to be happy without it."

This is not as dark as "Dark Victory" (1939). But it is just as intense. And there is no way that you will get me to mention ""Don't ask for the moon--we have the stars" in this review. What makes the movie so intriguing is that you can recognize the characters in real life. I think one of the shockers for me was when Charlotte Vale was forced to remove her eye glasses to find she did not need them. I tried it my self and could not see a thing. Of course by this time most viewers have their glasses off by this time and tissues on their eyes.

See Paul Henreid just as intense as Henry in "Between Two Worlds (1944)"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great film-alas about 4 minutes are missing on this DVD compared to IMDB run time and my old VHS tape version., 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now, Voyager [DVD] [1942] (DVD)
The print is very good on this DVD. However there is a missing section on this DVD edition towards the end where Bette Davis organises activities at the clinic for many young patients, not merely just for her lover's daughter. The missing section results in the offer of a directorship looking a bit odd.

I won't spoil the story but this is one of the great romantic films, showing Bette Davis as a great and subtle actress before she became a caricature in her late films. Despite the unfortunate cut, I still rate this DVD as four stars. Well worth having if you are unable to get a more complete version. The complete film would rate 5+ stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful film for romantics, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now, Voyager [DVD] [1942] (DVD)
Wonderful film for romantics. Bette Davis at her best. I've watched this over and over again. Make yourself a cup of coffee, put your feet up, turn your phone off !! You will just love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Melodrama Overload, Some Pockets of Interest, 20 Jan. 2015
By 
This review is from: Now, Voyager [DVD] [1942] (DVD)
Its not really my cup of tea this film. I can cope with romantic films but this was heavily ladened with melodrama and was drowned by it's romantic (/annoying) musical score. However a there are some good elements in the second half of the film..

Betty Davis is under the thumb of her over powering mother who see here as worthless yet expects her to look after her. A kind doctor sees a way out for Davis and she escapes the nest to get better and allows her to become herself. Plucked eyebrows and a new wardrobe and she's ready to take on the world with her renewed confidence and even try standing up to her mother.

I didn't really buy into the romances (melodrama again), though some of the moral ambiguity was interesting, as was her battle with here mother and her looking to help people in similar circumstances to herself.

I quite liked the ending and there was a few lol moments in the later half of the film with the witty script. Performances from the women and the Doctor were good but the romantic leads could have been Harry Enfield.

Can't really recommend it as in my view the good was out weight by the bad but it you like old romantic films or Bet Davis give it a go. There was a decent film in there but they didn't quite extract it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bette davis, 19 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now, Voyager [DVD] [1942] (DVD)
I cannot believe I found this but to me its the best film ever. If you like Bette and a bit of romance and nearly happy ever after this is for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 13 July 2011
This review is from: Now, Voyager [DVD] [1942] (DVD)
This is a bit of a Cinderella story with Davis playing the plain maiden aunt who transforms herself into a beautiful couture dressed society lady from a noble American family. It's a wonderful love story from the golden age of Hollywood. With Davis at her very best. Not a dry eye in the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All time favourite, 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now, Voyager [DVD] [1942] (DVD)
This is one of my all time favourite Bette Davis movies. I read it was one of her least favourite to make and that she regretted it, but I'm relieved to have a copy. I can watch this many times, and then some more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Now, Voyager [DVD] [1942]
Now, Voyager [DVD] [1942] by Irving Rapper (DVD)
£15.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews