Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Skeffingto meets Ms Davis
They sure don't make films like this and I doubt they would. Bette is amazing as a new york socialite, broke but flirtatious who marries her brother's boss for security (Claude Rains). It is melodramatic, romantic, comic and a perfect sunday afternoon movie. Not in the same league as jezebel or all about eve but certainly a class above the dross of bland leading ladies...
Published on 3 Oct 2005 by Mr. S. D. Usher

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bette & the suitors
I love and admire Bette Davis more than I can say, but there are limits.
In a succession of ever more flamboyant dresses and outrageous wigs, Bette Davis plays Fanny, a pretty, coquettish socialite who has more suitors after her than she can shake a stick at.
Then the wealthy eponymous gentleman comes into her life, at the same time as her feckless beloved...
Published 5 months ago by GlynLuke


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Skeffingto meets Ms Davis, 3 Oct 2005
By 
Mr. S. D. Usher "sdusher69" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
They sure don't make films like this and I doubt they would. Bette is amazing as a new york socialite, broke but flirtatious who marries her brother's boss for security (Claude Rains). It is melodramatic, romantic, comic and a perfect sunday afternoon movie. Not in the same league as jezebel or all about eve but certainly a class above the dross of bland leading ladies we have to contend with now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 7 Nov 2009
By 
R. Poole "baby boomer" (london uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. Skeffington [1944] (DVD)
really wonderful ,a mixture of humour and pathos.bette as the ageless fanny skeffington until ravaged by diphtheria (ending up looking a bit like baby jane)and claude rains as the ever suffering husband.perfect to sit down and watch on a rainy sunday.really underrated jewel of a film with a feel good bittersweet ending.a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movie Classic!, 14 Aug 2014
This review is from: Mr. Skeffington [1944] (DVD)
Bette Davis is Excellent in this 1944 Classic. Alongside Claude Raines this is a Movie Classic.

I had the movie but it no longer worked. So I decided to purchase the DVD. My Family and I watch this all the time and never tire of seeing Bette Davis being so cold an unemotional.

Claude Raines as the long suffering husband and the other Actors are FANTASTIC. Watch out for Doctor Byle giving Miss Davis her Diaganois (Classic).

They just don't make them like this anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Mr. Skeffiington (1944) ... Bette Davis & Claude Rains ... Vincent Sherman (Director) (2005)", 28 Aug 2011
By 
J. Lovins "Mr. Jim" (Missouri-USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Warner Bros. Pictures presents "MR. SKEFFINGTON" (1944) (145 min/B&W) -- Starring: Bette Davis, Claude Rains, Walter Abel, George Coulouris, Richard Waring, Marjorie Riordan, Robert Shayne, John Alexander, Jerome Cowan, Johnny Mitchell, Dorothy Peterson, Peter Whitney, Bill Kennedy

Directed by Vincent Sherman

The incomparable Bette Davis and the always-charming Claude Rains, in one of those good, solid melodramas - they make quite a marvelous screen pair, both pros from the old school of acting. Their voices, accents, speech patterns are classic, also mesmerizing in this film.

"Mr. Skeffington" is a classic. The film is over two hours, it keeps your interest and a worthwhile film to see. It also features excellent performances by Walter Abel, George Coulouris, and Marjorie Riordan.

Nominated Oscar for Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Claude Rains), Best Actress in a Leading Role (Bette Davis)

Another in a long list of wonderful melodramas, "Mr. Skeffington" is a very good classic film that I fear has been forgotten throughout the years. Its performances and adequately compelling story are enough to recommend it to classic film lovers, particularly those who are fans of Bette Davis or Claude Rains.

* Special Footnote: -- Bette Davis was not the first choice for the role of Fanny. The part was first offered first to Merle Oberon and then to Hedy Lamarr who both turned it down.

** Another Special Footnote: -- Bette Davis' final Oscar-nominated performance while under contract with Warner Brothers.

BIOS:
1. Vincent Sherman [aka: Abraham Orovitz] (Director)
Date of Birth: 16 July 1906 - Vienna, Georgia
Date of Death: 18 June 2006 - Woodland Hills, Los Angeles, California

2. Bette Davis [aka: Ruth Elizabeth Davis]
Date of Birth: 5 April 1908 - Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Date of Death: 6 October 1989 - Neuilly-sur-Seine, Hauts-de-Seine, France

3. Claude Rains
Date of Birth: 10 November 1889 - Camberwell, London, England, UK
Date of Death: 30 May 1967 - Laconia, New Hampshire

4. Walter Abel
Date of Birth: 6 June 1898 - St. Paul, Minnesota
Date of Death: 26 March 1987 - Essex, Connecticut

Mr. Jim's Ratings:
Quality of Picture & Sound: 5 Stars
Performance: 5 Stars
Story & Screenplay: 5 Stars
Overall: 5 Stars [Original Music, Cinematography & Film Editing]

Total Time: 145 min on DVD ~ Warner Bros. Pictures ~ (June 14, 2005)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bette classic ., 8 Feb 2008
This review is from: Mr. Skeffington [1944] (DVD)
The previous review says it all ! . A fabulous film that takes you through all the emotions . Top class performances from Bette Davis and Claude Rains , with good support from George Brent . One of my favourite Bette Davis films .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Skeffington [1944] (DVD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, 25 Jun 2014
This review is from: Mr. Skeffington [1944] (DVD)
Great classic film which hasn't been easy to find for region 2. This disc was original quality and I would order again from this supplier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Skeffington DVD, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Skeffington [1944] (DVD)
This is a Birthday Gift for a friend and I am sure they will enjoy it more than I. Was delived on time by DPD always polite friendly could not thank them enough for their service, many thanks again amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Skeffington [1944] (DVD)
I had remembed the last few minutes of this movie from when I was a child growing up in the sixties. I was not disappointed watching it again. The story line, like many from the era, is not exactly crdible, but the film gives you a nice warm feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bette & the suitors, 17 May 2014
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Skeffington [1944] (DVD)
I love and admire Bette Davis more than I can say, but there are limits.
In a succession of ever more flamboyant dresses and outrageous wigs, Bette Davis plays Fanny, a pretty, coquettish socialite who has more suitors after her than she can shake a stick at.
Then the wealthy eponymous gentleman comes into her life, at the same time as her feckless beloved brother is at the end of his tether as well as his ill-gotten finances. So she becomes Mrs Skeffington...
Mr S is Jewish, which is not alluded to that much, though the fact is a constant underlying theme in this 1944 movie directed erratically (and under much duress) by the none too distinguished Vincent Sherman, with lush, overly intrusive music by Franz Waxman.
Anything with Bette Davis in it is worth watching, and she scales heights of Grand Guignol here, out-camping anyone you can think of. To be brutally honest, at times she is way over the top. But she`s never less than riveting, as all around her turn in good to excellent performances, particularly a suave, underplaying Claude Rains as Mr S - Bette loved working with Rains, as indeed who wouldn`t? - but also the underrated Walter Abel, superb as a loyal friend, and a rare sighting of George Coulouris, terrific in a cameo role as an impatient doctor. His scene with Bette is amusing and welcome.
Marjorie Riordan gives the role of her daughter just the right hint of impudent docility, and Warner Bros stalwart Jerome Cowan is, as always, good value as the most rogueish of the suitors.
It`s an unconscionably long film at almost two and a half hours. It could and should have been shorter, and paced better. But Bette was playing up on set more than usual (which is saying something) and for once must take the blame for part of the ensuing mayhem. Her (own) make-up after she contracts diphtheria has to be seen to be believed. Even then, it may well haunt your dreams.
Don`t get me wrong, this is actually a crazily fascinating forties melodrama, with some intriguing themes and variations, with Bette sweeping all before her in a performance that`s almost literally out of this world - but in comparison with, say, The Letter or The Great Lie, this is far less of an achievement from all concerned.
Goodness, all these five-star reviews! Really? I feel like a killjoy, but as a Bette buff, I`d rather be a discerning than uncritical fan.

Well worth watching, especially for lovers of the great lady, but honestly, it`s too long and just too mad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr. Skeffington [1944]
Mr. Skeffington [1944] by Vincent Sherman (DVD)
£4.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews