Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As of the end of 2007, simply one of the best action titles available on wii!
I have owned this game now since February. It is now December, and whilst I can see the complaints from the one star reviews, I must laugh at the tendency to blame their ineptitude at a fantastic game on the fact that you have to actually try to complete it.

I used to think Prince of Persia was a good game series, but nothing more. On the PS2 it was a cool...
Published on 27 Nov 2007 by Mrs. J. M. Simpkin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An okay game
A missed opportunity in what could have been a good game instead ends up just an okay game with some very irritating flaws.The game plays a little like Shadowman or the Legend of Kain series with some nice touches that are spoiled by vague controls and other niggles.The graphics are very average,I think this is mainly due to it being a PS 2 conversion,the game lacks...
Published on 21 Dec 2008 by Mr. Gm Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As of the end of 2007, simply one of the best action titles available on wii!, 27 Nov 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prince Of Persia: Rival Swords (Wii) (Video Game)
I have owned this game now since February. It is now December, and whilst I can see the complaints from the one star reviews, I must laugh at the tendency to blame their ineptitude at a fantastic game on the fact that you have to actually try to complete it.

I used to think Prince of Persia was a good game series, but nothing more. On the PS2 it was a cool concept but the control system just lacked the chance to really get into the game. Never previous to, or since completing this edition of Two Thrones have I felt so absolutely a part of the game.

One reviewer states that the wii controls are badly implemented. I wholly disagree. It was in fact, the wii controls that had me play this from start to finish, even when I occasionally died and had to repeat some sections, which apparently means a game is rubbish? Personally I think that makes the player rubbish, and indeed has me going back to play it from time to time, relishing in how much you really do get the impression that you ARE the prince.

This is especially so as the dark prince, as how you swing your wiimote directly affects how the prince swings the whip. I was really surprised with how many different combos you could learn to pull off given how disgustingly disappointing Ubisoft's prior game Red Steel's attempt at sword fighting, where you could kick the remote around on the floor and win. This is also brings m to address the point made by the same aforementioned reviewer who disliked the 'time limit' style of the dark princes sections. Yes, this can be frustrating when you're almost at the goal and don't QUITE make it, but persevere. My advice is to try a few times with the intention of failing, so that you can slowly plan out your route around the area with the most efficiency. Do this, and you will complete the section with oodles of sand/time left!

That said, this isn't a game without a few niggles. I note another reviewer who slated the game gave up after the first boss, and I will say that on my first play through, I almost did the same. In case you are reading this Mr. Reviewer, the remote action is very simple when you get the hang of it.. albeit badly described within the game itself, a fact that on occasions (mostly bosses) can become slightly frustrating, but as with any game you can't beat, try taking a break, then going back to it later with a different approach - you might find it becomes very rewarding.

My only other niggle, which prevents the game from being five stars is.. yes.. it's a port. The graphics are of a PS2 level, something which the wii sees too much of, when it can handle so much more. They are not unsightly, but adding HDTV mode to the experience does little to improve anything. In fact, in HDTV mode on my plasma I was able to pick out far more graphical glitches and pixilation issues than on standard 50/60hz modes. Graphics aside, many long time gamers have in fact already played this exact adventure, numerous times, and to you I suggest, avoid this, it offers nothing new but controls. However, to any wii owner who is lacking a challenging game and wants to get really involved, this is without a doubt, one of my favourite wii titles to date, and I sorely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's got a bad rep BUT......, 16 Jun 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prince Of Persia: Rival Swords (Wii) (Video Game)
If you read the box it does say play The Two Thrones adventure on Wii. The bad reviews for this game are a little harsh they all knock it down because the reviewer had played the game before (underits previous name-The Two Thrones), and perhaps it was stupid for ubisoft to changed the name and confuse people BUT all that does not take from the game. If you look at the game by itself (best done if you havent played the two thrones) then there is no denying that Rival swords is amazing. Great gameplay, great game, great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prince Of Persia: Rival Swords (Wii) (Video Game)
Very excellent game and by a large-semi of the film we saw and recommended buy
So enjoy with the playing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A+++, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prince Of Persia: Rival Swords (Wii) (Video Game)
Got this for my kids and they seemed to enjoy it very much. Arrived promptly with no fuss. so big thumbs up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prince Of Persia: Rival Swords (Wii) (Video Game)
This has kept my grandson quite for the past two days. Would recommend for any child aged 6 up and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars been better, 17 Jun 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prince Of Persia: Rival Swords (Wii) (Video Game)
the game was good on the xbox and the ps2 but there was way to much to do with it on the wii i dont know what happened but they turned a gd game into a pile of poo dont get it on the wii stick to the ps2 or xbox versions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An okay game, 21 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. Gm Smith "grahamsmith61" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prince Of Persia: Rival Swords (Wii) (Video Game)
A missed opportunity in what could have been a good game instead ends up just an okay game with some very irritating flaws.The game plays a little like Shadowman or the Legend of Kain series with some nice touches that are spoiled by vague controls and other niggles.The graphics are very average,I think this is mainly due to it being a PS 2 conversion,the game lacks polish and sparkle,compare it to a Nintendo game like Zelda and the flaws become blinding and grating all the more,it just has a feeling of forget the quality,just churn them out as with so many PS 2 games.
When I first got the game I read the instructions & noted the variety of move combinations,which seemed unlimited but forget that as like many other fighting games,instead of bashing all the buttons,with it being the Wii you just shake the remote like a madman with maracas and hope for the best.This draws us to the other flawed part of the game,the "speed kill",a clever idea,if not original,but badly executed.It involves "stabbing" the remote at the correct moment as the game goes into a cutscene in order to perform the kill.Unfortunatly this seems to have more to do with luck than timing as the connection between the Wii remote and the action is vague at best,you can check the wii remote batteries all you like.
Another common flaw on these games,especially this one,is the crappy camera,at times it swings about wildly,nearly inducing dizzines,and it never seems to be in the right place,very annoying on a platform jumper.
I've yet to play a 3D game with a camera as good as Super Mario64 and that was 12 years ago so I'm sure they could do it now if the programmers could be bothered.
On the plus side,the music is quite good and contolling the Dark Prince is quite good.
All in all an ok game,but dont pay full whack for it,it'll pass a few hours on a dark winter night,just dont expect to much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Prince Of Persia : Rival Swords, 5 May 2007
By 
Mr. David Ferguson "Wii Ferg" (Motherwell, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prince Of Persia: Rival Swords (Wii) (Video Game)
This game is really just the wii equivelant of the third Prince of Persia game,"The Two Thrones". I gave it 3 stars overall because when I realised this I kinda felt cheated. Although with the use of the Wii controls, its a new game entirley. I loved all three of the previous games and now you get the chance to slice and dice your way through the game while you cut shapes in the living room :)

I havent played it for too long but when you get started its hard to stop as the story line has a tendancy to hook you in, aswell as the new control system.

The new control system is simple and wont take long to get the basics down. The attacking controls are unique also, as you use the nunchuck as your secondary sword, which allows you to bust out plenty of combos. The camera control can be a bit tricky. To move the camera around the Prince you just need to tilt the control left or right. It will take a little time to get used to it but when you do its great.

Dont expect there to be a load of extra features. The makers have mixed up the chariot racing section a little but I have yet to get that far :).

It is pretty much the same as "The Two Thrones", but definitley a must have for your game collection for its uniqueness. Play it long enough and you'll think you'll be able to win any sword fight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Identical to the two thrones, 5 April 2007
By 
Alan R. Hakin (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prince Of Persia: Rival Swords (Wii) (Video Game)
So they've changed the title and put a different picture on the cover, but if you have played Prince of Persia: The Two Thrones you'll know exactly wht happens next because it's the same game.

Obviously the gameplay is different and it's still great fun to play.

But when you already know what happens it takes the edge off, and kind of defeats the point!

If you haven't played the two thrones I would highly recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very annoying game, save your money, buy something else., 6 Oct 2007
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prince Of Persia: Rival Swords (Wii) (Video Game)
This is the kind of game where you die all the time and you can only save yourself at predetermined places in the game which you return to every time you die. As a result you'll find yourself playing the same part of the game over and over again, running the same gauntles, fighting the same enemies over and over and over again. BORING!!!

But wait, there's more. I've just become the "Dark Prince", the princes' evil alter ego. When you're the Dark Prince you have to constantly seek out items with "sand points" which replenishes your life energy, which otherwise drains away automatically. Should you be so unwise as to stand still for 30 seconds without replenishing your life energy, YOU DIE again, and it's back to the last save again and again and again. I cannot stress enough how irritating and idiotic this game is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prince Of Persia: Rival Swords (Wii)
Prince Of Persia: Rival Swords (Wii) by Ubisoft (Nintendo Wii)
24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews