Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imaginative, tight, and unique., 18 Mar 2004
This review is from: Demanufacture (Audio CD)
I am usually drawn to the work of the most skilled, (and often heavy), guitarists, like Vinnie Moore, Tony Macalpine, Michael Romeo, Michael Angelo, Steve Vai, Jason Becker, etc., but I borrowed this from a housemate, having heard it many years ago but having forgot about it. I was totally amazed at how brilliant this album is. There is certainly no guitar soloing but the whole band seem to have a watertight vision and they work like a machine towards achieving it. But in addition to this, every single song on the album is a classic in its own right, and each one is totally distinctive, (with the possible exception of the last song which basically summarises the vision of the whole album). There are influences from The Terminator here, (on H.K. [hunter killer] which is actually what a terminator is the latest version of in the story, and a sample from the movie can be heard in the song "the war against the machines"); in fact I think that The Terminator could have been one of the main inspirations of the band in general and may have been the main inspiration for the album, (and maybe the band name, seeing as in the first film [and the only one that I like] it is implicitly told that the robots build other robots, and these 'factories' might have been the inspiration for the band name... but either way, fear factory is a great name for a band and suits their vision well). The singer has two 'personalities', like Jeckyll and Hyde. Often he sounds like an orc grunting, (which is very effective in fact and true to the atmosphere and drama of the songs), but he then shifts, (with absolutely no transition, so it sounds like another singer), to one of the best singing voices that I have heard, not unlike Kurt Cobain only better. Another great feature of the album is the unbelievably fast drumming, (particularly the trilled cymbols), and the stylish palm-muted rhythm 'shredding' that often accompanies it. This is not a naive album by people with no vision; this is an incredibly tight album and extremely imaginative. I just wish that I sounded less dogmatic in offering all these adulations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bona-fide, nineties classic., 5 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Demanufacture (Audio CD)
This album is an absolute classic. There is nothing else on the market that sounds like it. It has Fear Factory stamped all over it. The only album to compare it to is Slayer's "Reign in Blood" - not in sound but in the same way that Slayer defined eighties thrash with that album, Fear Factory have defined nineties extreme metal. The opening title track pummels the listener with a Dino Cazares riff-from-hell and a groove that's heavy, yet strangely accessible. "Self-bias Resistor" follows and is in my opinion the best track on the album, with Burton C.Bell's hardcore bellow underscored by a melodic chorus and machine gun-like drums, courtesy of Raymond Herrera. Every song on here is brilliant, from the pounding techno-metal of "New Breed" through to the atmospheric grind of "A Therapy for Pain" - No fillers here, thank you very much! A genre-defining album, the only problem is how to top it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fururistic metal in its purity!, 28 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Demanufacture (Audio CD)
This is my ultimate all time favourite metal album of all time, this defines Fear Factoty to be one of the best metal bands of the 90's. Everything from the chugging staccato ripping of 'Self Bias Resistor', or the popular drum-smacking of 'Replica' makes this album brilliant! But to me, the whole genius lies in the absolutely spectacular 'Zero Signal', it is 6 whole minutes of onslaught hellatic guitar riffs and mesmerising insdustrial sounds and clashes that made it into the greatest and most memorable metal song I have ever heard! Not to mention, other songs like 'Demanufacture' with its hardcore bellowing and the mosh-frenzy 'Body Hammer' which is, to be simply said, too damn cool! Buy this! Regardless of an other people might say. If you want to start liking Fear factory this is how you start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demanufacture [RR 25th Anniversary Remaster], 19 Feb 2006
By 
Calum Fairweather "ccalumf" (Huntly, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fear Factory: one of the most memorable industrial metalists to ever make such an impact on the world of metal. And never forgetting at the same time what an impact their recent remaster DEMANUFACTURE has made on tons of fans worldwide. This was one of the most wanted CD's on my list and I just had to get it, because of the music and the package.
DEMANUFACTURE is maybe the most stressful record that's been made, considering it cost over twice of what it was budgeted for. And also, it took a long time to record and be delivered! So no wonder everyone was freaking over it! But this is a newly remastered special edition with 2 CD's with rare remixes, outtakes, exclusive artwork and extensive liner notes. Which fans will love to get their hands on.
But now, it seems as if DEMANUFACTURE could've been released today,because of its futuristic and techno input, mixed altogether with a great metal sound and vocals from FF. The songs are almost all great or near fantastic. The futuristic sound effects are really "Boost-ups" if you now what I mean.
The title track, "Self Bias Resistor," "Zero Signal," "Replica," "New Breed," the covered song, "Dog Day Sunrise," and "Body Hammer" are the best songs which make this album and FF outstanding, all you need to do is read this, buy the CD, and be amazed.
But other good songs like the last three songs "H-K (Hunter-Killer)," "Pisschrist" and "A Therapy For Pain" are almost as good as the first seven songs, which altogether make up DEMANUFACTURE (but, oowwwww, wait for the bonus tracks, they're rarities too!)
There is also a bonus CD I almost forgot to mention, called REMANUCATURE (Cloning Technology), this CD contains remixes of almost all the songs on DEMANUFACTURE. This, by the way, has got me into techno music and I didn't seem to like it very much, but after listening to FEAR IS THE MINDKILLER and REMANUFACTURE through and through, I've came out with a new style of music. Also on these CD's are rare bonus tracks and one previously unreleased song which are all good enough to celebrate RR 25th Anniversary along with Roadrunner United: The All Star Sessions! A must have for all Fear Factory fans.
Describing FF's performance on this record is OK, Burton C Bell has done the best vocals he has ever done. Dino Cazares has made tons of superb riffs, but at the time of recording, annoyed the producer Colin Richardson, who banned him from the mixing of DEMANUFACTURE in London, England. Christian Olde Wolbers was the bass guitarist at the time, and joined FF when Evan Seinfeld from Biohazard told him FF needed a bass player. His best bass riffs are on the song "Flashpoint". Raymond Herrera has remained strong throughout this album with his drumming. Somehow, i believe that his drumming has became more faster in my opinion.
DEMANUFACTURE has obviously signposted a brave new world of metal, so get it all you FF fans everywhere! This album is #1 on my list of favourite albums of 2005, so should yours!
~ Calum Fairweather (Fear Factory fan)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Near perfect metal, 5 Sep 2003
This review is from: Demanufacture (Audio CD)
Often hailed as one of the all-time greatest metal albums by fans and critics alike, 'Demanufacture' is the best album of Fear Factory's careers.
Following the industrial-influenced death metal of 'Soul of a New Machine', and preceding the increasingly commercial 'Obsolete' and 'Digimortal', 'Demanufacture' sees the band getting all the elements just right. The aggressiveness of the debut remains, but with an altogether more polished production job and greater sense of melody (only not to the extent of later albums).
Besides the lyrical content of the album, the music too has quite a futuristic, sci-fi ambience to it, often leading to it being branded as cyber metal. The album caries a machine-like precision, particularly through the machinegun drumming of Raymond Herrera and Dino Cazares' pounding guitars. On top of this we have Burton C Bell's vicious vocals. Despite the drums being continually hammered even through the most tuneful sections, there are often times where melodic riffs and some excellent, soulful singing emerge from the music. The addition of samples and keyboards often provides the music with haunting atmospherics and Christian Olde Wolbers' bass adds extra depth to the proceedings.
There are so many superlatives that could be used in describing the album. Each track offers a unique experience, and many of them are classics (none are below average). On the basis of this timeless album, Fear Factory will always be remembered as true innovators of the metal genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest metal album of all time?, 30 April 2003
By 
L. Kelly (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Demanufacture (Audio CD)
People, do yourself a favour and buy this album now. Forget the rest of this review, go get your credit card and buy now!
From the opening salvo of the epnonymous title track to the cold, haunting atmospherics of 'A Therapy For Pain' this album is simply a masterpiece of modern metal. Breakneck guitar riffs played with both precision and power; awesome powerhouse drumming; vicious basslines and throat-shredding vocals which belie the emotive lyrics of singer, Burton C Bell.
Standout tracks include the now classic 'Replica' and 'Self Bias Resistor' - two slabs of truly teutonic metal.
For any discerning fan of intelligent, heavy music this is a must for their CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A relentless, passionate album, 29 Dec 2001
By 
Craig Pruess "Craig Pruess" (Stroud England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Demanufacture (Audio CD)
A cyber- death metal masterpiece, a towering cult figure in creative genius.
The driving force behind this music is absolutely awe-inspiring. Never before have I heard anger focussed into music with such precision, maturity and dexterity. I feel Fear Factory peaked at this time, and couldn't quite keep that unique spark of inspiration alive in later albums. Inevitably the band has greatly improved at their instruments since this album (that out of time break on the hihat on Self Bias Resistor always makes me chuckle), but the sheer creative brilliance of this album will go down in history.
The subject of the songs is mainly Burton's anger and frustration at the order of society, especially the government (eg "...maligned and despaired by government lies..."), and scientific communities, and religious dogmas . The album as always also carries the Terminator message, warning us of a potential future where we are slaves to the machine.
A lot to swallow in one go; but the sign of a masterpiece is that it never dulls. There is so much in this album, it is so intricate, there is always more to be discovered.
My favourite tracks are Demanufacture, Zero Signal and Pisschrist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gary Numan for the Motorhead fan, 28 Sep 2005
By 
Mr. D. A. Cure "Sir Danalot" (Droitwich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Demanufacture (Audio CD)
There was a time before the late 90's when some bands actually combined heaviness and melody and dint get into the MTV charts every week. With the release of this album, Fear Factory demonstrated not only their incredible talent for sound and precision, but the record industry's complete lack of ability to showcase the right music. This rivals anything Metallica and Pantera have don't in terms of absolute technical and recording precision, and really combines the genres of industrial, death metal and even pop (check out the harmonies in the vocal choruses). A great metal album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern thrash rubbish at its finest, 19 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Demanufacture (Audio CD)
'Soul of a New Machine' was a fairly promising debut, blending death metal with industrial samples and overtones. However, 'Demanufacture' marks a stunning and remarkable leap for one of the best and most original metal outfits of the nineties.
By now Fear Factory had gotten rid of most of the death metal and embraced a more thrash-orientated direction, which actually makes for a more powerful attack as it is much more focused. It is often written about FF taking lyrical influence from stuff like 'Terminator' and it actually SOUNDS like this album is played by cyborgs - the tightness and precision is inhumanly precise, and this is what made Fear Factory unique. Listen to the way the downtuned guitars, bass and Herrara's AWESOME double-kick drums meld into one entity, and be blown away by the battering-ram like power.
Combine this with Burton's roaring/angelic vocals (probably the best he's ever recorded) and the haunting synth and piano lines (Zero Signal) and you have one of the heaviest and most original, not to say down-right finest metal albums recorded EVER. They will be sadly missed.
Post modernist avant guardist fusion at its most decadent. Magnifique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Fear Factory album ever!, 31 Aug 2009
By 
Richard Collins "Vindikate" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Demanufacture (Audio CD)
This album is quite possibly one of the most original heavy metal albums of the 1990's. If you take Herrera's pounding drums, backed up with Wolbers' bass, cazares' riffmastery on that 7 string of his, and bell's diverse vocals you get one adrenalin pumping, bone crushing, awesome record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Demanufacture [VINYL]
Demanufacture [VINYL] by Fear Factory (Vinyl - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews