Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly tamer compared to the original but still fun
Well the story line is as follows.

In the 70's, the boy Billy is born with yellow skin due to a liver disease and his dysfunctional mother rejects him. Later he witnesses his mother and her lover killing his beloved father and burying him in the basement of their house, and he is locked in the attic alone along his childhood. When he is a teenager, he is...
Published 15 months ago by Dr. Horror

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful Remake !!
Firstly i will point out that the original film Black Christmas has always been one of my favourite films,When it was released it was quite an original film.It was one of the first films that went on to be labelled "Slasher Films"- Indeed at the time it was widely stated that later films such as Halloween,Friday 13th etc stole a lot of the idea's from the original Black...
Published on 5 Oct. 2012 by Mr. P. N. Cairns


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful Remake !!, 5 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. P. N. Cairns (Birmingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly i will point out that the original film Black Christmas has always been one of my favourite films,When it was released it was quite an original film.It was one of the first films that went on to be labelled "Slasher Films"- Indeed at the time it was widely stated that later films such as Halloween,Friday 13th etc stole a lot of the idea's from the original Black Christmas. I have had this remake for some time, I have tried many times to watch it all the way through.I have finally watched it all the way through, I feel i have wasted 80 minutes of my life.This film has very poor acting/actors,It also has no atmosphere,I fully admit that the original film may now seem a bit dated but watch the original and take into account that it was at the time of release a very original film and also it is now more than 30 years old.Please watch the original film and give this awful remake a very wide berth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great but not that bad either..., 28 Nov. 2008
By 
This review is from: Black Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
Many compare this film with the film it is a remake of but this condemns black Xmas strait away so dont do that!
The characters are semi-likeable however this film falls into the same deadly pitfall that the descent fell into. You cant tell them apart.Some look almost identical yet some you dont even realize exist until they die.
The plot is grainy. It is obviously following a typical slasher plan however silly and unnecessary things are thrown in just to add lines to the script. The killer having a rare liver disease that made him yellow? Please.
Deaths (this contains spoilers) the deaths in black xmas are very hard to call. Its a pretty sick and engaging idea to half suffocate someone with a bin bag and then stab, or rip out their eyeball but this is good for 1 death scene and is overused (Why the hell is the killer eating eyeballs anyway?) anyway the deaths that dont involve eyeballs or bin bags are decent at best. The icicle through the head gag was priceless but felt out of place as the icicle doesnt fall from very high and isnt that sharp.

In short black xmas is for someone who can sit down in front of a formulaic slasher film and not care about minute plot details. Its an easy movie to sit through but a hard movie to say that you enjoyed afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly tamer compared to the original but still fun, 3 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Black Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
Well the story line is as follows.

In the 70's, the boy Billy is born with yellow skin due to a liver disease and his dysfunctional mother rejects him. Later he witnesses his mother and her lover killing his beloved father and burying him in the basement of their house, and he is locked in the attic alone along his childhood. When he is a teenager, he is sexually abused by his mother and she has a baby girl called Agnes. During Christmas, the deranged Billy escapes from his imprisonment, kills his mother and stepfather and blinds one eye of Agnes. He is declared insane and his sister is sent to an orphanage. In the present days, Billy escapes from the Clark Sanatorium to spend Christmas with his family. Meanwhile, his former house is the Delta Alpha Kappa sorority house in the campus of the Clement University, and the housemother and the sisters Kelli Presley, Dana, Lauren Hannon, Megan, Heather, Megan Helms, Melissa and Eve Agnew are preparing the house for Christmas party in a stormy night.

i would have to say this is one of the better remakes of the stalk and slash films.firstly the acting was pretty darn good and it did not come across low budget or trashy (which some of these remakes have) the kill scenes were pretty decent and it had a slightly different ending compared to the original but i wont spoil it! glen Morgan directed this and in my opinion hes a pretty decent director and writer he was involved in FD1 AND FD3 and there pretty decent movies and the xfiles film which is also pretty cool! i did like the death scenes in this even though they are pretty similar to the original they are still well done with a appropriate amount of gore. one thing that is toned down in this from the original is the language i mean in the original film you hear the word "Cu*T" used alot and to be honest i think that was the first time id ever heard that language in a movie! (not saying its bad) but in the remake the language is pretty toned down which is fair enough!

but anyway id say this is one of the better remakes of a slasher that isant low budget and id say its a must to own for any stalk and slash fan !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars "I'd like to bury the hatchet with my sister. Right in her head!", 12 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
Black Christmas essentially follows the story of the original, whilst adding some very unnecessary characters and replacing atmosphere with gore. It's similar in a way to Rob Zombie's Halloween, in the original we know very little about Michael Myers and it makes the character creepy. The same is done with the Black Christmas remake, instead of knowing very little about Billy, we now have a whole lot of back story that explains who he is and why he's a maniac, taking away all mystery about him. Instead of a faceless killer, we now have a mildly interesting back story that involves incest and cannibalism.

All the things that made the original a classic are now gone, but this film isn't completely terrible. Most of the gore is done well despite the fact it's definitely gratuitous, the acting is pretty good by an almost entirely female cast. Most of the girls are attractive, Mary Elizabeth Winstead is absolutely gorgeous. There's also Michelle Trachtenberg who played Buffy's sister in Buffy The Vampire Slayer, and Katie Cassidy who has now appeared in three horror movie remakes being When A Stranger Calls, A Nightmare On Elm Street and this. There's a brief scene of nudity with a traditional classic horror movie shower scene, also the house mother is played by Andrea Martin who played Phyl in the original.

Many scenes from the original are no longer present, all the stuff outside of the house like the scenes at the police station and the missing girl are left out, and apart from a few scenes at the sanitarium for the criminally insane, the action takes place in the house until the last ten minutes. Most of the deaths seem to be a slight variation on the last, with at least half of the kills being done with a good old-fashioned eye gouge. I give the film a little credit for not just copying the original, but I feel they should have at least attempted to keep the sense of dread and foreboding the original gave us. I personally prefer a sense of dread over blood splatter. I felt the decision to remove some of the characters from the original hurt the film, the boyfriends and police officers gave us the chance to get out of the house and help character development. Most of the girls in the remake are given no back story at all so we don't really care about them.

It's a mildly fun, brainless movie that falls short of the original by some way, but it does have possibly the sexiest cast of women I've seen. Not remotely creepy, but plenty of gore and mildly disturbing scenes with incest and cannibalism. Not much character development, but a cast of strikingly beautiful actresses who perform the bland roles best they can. It's not even close to the brilliant original, but it's a pretty solid effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Christmas Ever, 19 May 2014
By 
D. Laidlaw "nrg jockey" (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
For all you who love this film over the 1974 original can I just say that this rates as one of the WORST remakes I have seen. In 1974 a packed cinema who screamed at bits of the original was much better than the sparse audience of this new version .The story is virtually the same with the exception of Olivia Hussey,but the difference is the gore factor. Gore does not scare! The feeling of the unknown is in this film with a really terrifying voice on the phone , much more effective in the original. Glimpses of "Billy" the killer, the coldness of the choir as Billy commits another murder it all builds into a really good thriller without the drenching of blood in this remake ,and there's none of this-"who's there "as a decapitated head falls out of a car. Maybe I was expecting too much but I saw The Exorcist a few nights before (and we've not had anything that good recently)I saw the original Black Christmas and it has proved that,in a lot of cases we had better horror than the fare of today . See it ,if you must ,but don't expect a creepy version of the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good extremely brutal sorority slasher, 5 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Black Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
In this fantastic remake of Black Christmas, the director sets a totally deranged serial killer after a sorority of girls staying at the his childhood home which has now become a sorority house, over Christmas. It's another decent budget Hollywood remake of an older slasher, and here the director adds background to the killer. However, we're left at no doubt at any stage that the bad guy is completely out of his tree, and that the girls are in big trouble. It's like a barmier, more extreme version of Sorority Row, with some truly astonishingly gruesome gore. The atmosphere is well handled with the tension built up in claustrophobic style, and the ruse of mystery calls is well used. The cast play their parts well, including Buffy cast member Michelle Trachtenberg, and the ending is extremely tense. In all it's a surprisingly high quality, tensely directed and shockingly violent remake that is well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as original!, 2 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Black Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
i seen the original one years ago and i remember that one bein much more scarier. this one however aint to bad. it goes deeper and explains what kinda childhood billy had and it wasnt a very nice one. the killings arent to good and it has to involve billys daughter who like her dad has taken to killing! which i just thought was a bit pointless! still, its a good bit when billy gets his mum back and makes cookies out of her skin!. theres a ringtone that everyone seems to have in the film that really annoys me and even when i hear it elsewhere it still annoys me!. not a bad film tho, but will say get the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas shivers, 7 Dec. 2008
This review is from: Black Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
This is a remake of horror film Black Christmas [1974]. I just got this on a whim last Christmas - the media reviews (from decent sources) weren't fantastic, but I thought I'd give it a go. I was pleasantly surprised. It's a slasher film, but has enough that's different in it to make it more appealing than other current slasher films! It's well done and the story makes more sense than most, which is always a nice bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Remake, 9 Mar. 2009
By 
S. Hacking (Watford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
I was originally quite reluctant to watch yet another "remake" after seeing awful remakes of "The Texas Chain Saw Massacre", "Halloween" and the rest, but thought I would give it a go after reading some good crits on it.
I was pleasantly surprised at this fun remake, expanding slightly on the original but keeping the "psycho in the attic" theme, and was taken along on a fun (and sometimes very gruesome (but funny)) ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor remake, 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Christmas [DVD] (DVD)
I looked forward to this film...As I really enjoyed the original..I am not a remake snob. most are quite good...But this is IMO Rubbish.

Megan, Heather, Megan Helms, Melissa and Eve Agnew are looking forward to a party at the Soriety house, when the derranged Billy, decides to head back to the collage..After that, poor acting and a poor storyline, than gives slasher films, a bad name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews