Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, queasy, nasty and great fun, with fine performances by Elliott Gould and Christopher Plummer
Miles Cullen (Elliott Gould) is a somewhat meek, thoughtful bank clerk who turns out to have unsuspected depths of resourcefulness and questionable morality. Harry Reikle (Christopher Plummer), a bank robber, is definitely not meek. He's just as resourceful as Miles but also is a murderous psychopath with a taste for beating women. When Harry says to Miles, "One night...
Published on 22 Jun 2007 by C. O. DeRiemer

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Silent Partner
Unfortunately this DVD had to be returned as I could not watch it on my DVD player. The DVD was a US version. I have had a refund thank you.
Published 16 months ago by Hazel Carvey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars silent partner, 25 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. I.V. Creeper "igor" (who knows, england,uk ?) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Silent Partner [DVD] [1978] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
when i first saw this film, quite a few years ago, Mr. Plummer left an indelible impression upon me. Great film, wonderful acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good thriller, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Partner [DVD] [1978] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I always think of Christopher Plummer as Captain Von Trapp in "The Sound of Music", a film I've watched once and I forget things such as "The Royal Hunt of the Sun" and "Murder by Decree". I don't think of him as a psycho lowlife but,boy, watch "The Silent Partner" and think again!

This is a great little thriller set in Canada for a change and not New York, L.A etc.You've got Elliot Gould as the bank teller who,realising that the bank is going to be robbed plans a neat little trick and outsmarts the thief and nets himself $50,000.Hey so far so good.The problem is the robber(the abovementioned Christopher Plummer) is not a happy man to say the least and it soon becomes apparent that he is not going to take "No" for an answer when he wants the money.

Also with the lovely Susannah York and a young John Candy this builds nicely towards the climax. No car chases,big shoot-outs or Jason Bourne style fights.If you are a fish lover watch Elliot Gould aquarium.This is one to watch.
As mentioned elsewhere ignore the "Resevoir Dogs" style dvd cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why isn't this on region 2 ?, 31 Dec 2011
By 
S. Derrick "sderrick" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silent Partner [DVD] [1978] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I remember watching this on late night TV some 20 years ago and its remained with me ever since. Nice twist on the usual heist story line. Christopher Plummer is genuinely evil...watch out for the letter box scene!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Silent Partner, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Partner [DVD] [1978] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Unfortunately this DVD had to be returned as I could not watch it on my DVD player. The DVD was a US version. I have had a refund thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cannot play it, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Partner [DVD] [1978] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I'm disappointed because it does not work on my DVD player, so therefore I have not seen it. Waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a disapointment!!!!!, 19 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Partner [DVD] [1978] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Bought for my dad-couldnt play on his dvd or any dvd ok if you live in usa,tried to unblock,doesnt work,why sell a useless dvd amazon-very upset!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silent Partner [DVD] [1978] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£3.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews