Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark, Intelligent Stuff For The Edge Of Your Seat
This film suffers because it comes from the same stable as Lock Stock and Snatch. The reason it suffers is that people expect a Lock Stock 3. It isn't. There's a new director in the chair and the film is a lot darker and edgier than the other two.
The first two were black comedies; this one isn't.
This movie won't have large shoot-outs, but what it will have...
Published on 21 Jun 2005 by Amazon Customer

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "How to properly bake a cake. First, shoot the baker"
"Layer Cake" was slightly entertaining but fell flat for me. I still have to give credit to film director Matthew Vaughn for his first feature film. He made a name for himself producing the crime-comedy classics "Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels" and "Snatch". Vaughn abandons the cheeky and comedic nature of those two films and attempts to make a serious crime film...
Published on 27 Jun 2007 by Jenny J.J.I.


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark, Intelligent Stuff For The Edge Of Your Seat, 21 Jun 2005
By 
This film suffers because it comes from the same stable as Lock Stock and Snatch. The reason it suffers is that people expect a Lock Stock 3. It isn't. There's a new director in the chair and the film is a lot darker and edgier than the other two.
The first two were black comedies; this one isn't.
This movie won't have large shoot-outs, but what it will have is a movie with a very strong undercurrent of fear going through the lead's final days in business before he retires. But, retirement is not going to be easy.
Things start to go terribly wrong and one can feel the world coming out from under his feet as events outside of his control are starting to take over and things are going totally wrong.
This is not a film where a grand comical shoot out occurs in the last scenes to leave the anti-heroes (they're all bad bad guys not nice bad guys, remember) with the girl and the loot as in Snatch or Lock Stock. Things have to be resolved their own way.
The acting is wonderful; the characters (hoorah!) don't look like gangsters which is the whole point, despite complaints here to the contrary. The lead characters want to go through life without drawing attention to each other so there's no-one acting like cheap hoodlumns from Central Casting.
There's a couple of wonderful touches and, in one of them, I take my hat off to FCUK for their bravery in one of the early scenes. Wonderful stuff.
In short, a good film. Certainly the best British gangland film made so far; above Long Good Friday (even though nothing will surpass THAT ending) and Get Carter. And, a different film whatsoever to Lock Stock and Snatch.
If you want a film which requires thought then get this one, if you want a Hollywood style mob film with a simplistic plot then get another. This is most certainly not a Saturday night no-brainer movie; this is a classic British film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best British gangster films, 23 Mar 2009
I cannot recommend this film highly enough. I watched this purely by chance and was expecting something along the lines of Lock Stock or Snatch, which were enjoyable but didn't overly impress me. I was wrong, this is not the slapstick type caper of the previous two films. This is a proper hard edged British Gangster movie with a series of interlinking story lines. Daniel Craig is superb as the unnamed anti-hero X, but the rest of the cast are excellent in their portrayal of the criminal characters. They carry out their activities as a business trying not to draw attention to themselves. I, for one did not see the twist coming and was shocked at the ending. The great film is complemented by an excellent soundtrack. It appears that there was a great deal of thought in choosing the music and it shows. In the commentary JJ Connolly & Mathew Vaughan discuss that Connolly is writing a sequel. Let's hope so and that the relevant members of the cast are available to reprise their roles. I cannot recommend this film highly enough. Beg, borrow or buy a copy - I did and immediately purchased my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!!!, 19 Jun 2005
By 
I. Jelley "Jell" (Long Buckby) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had so many fears watching this film that it would be one step too far for the makers of lock stock and snatch. How wrong i was. Expertly short, with more twists than your average slinky. The characters are once again top drawer, and they've also thrown in some of the cast from the previous films. Great Soundtrack ,gripping plot and fantastic ending force other films in my top ten to turn round and take notice of the new kid on the block. This film is a must for anyones collection. Move over Lock Stock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish and Truly Captivating, 5 July 2005
By 
Ian Adderley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was somewhat apprehensive about watching this film due to it being compared to Lock Stock and Snatch. However this film is different, it presents a different type of style or quality which is truly captivating.
Layer Cake has an entrancing plot which is further developed through the high quality acting and excellent directing. This film is incredibly stylish and very entertaining. It is well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, good transfer, 29 May 2009
By 
K. P. Curtis (Bath, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Layer Cake [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Daniel Craig is a drug dealer about to get out of the game when he gets roped into finding a girl for his boss. Twists rapidly ensue; this is one of the most densely plotted films I've seen in ages, and I was glued to the screen throughout.

This is not your typical Lock-Stock-esque gangster movie, despite coming from the same producer. There's no wisecracking mockney here, but an altogether more studied and serious piece that probably manages to skate a lot closer to reality than any of Ritchie's movies.

Craig is fantastic and oozes that on-screen charisma that probably landed him the Bond job. Partly because of this, the other actors seem fairly nondescript in comparison. Gambon's fake-fake tan is appalling!

Now, to the Blu-Ray (on my 32" 720p telly): I have to say that I didn't really notice any stand-out parts in hi-def; the image was crisp and clean throughout but no real 'wow' moments (perhaps I'm just getting used to hi def). The sound was immersive and well-used throughout, but again no eye-popping moments.

If you already have this on DVD then I wouldn't bother upgrading unless you really love it, but if you don't have it in any format then I highly recommend this to any crime thriller fans, even those who were put off by the cheeky chappy hard man antics of Guy Ritchie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Future James Bond, 6 Oct 2007
By 
M. A. Ramos (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Layer Cake [DVD] (DVD)
Based upon JJ Connelly's London crime novel, this movie is actually quite good. It lets us inside the world of the British drug world. Daniel Craig, who will play James Bond in the next movie, plays the main character, whose name is never divulged. He shares his words of wisdom and golden plan on how to succeed in the drug business and get out of it alive.

We watch as the movie takes us on a twisting ride where just when you think you figured out what is going on, it changes. The score was just right, you did not notice yet it enhanced the movie, just as a score should. This movie will have to be watched a couple times to catch everything, but the first time will be the best. Even the ending takes you by surprise. Watch it, you will like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars welcome to the layer cake son!!!!, 4 Aug 2007
By 
Ms. H. M. Oconnor (anonymous) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Layer Cake [DVD] (DVD)
i would just like to say this film is amazing i wasent expecting much but it is really good. i have all the best films in this genre on dvd like the godfather and scarface and this maybe isnt as good but it certenly comes close to them.
great acting , great story, great film!!!

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The name is XXXX, 21 Aug 2014
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Layer Cake [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I'd never heard of Daniel Craig pre-2004. Within a short space of time he starred in Enduring Love and this movie, and all of a sudden there was a new British leading man. But don't go thinking that he's a super-suave secret agent in Layer Cake. If anything XXXX is a bit of a helpless wimp when it comes to physicality.

The unusual marketing for Layer Cake, featuring a yellow Land Rover with an iron scalding the hood, is what drew me in initially. I was worried that it would be horribly flamboyant in the vein of Guy Richie. Thankfully director Matthew Vaughn wanted to develop his own style and the resulting movie is much more refined and laid-back.

XXXX is a coke dealer with low ambitions. He wants to make a neat fortune and escape into retirement. His boss Jimmy Price has fallen on hard times and manipulates XXXX into a compromising position between rival crime boss Eddie Temple, brash loudmouth wannabe gangster The Duke, and Serbian war criminal Slavo. If he is smart enough he just might be able to get out alive, get the money, and fool around with Sienna Miller.

At 106 minutes Layer Cake is sharply edited and crams in loads of plot, more so than many movies much longer in length. It passes in a breeze and features a great soundtrack and a score by Lisa Gerrard. Ben Davis' anamorphic photography (in the now-defunct JDC-Scope) makes it all look very slick while somehow never drawing attention to itself.

You can see how Craig got the Bond gig from his performance in this movie, but it is much more than a career stepping stone and seems to have been neglected by wider audiences in light of his more recent successes.

The Blu-ray looks good in 2.40:1 1080p with LPCM 5.1 sound and a small coupling of extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quality purchase., 21 Jun 2005
By 
E. Mackintosh "lifedrinker" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Alright, so there are comparisons to 'Lock, Stock And Two Smoking Barrels' and 'Snatch' all over the place - but this film is nothing if not classy and slick. I particularly liked hearing a normal English accent amongst the Cockneys - rare in gangster films, unless we're talking rich idiots. I was confused to begin with but everything ties together (in the end). Well worth buying especially at such a good price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely brilliant!!!, 23 Sep 2005
the best british ganster movie by a mile! none of this over the
top acting like in snatch or lock stock, just a solid well made movie with
loads of twists and a bloody good soundtrack to cap it off.
Daniel Craig is perfect for the main part as the middle level
coke dealer. Jamie Foreman (son of the respected author freddie foreman)also puts in a great performance and sienna miller looks
stunning throughout. do yourself a favour and get this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Layer Cake [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free]
Layer Cake [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] by Matthew Vaughn (Blu-ray - 2007)
7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews