Customer Reviews


267 Reviews
5 star:
 (146)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most entertaining summer blockbusters to date!
If you want an action packed movie then look no further, for this is surely one of the most fun films ive seen probably since Independence Day. It does exactly what it promises and delivers more action than the whole Spiderman trilogy put together. The film is about a war between robots on Earth so you'll have to suspend your disbelief for just two hours in order to...
Published on 19 Sep 2007 by Adam Clarke

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty but dull
Yeah this movie sure is pretty........
Unfortionately it could have been so much more. If you're gonna take such a much loved concept like the transformers, it demands having an epic plot. But just like the x-men trilogy, the plot is soo forgettable. After a while I really didn't care what the story was about. The only thing keeping me watching was the colours...
Published on 27 Dec 2007 by Gareth Holloway


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most entertaining summer blockbusters to date!, 19 Sep 2007
If you want an action packed movie then look no further, for this is surely one of the most fun films ive seen probably since Independence Day. It does exactly what it promises and delivers more action than the whole Spiderman trilogy put together. The film is about a war between robots on Earth so you'll have to suspend your disbelief for just two hours in order to enjoy. Plus, you'll be surprised how funny it is at the same time, with great supporting acts from John Turturo and Bernie Mac.
In short, this is the quintessential big, loud, dumb summer action movie many of us have been waiting for and is thunderously entertaining. Also loved the last half hour, which is simply non-stop action as a number of city blocks get destroyed while the war wages on between the bots.

The Double disk dvd is also sure to please the fans with bonus features that include:

Disc 1:
- Commentary by Michael Bay

Disc 2:

>>OUR WORLD<<
-- The Story Sparks - Steven Spielberg discusses his love for the
franchise and early concept art for the film. Explores how the
writers adapted the cartoon into a live-action movie and why
Michael Bay is the perfect director for the film.
-- Human Allies - A look at how the actors were selected and their
experiences on the set.
-- I Fight Giant Robots - An exploration of the military training
that Josh Duhamel and Tyrese Gibson underwent for their roles
and the various stunts that the actors were asked to perform.
-- Battleground - A piece on the senior officials from the
Department of Defense and Air Force who consulted on the film
to give it authenticity and the key locations that the U.S.
government provided access to.

>>THEIR WORLD<<
-- Rise of the Robots - Explores the interaction between Hasbro
designers and Michael Bay to bring the toy line roaring to life.
-- AUTOBOTS Roll Out - Michael Bay discusses working with Chevy and
its designers and the modifications that were made to the cars
seen in the film.
-- DECEPTICONS Strike - The film's military advisors discuss the
"toys" they allowed the production to borrow: F-22 Raptors,
Ospreys and A-10 Warthogs.
-- Inside the AllSpark - ILM's digital artists discuss the
challenges of bringing the TRANSFORMERS to life.

>>MORE THAN MEETS THE EYE<<
-- From Script to Sand: The SKORPONOK Desert Attack - An in-depth
look at the making of this particularly epic and challenging
scene from initial storyboarding through production and visual
effects.
-- Concepts - Early sketch concepts of the robots.
-- Trailers

VERDICT: Highly recommended film and a worthy looking DVD purchase for the fans - 5 STARS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robots in berserker blockbuster disguise., 25 Nov 2010
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transformers (2007) [DVD] (DVD)
Transformers is directed by Michael Bay and written by John Rogers, Roberto Orci & Alex Kurtzman. Based on the Transformers toy line the plot sees Shia LaBeouf as Sam Witwicky, a teenager who gets involved in a war between the heroic Autobots and the evil Decepticons, two factions of alien robots who can disguise themselves by transforming into everyday machinery. Also involved in the carnage are Megan Fox, John Turturro, Josh Duhamel, Tyrese Gibson, Peter Cullen, Hugo Weaving, John Voight & Mark Ryan.

With a production budget of around $150 million, Transformers went on to make almost $710 million worldwide. That is some hefty figures, almost as hefty as the mighty Transformer robots that dazzle and wreak mayhem up on the screen. The plot of course is bonkers, but is anyone seriously watching this expecting high end literacy? The out-shot ultimately is Good Robots Versus Bad Robots, with humans either in the way or aiding the Autobots to save mankind. There's been plenty written about the film, both good and bad. From the quite brilliant transforming sequences to the rather staid dialogue; to the wry observations on the world we now find ourselves in, Transformers has got plenty for the critics and film watchers to ponder. As popcorn summer blockbusters go, it's one of the most fun in recent times; and the box office figures tell you that it found a considerably large and appreciative audience. Great "brain checked at the door" entertainment it is, then. But crucially, it's not just for the kids to enjoy, it happens to be a fully rounded family treat. Go bots! 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Talking robots blow stuff up in big explosions, 9 Sep 2007
This review is from: Transformers (2007) [DVD] (DVD)
To enjoy this film you need to remove all common sense from your brain, open your eyes and wait for the explosions.

Any film based on talking robots that have existed in cartoon and toy form is going to be aimed squarely at kids. Yet still Bay still manages to hit the geek audience that wants to see a truck beating down a fighter jet.

This is big budget, it looks expensive, the transformer fx are something else and appear from start to finish. There are issues as with most Bay films. There are too many story threads and little logic in what happens... but who cares.

If you liked Armageddon or Independance Day this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall, extremely enjoyable, 23 Sep 2007
This review is from: Transformers (2007) [DVD] (DVD)
First off let me state I am *NOT* a fan of the 80's Transformers. Even as a kid I never got into it, and the retro factor doesn't work me. I keep reading reviews from die hard fans who slate this for not being 'true to the original'. I have a few things to say to the biased people:

The moment I saw a 30 foot robot turn into a handheld pistol, I would of walked. Some things are acceptable in cartoons, this isn't acceptable in modern films. The cartoon versions would of looked rediculous if they were ported straight into this, and the constant Saturday morning cartoon villain vs hero archetype would NOT have worked. Basically what the old school fans wanted was the original Transformers film from the 80's to have a sequel. Average joe does not want to have to immerse himself in hundreds of hours of cartoons, comics, and toys just to understand a film. Get over it. Like many remakes nowadays, this HAD to evolve, like Spider-Man, X-men, Superman and Batman Begins. It's a 'reinvention' of a classic, not a remake.

Regardless of all of that, I was extremely excited about this film. I have no idea why, I can't explain it. Each trailer did just enough to whet the appetite, without giving away huge chunks of the overall experience (as is often a problem nowadays). With that said, I went into the cinema with low expectations, and was shocked and amazed in the best possible way.

Quick synopsis: the Transformers are a race of advanced robotic life forms from a planet outside of our solar system. They have been struggling with a civil war for thousands of years between two factions: Autobots, led by the heroic Optimus Prime, and the Decepticons, who are headed up by the evil Megatron. Both factions have to come to Earth in search of the Allspark, the cube that creates their form of life. The good guys want to keep it safe and restore their world with it, and the bad guys... well they wanna do bad guys things with it.

Transformers is one of those films you can just enjoy. You don't need to sit down and really think hard, read between the lines, or listen to commentary on the DVD afterward to fully understand. Bottom line - its a double barrel shotgun-o-fun aimed directly at your brain.

The first thing you have to do (and this helps) is suspend belief. At its core, this is quite simply a cartoon transfered and updated for the big screen. The robots have emotions, expressions, and yes, they have eye lids and lips. Not a big deal. I found this to be a bonus, as I loved some of the more comedic scenes involving the Autobots.

The cast is both the films strongest point and its weakest. Shia LaBeouf and Megan Fox give excellent performances, whereas some of the scenes with Anthony Anderson and John Turturro are just plain annoying. I don't blame the actors at all, but more the fact that they had these terribly stereotypical roles to fill and had bad dialogue given to them.

Another problem is that this jam packed cast can make it feel like it's taking too many directions at once. You literally jump between scenes involving different sub plots involving Sam and Mikaela (Shia/Megan), the army guys, then to the hackers and the secretary of defense, and then suddenly back to the kids. The end result works, with all of the characters being involved in the final scenes together in some way or form, but it does make for a fairly exhausting track for your mind to stay on.

The robots are simply mind blowing. The CGI involved in this film was handled by ILM, famous for the work on Star Wars, and it shows just how far they've come from the 70's using stop motion techniques. One quote mentioned that 'Ironhide has more working graphical parts on his two cannons than some of the other robots have on their entire body', and it shows. The care and attention to detail is incredible, especially given the fact that these guys had a budget half of Spider-Man 3, which was overall a sub par film by way of effects (and in general, in my opinion).

Michael Bay is notorious for his use of 'big boom' work. He fills his films with as much real carnage as possible, using any excuse to blow stuff up. In this film? It works. Every vehicle shot is 100% real, without the use of added effects. From Humvees being thrown around in explosions to collisions on a highway. Even when the robots are duking it out and smashing up civilization in the process, it looks and feels real.

The only thing I can really complain about is it's length. It is a long film. That's not a problem to me, but I know a lot of people that I could show this film too that would become bored extremely easily during its filler segments. I also have a feeling it could of done with being made even longer, in a way - the robots didn't get as much screen time as the fans would of liked, but I suspect that was Spielbergs influence as producer, as he is all about earth shattering events revolving around a handful of people.

Bottom line? At the very least rent it. I got excited from a franchise I cared very little about, and it's totally turned me into a Transformers fan for life.

And don't get a pirate copy or a downloaded version - this film can only be done justice in full juicy glory of DVD quality. If you have HD capability, I envy you, because I think this may be the ideal film for some serious eyeball candy.

Extra tip: Watch after the credits roll for a sneaky bit of extra footage, leaving the film open for an almost certain sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HD-DVD, Roll Out!, 1 Nov 2007
By 
G. M. Rhoades (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transformers [HD DVD] (HD DVD)
Like the reviewer above I managed to get a copy of this disk from the US where it has been out for a couple of weeks now. Never a great fan of the transformers toys when I was growing up I was skeptical about the film until I saw it in the cinema and was totally blown away.
The HD-DVD version I watched last night was superior to the cinema in every way. Projected onto a 106 inch screen the picture was truly magnificent - vivid hues, good contrast, and pin sharp definition. The amount of detail visible on this transfer is simply stunning; it really shows off the films high production values.
Likewise sound is also very good, with a good dynamic range that allows you to hear the dialogue but doesn't blow your speakers when the explosions start happening.
Many reviews of the film have complained that it is difficult in the action sequences to tell one robot from another - not with this version. The transformers are utterly convincing, each scratch and speck of dust on their metal bodies is visible, and the amount of detail the filmmakers put into the robots is nothing short of unbelievable - when you can see it as you can with this disk.
Some die hard fans of the toys and old cartoons find things in the film that disappoint them (such as Optimus Prime having flames painted on him) but that is inevitable. For most people this is a fantastic action film that as long as you do not take it too seriously (and lets face it the plot does have several holes) will not disappoint - if you want to see giant robots demolishing buildings, chucking tanks around and generally knocking the stuffing out of each other, this film is for you.
There is an extras disk yet, but I've got to watch the film again before I get to that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bring the rain!, 5 Dec 2007
By 
Taz Ahmad (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
The most enjoyable movie for many a year, wonderfully transferred to DVD with an adequate bunch of bonus features.

However...the big disappointment is that this ISN'T the complete extended cut as was shown exclusively in IMAX cinemas.

The omitted scenes:-

1. Sam turns up at his friend's house in his new car.

2. Extended conversation between Sam and drugged-up detective in police station.

3. Sector 7 chap using a retinal-scanning lie detector device on Sam in the car when questioning him about aliens.

4. Sector 7 chap cracking an Area 51 joke outside the dam before they go in.

5. Sector 7 chap reminding them them how privileged they all are prior to the All-Spark and Energiser-bunny-from-hell scenes.

4. Spec-Ops team leader going into a pawn shop to get radios and being confronted by the owner, an African-American woman with a shotgun.

For some reason two extra scenes WERE left in; the F22 fighter jets pictured taking off to intercept the trespassing helicopter at the start of the film and Frenzy taking out two extra Secret Service guys onboard Air Force One.

Admittedly none of the above affect the plot in any way but i'm the type of fellow who just has to have everything!

So come on Paramount, why couldnt you have at least included them in the extra features? Spoilsports...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty but dull, 27 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: Transformers (2007) [DVD] (DVD)
Yeah this movie sure is pretty........
Unfortionately it could have been so much more. If you're gonna take such a much loved concept like the transformers, it demands having an epic plot. But just like the x-men trilogy, the plot is soo forgettable. After a while I really didn't care what the story was about. The only thing keeping me watching was the colours.
And what's with the final battles? I didn't know what the hell was happening. A tranfsormer runs here, one falls here, one fires a gun ther, one jumps on a building here. The end battle was more like a trailer. Just chopped up images of something that could have been really cool.
And the number one thing that bugs me about this film. All the male fans that trick themselves into liking it just because it would be such a shocking crime against their childhood memories if they didn't like it.
Deep inside I think everyone bar preteens was dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SCI-FI CONVERT, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transformers (2007) [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not really a huge sci-fi fan but found myself rather liking this and the cgi is amazing,I enjoyed this so much I ordered Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (1-Disc) [DVD] I'd definately recommend this if your not a big sci-fi fan and looking for something new this is a great sci-fi action movie to start you off on a new genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply perfect, 23 April 2012
By 
Griesmayer (Wien, Österreich) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Transformers (2007) [DVD] (DVD)
Having re-watched all three Transformers movies to date, the first one is by far the best.

The action, the humor, the plot clarity, and plot advancement, the narration of three alternating storyline points of view (The soldiers in Qatar, the undercover agents working under the U.S. Government and Sam Witwicky) are all spot on, compared to the total mess that the following two movies have become.

Everything sits in place here, the pacing is snappy, the CGI is top notch (1080p is what you will need), the soundtrack is inspiring, there's lots of U.S. military vehicles in action and you also get your fair share of transformer battles.

Most importantly, the film does not rush it. It lets the excitement build before the final showdown. There is a flashback to the early 1900s narrating the discovery Sam's great-grandfather made, Sam, despite being a geek, scoring on Mikaela, her criminal past, the FBI agent brilliantly played by John Turturro, Sam's awkward parents, the arrival of the Transformers, the introduction to their characters, the relationship between Sam and Bumblebee (starting from fear and panic to trust and friendship) ....it has all been executed masterfully. Again, one has to compare this with the total mess that the following two films have become to be able to properly contrast the screenplay of the trilogy and realize just how everything snaps in place in the first movie.

We also have the typical bell curve of excitement that culminates when the big bad guy, Megatron, finally awakes and the clash between him and Optimus Prime, leader of the Autobots, ensues. The ending is also perfect....despite two movies following this one, the ending is not a cliffhanger. In short, you can view the first Transformers as a standalone film.

Michael Bay has managed to perfectly combine action, CGI, story, humor, military and teenage romance into one movie and does not mess up. Unfortunately, this hasn't been the case in the following two Transformers movies, where the pacing gets lost, humor turns to immature toilet jokes and plot clarity goes down the drain.

Thus, the first Transformers truly stands out as a shining gem in the trilogy. A five, out of five, for an amazingly entertaining summer blockbuster!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome action entertainment, 7 Aug 2011
This review is from: Transformers (2007) [DVD] (DVD)
Transformers is an explosive, action packed and exciting film.
The story revolves around Sam Witwicky who ends up buying a car that is actually an extra terrestrial robot from the planet Cybertron, a planet that has been destroyed by a war between the Autobots (the good robots) and the decepticons (the bad robots). In the war a cube called the All Spark was lost, the cube transforms any piece of technology into a robot and the decepticons want it so they can create an army and wipe out the earth.
Michael Bay directs and Steven Speilberg produces and there trademarks are all over this film, from the thrilling action sequences to the absolutely amazing special effects. The transformers are the best special effects i have ever seen in a film and they are so realistic you believe they are actually real. Right from the offset this film delivers big thrills and plenty of explosions and action, Michael Bay treats us to action sequences that send chills down your spine and make you gasp in awe. The acting is also good, Shia LaBeouf is an average joe who ends up being the hero, Megan Fox is the sexy love interest and John Turturro is funny as the secret agent. Whilst some of the humour is strange the vast majority of the script is witty and well written.
I can guarantee you will be entertained by this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Transformers (2007) [DVD]
Transformers (2007) [DVD] by Michael Bay (DVD - 2007)
£2.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews