Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars region label
DO NOT PAY ATTENTION TO THE AMAZON DESCRIPTION. This steelbook IS region free. It was listed as such during during pre-order period but amazon changed description to B/2 a few days before release for some asinine reason and practically gave me a heart attack. ABC region free symbol is visible on back cover and on the disc. I live in region 1 and it plays fine...
Published 19 months ago by Real Name

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where did all the special features go?
This 2012 limited steelbook edition Blu-ray contains the following special features:

Director commentary
Making Of documentary
Deleted scenes
Production workshops
Understanding Comics with Scott McCloud
Trailers

The DVD set I bought in 2005 has all of the above, plus the following:

Director intro
Composer...
Published 18 months ago by xandermac05


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars region label, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
DO NOT PAY ATTENTION TO THE AMAZON DESCRIPTION. This steelbook IS region free. It was listed as such during during pre-order period but amazon changed description to B/2 a few days before release for some asinine reason and practically gave me a heart attack. ABC region free symbol is visible on back cover and on the disc. I live in region 1 and it plays fine.

run time is labeled incorrectly as well. this is the director's cut - 132 min.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm fireproof... you're not, 27 Oct 2004
When I first read about Hellboy I was a little unsure about the concept, don't get me wrong, I have a particular fascination for movies based on comic characters - especially Marvell comic characters, though being honest I'd never even heard of Hellboy, and based on what I'd read about the character; a red being/creature with one big stone hand/fist and a red pointed tail who, as a child was transported from another dimension (or hell if you like) during a Nazi experiment and is then captured and raised by a secret CIA type organisation and trained to fight evil in return for sanctuary just sounded a little too much for me. However, when I discovered that Ron Perlman (Blade2, Alien Resurrection) had been cast for the part of Hellboy, I decided to give it a watch, and I'm glad I did, it's brilliant!
Ron Perlman is a fine actor, and is brilliant as Hellboy. His fantastic deep rich voice and dry sarcastic wit combined with his cool facial expressions just bring the character to life in a way I don't think anyone else could... Ron Perlman IS Hellboy; He was made for the part!
The story/plot is pretty much standard fair; an evil adversary (Rasputin!) is planning to open a portal to hell and bring civilisation as we know it to an end, and yep you guessed it, Hellboy has to stop him. However, this evil enemy is also not of this earth and has the power to summon all manner of mythical creatures etc to help him achieve his goal; consequently the film is awash with all manner of high quality special effects and CGI, which only adds to this films appeal.
Definitely recommended, I loved it, I'm sure you will too.
Hellboy 2 is already underway; I just hope it's as enjoyable as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perlman is perfect, 13 Jun 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellboy [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
First off, all those who think this rendition of a comicbook hero fails, have missed the point: Hellboy is very much an ANTI-HERO. How many big-and-bad action heroes do you know who like cats, and eating chillie? Hellboy would rather be eating chillie, and sitting among his many cats, than fighting evil. The juxtaposition of this big softy fighting evil monsters and the undead, accentuated by his comical self-deprecating one-liners which he mutters after vanquishing a villain, is funny. He'd rather be doing anything than fighting evil, and it's this conflict within him which forms the foundation for the film.

'Hellboy', to me anyway, was always a good old fashioned, tongue-in-cheek, good-versus-evil romp and there's now't wrong with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where did all the special features go?, 9 Jan 2013
By 
xandermac05 (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This 2012 limited steelbook edition Blu-ray contains the following special features:

Director commentary
Making Of documentary
Deleted scenes
Production workshops
Understanding Comics with Scott McCloud
Trailers

The DVD set I bought in 2005 has all of the above, plus the following:

Director intro
Composer commentary with isolated score
Branching comics
Set visits
Storyboards
Screenplay
Script supervisor's book
Director's notebook

Selma Blair intro
Character biographies
Storyboard/scene comparison
Multi-angle breakdowns
Character sculpture vid gallery
Poster explorations
Filmographies

Ron Perlman intro
Cast video commentary
Comic-Con 2002 Q&A
Production Design galleries
Mike Mignola production art
Concept art galleries
Comic art pinups
+ easter eggs

NOT COOL, SONY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie and fantastic Blu-ray, 28 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Hellboy [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I love this movie and think Ron Perlman is the perfect Hellboy. I loved the story, all of the special effects and, especially, the cast.

The Blu-ray is equally fantastic; the picture quality and lossless PCM soundtrack are amazing. This is a definite A+, must have Blu-ray if you like this movie.

I imported this to the US and it plays on US players (it is encoded for all regions) so if you cannot wait for the US release later this year and want a sure thing, great import this is a great one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HELLBOY Blu-ray UK, 21 Oct 2008
By 
MartinD1 "Martin The One" (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hellboy [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
As dark forces gather to hasten the Apocalypse, Hellboy fights fire with fire and humour in this mind-blasting supernatural action-adventure from visionary director Guillermo del Toro (Blade II, Pan's Labyrinth). Based on the comic book.

Special features:
- Deleted Scenes with Optional Commentary.
- Featurettes.
- Hellboy: The Seeds of Creation Documentary.
- Director's Commentary.

Audio format: English 5.1 | English PCM 5.1 | Spanish 5.1 | Spanish PCM 5.1
Video format: Aspect Ratio 1.85:1
Subtitles: English Hard Of Hearing | English | Hindi | Spanish

Notes:
- This is the Director's Cut of Hellboy which includes 12-13 minutes of extra material put back into the film.
- The Spanish audio tracks are in Castillian Spanish not Latin.
- The Subtitles options extend to the special features. All special features have subtitles in English, Spanish and Hindi languages.

If you speak english or spanish this has to be the best edition around. I believe the USA edition doesn't have Spanish subtitles and the other editions doesn't have subtitles in the special features so this is the best edition to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality comic book adaption with a terrific lead character, 12 Nov 2004
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hellboy [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Yet another comic book adaptation comes to the silver screen, this time in the form of Hellboy. But this is different. Firstly the comic from which this originates is not that well known (I'd never heard of it before this movie came out), certainly when compared to Spiderman, X men etc. Secondly its main protagonist is not a human/mutant with deep psychological issues but a demon raised by humans, which helps put those nurture vs. nature arguments to bed.
In 1944 those pesky Nazis are looking to turn the tide of the war by utilising the powers of the occult. In case you're thinking this all a bit unlikely it's well documented that both Hitler and Himmler were interested in the occult and did indeed explore it as way of defeating the Allies. In cahoots with Rasputin for reasons that are never explained they attempt to open a trans-dimensional portal so hell can be unleashed on earth but their plan is foiled by an American Platoon (Surprise surprise) in conjunction with a paranormal expert Professor Bloom and all that passes through is a baby demon boy. This boy is raised as his own son by Professor Bloom and they both end up working at the top secret Bureau for Paranormal Research and Defence. But Rasputin isn't finished yet and he returns 60 years later trailing fiendish minions and slobbering hell beasts in order to re-instigate his original plan. It's up to the Bureau to find a way to stop him. Fortunately help is at hand in the form of a psychic man -fish and a pyrotechnic woman who Hellboy..ahem has the hots for.
If all this sounds a bit silly, well it is, but then so is Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings. This is in fact a supremely stylish film, entertaining, with a terrific central character. The real coup was made in the casting of Hellboy. Ron Perlman is a very under-rated actor and brings a cynical humanity to the character of Hellboy. Perlman radiates a visible personality through the makeup, making this unlikely hero the most believable part of the movie. In truth he acts every one else off the screen. Apart from John Hurt as the elderly Prof Bloom, who brings genuine gravitas and elderly insouciance to his role? Selma Blair is a little bland as the love interest Liz. Rupert Evans as Hellboys F.B.I. Minder Myers isn't given enough to do apart from stir up Hellboys carnal desires for Liz. Abe Sapien the man -fish is rather bizarrely voiced by David Hyde Pierce and his origin is never sufficiently explained. (The man -fish, not Hyde Pierce)
The production design is stunning throughout. And director Guillermo del Torro clearly has an eye for this type of dark fantasy . Apparently he turned down the latest Potter movie to make Hellboy. Good for him. MInor gripes could be made about the array of rather one dimensional foe Hellboys has to deal with. Multiple slimy tentacled beasties which although superbly integrated via the CGI lack variety and are a bit bland. Rasputin meanwhile lacks any emotional core to his evil so he just isn't convincing as an all conquering villain. His stitched up Nazi stooge is a genuinely interesting creation but isn't able to speak so is merely an excuse for some none the less visceral set pieces. Given that all the hordes of hell were presumably at the disposal of the production team I'd have thought some more radical and genuinely terrifying options would have lent the film a harder edge. But perhaps they wanted that 12A certificate more?
Still this is a tremendous film. Hellboy as an anti-hero is far more preferable to some pumped up uzi-toting oxo cube, spewing one liners faster than his bullets. Who can resist a 6 foot 5 inch demon with an enormous stone hand that files down his horns and goes through enormous stoogies like a well known European golfer? Yes indeed he, s one Hell of a guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the absence of light, darkness prevails, 17 July 2008
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hellboy [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
While some good directors never quite "get it," it took Guillermo Del Toro only one misfire -- the icky, slow-paced "Blade 2" -- to get the whole comic-book adaptation thing right.

In fact, just about everything is right with "Hellboy" -- Del Toro crafted an action blockbuster with a grimy, slimy cult-movie feel and a quirky sense of humor. It's graced with excellent acting, spectacular action scenes, and the trappings of clockpunk and Lovecraftian horror -- not to mention that it stars a six-foot-tall scarlet demon with a soft spot for kittens.

In 1944, young Professor Broom accompanied an army regiment to a remote Scottish island, where the Nazis -- led by Rasputin -- were about to open a portal to another world, and allow the vast tentacled Ogru Jahad (Seven Gods of Chaos) to enter our world. Rasputin and the Nazis were destroyed, but something came through the portal -- a baby demon, whom Broom names Hellboy.

Fast-forward sixty years -- a grown Hellboy (Ron Perlman) and his fishy friend Abe (Doug Jones) are working at a paranormal government agency that specializes in policing the supernatural, with the weirded-out Agent Myers (Rupert Evans) just joining the team. Soon afterwards, Hellboy is called on to kill Sammael the Hellhound -- but it turns out that Sammael can replicate himself indefinitely.

As Hellboy and his team try to hunt down the remaining Sammaels, the dying Professor Broom (John Hurt) finds that a revived Rasputin and his immortal Nazi followers have orchestrated all this. And Rasputin is continuing to pull the strings behind the scenes -- including using Hellboy's love Liz (Selma Blair), a depressed pyrokinetic. And when Hellboy suffers a devastating loss, his journey will take him right back to his roots -- and the potential destruction of the world.

Watching "Hellboy," it's easy to see how Guillermo Del Toro because world-famous for the exquisitely dark "Pan's Labyrinth," and why he's been chosen to direct the forthcoming "Hobbit" movies. This adaptation could have just been another paint-by-numbers comic-book story, but Del Toro gives it the kind of grime, quirk, brains and heart that a lasting cult movie should have.

Part of that cult appeal is "Hellboy's" distinctive look, with Lovecraftian tentacle-gods and some steampunky details. And the action scenes are pretty spectacular -- trains, slimy hellhounds, sword-swinging Nazis with chopped-up faces, giant clock cogs, and a fiery explosion in a mental asylum. And there are some truly spectacular action scenes in a vast underground labyrinth, full of ancient hammers and collapsing bridges. There's just enough action and grossness, without going overboard.

But Del Toro is able to balance out the action with some truly touching moments, such as the aged Broom's final scenes in his firelit study. And there's a lot of dark humor here as well -- and not all of it is Hellboy's dry one-liners. The movie is liberally peppered with dark humor moments ("1945, you mean. Hitler died in '45." "DID he now?"), including some hilariously macabre scenes involving a bad-tempered Russian zombie ("This is Ivan Klimatovich. Say hi, Ivan." "Go that way, Red Monkey!").

Most importantly, Del Toro is able to give his characters little human quirks -- hair plugs, love of cats, and Hellboy sanding down his horns in the morning. Perlman is simply amazing as "Red," whose gruff scarlet exterior hides a kindly, affectionate heart. Not many actors could emote through that many prosthetics (including a very lifelike tail), but Perlman makes it look natural.

Though he's playing a ninetyish old professor, Hurt plays his role with a quiet, powerful sense of goodness. Jones and Evans also do excellent jobs, one as an erudite psychic fish-man ("We lead a charmed life," he observes as cockroaches skitter around him) and an earnest young agent. Selma Blair is the one downside -- she sort of mumbles in a monotone most of the time.

"Hellboy" is one of the best comic-book adaptations that Hollywood has turned out, primarily because of the darker, eerier aesthetic Guillermo Del Toro brings to it. Definitely a must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Comic Book Adventure from Guillermo Del Torro and Mike Mignola, 9 Aug 2008
By 
John Kwok (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Hellboy II: The Golden Army" is a fun comic book adventure that's one of the better films I have seen this year. Director/writer Guillermo Del Toro and writer - and Hellboy creator Mike Mignola - have crafted a superb superhero action adventure film featuring the often-overlooked Ron Perlman as that devilish hero Hellboy. Sure, he's a flawed son of Satan now committed to fighting for "truth, justice and the American way" (oops, wrong superhero, but you get my point), while also indulging in beer and expensive Cuban cigars. But this time around, he has two problems. First, his relationship with his long-time girlfriend, the fiery Liz (Selma Blair) seems to be reaching a new low - or rather is it? Second, he must deal with the war-like wishes of Elven prince Nuada (Luke Goss), seeking to save his Elvish people from humanity, by resurrecting the legendary, immortal Golden Army. So does Hellboy succeed with his pals Liz and Abe Sapien (Doug Jones) in resisting Prince Nuada's hostile intentions towards humanity? While I won't spoil the fun - but instead, urge you to see the film - I shall note that you'll laugh, cry and eat lots of popcorn watching Hellboy and his friends at work, trying to save America and the rest of humanity. And once you do see the film, I hope that you will realize how ready director Guillermo Del Toro is in tackling J. R. R. Tolkien's "The Hobbit" as his next cinematic masterpiece after "Pan's Labyrinth".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hellish entertainment!, 6 Aug 2008
This review is from: Hellboy [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie.
There was an aura of entertainment when viewing this move.
Please note before showing movie to child under age of 12, it is very violent and their is a lot of murder scenes, and a lot of swearing.
Be cautious on what you show to your kids!

P.S It was very good though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hellboy [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free]
Hellboy [Blu-ray] [2007] [Region Free] by Hellboy (Blu-ray - 2007)
6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews