Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Veho Digital FM Transmitter (VFM-002)
Using for transmitting my MP3 player music through car speakers.

Easy to setup - Instructions are a bit brief though.

Found I had to turn volume control on my MP3 player to max. to get good sound. This isn't a problem and anyway once done sound can be managed using car stereo volume controls.

Comes with Cigarette Lighter power lead...
Published on 26 Aug 2009 by DME

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not great, especially in built up areas
Had this radio transmitter for about a month now, use it a few times a week, and in a range of environments.

Ok, the good -
If you're like me and your car doesn't have a port to enable you to plug in an mp3 player directly, and your car isn't worth paying to install a new radio, then this provides a useful solution as all you need is a radio in your can...
Published on 23 Sep 2010 by MLS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Veho Digital FM Transmitter (VFM-002), 26 Aug 2009
This review is from: Fm Transmitter For Ipod mp3 (Electronics)
Using for transmitting my MP3 player music through car speakers.

Easy to setup - Instructions are a bit brief though.

Found I had to turn volume control on my MP3 player to max. to get good sound. This isn't a problem and anyway once done sound can be managed using car stereo volume controls.

Comes with Cigarette Lighter power lead.

Good sound quality - Excellent value product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not great, especially in built up areas, 23 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fm Transmitter For Ipod mp3 (Electronics)
Had this radio transmitter for about a month now, use it a few times a week, and in a range of environments.

Ok, the good -
If you're like me and your car doesn't have a port to enable you to plug in an mp3 player directly, and your car isn't worth paying to install a new radio, then this provides a useful solution as all you need is a radio in your can (you don't even need a cigarette lighter, as it can run off batteries).

On the other hand, the device often gets large amounts of interference from other radio stations etc; so as you are driving it might suddenly cut from your mp3 to the local radio station. This isn't too much of a problem if you have a passenger who can re tune the transmitter and your radio, but if you drive alone you have to wait until you can stop before fiddling around with both the transmitter and radio. I find the interference is at its worst in built up areas, and barely a problem in rural areas and motorways.
The quality is also not great - i find the device doesn't transmit bass very well, and there is a constant hiss in the background - i have found the only way to combat this is to turn my mp3 player down and the radio right up.
Finally, the most annoying element - if i charge my mp3 player through the transmitter, by plugging its usb into the transmitter, and then the transmitter into the car cigarette lighter - the transmitter makes a heartbeat style noise, continuously, and loudly, no matter what the volume of music is, and even if the music is playing or not. Which means you cant actually use this feature if you want to hear the music.

Obviously this is just my opinion on my device - i might have a faulty one, but i cant be bother to get a replacement. I have no choice but to use this device as it isnt worth replacing the radio on my car, but as a music enthusiast, its a let down and not recommended unless you dont have any other options!

[EDIT - 3 MONTHS LATER]
Device stopped working entirely, when I turned it on it would switch itself off again after a few seconds (not due to low batteries or anything obvious). So the device is now useless and a total waste of money. I ended up getting a cassette to mp3 adaptor which is easier, doesnt require batteries and has much much much better sound quality. Ditch this waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works well, with a few limitations, 27 Aug 2010
By 
Tim Parsons (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fm Transmitter For Ipod mp3 (Electronics)
Why do these gadgets always look like this?

Okay, that's not fair. If you want one for an iPod, you can find cute little devices that plug in neatly and don't require vast amounts of spaghetti. But for any other MP3 player (mine's a Creative device and I don't WANT Apple, thanks) most of the FM transmitters seem to be a variation on this theme: oval, audio wire wrapped once round its circumference. The USB socket's a useful touch if you want to use it in the house and own a plug in USB charger...

What do you need to know before you start?

First, the cable that runs from the transmitter to the headphone socket of your MP3 player is too short. Consider: you're probably in the car. You won't be running the transmitter from batteries because, supplied with it, you have a power cable that allows you to run it from the car's lighter socket. That cable might be okay for you, but, in my case, it's too short to put the transmitter anywhere that might be secure, accessible and a reasonable distance from the bits of the car that generate radio interference. (The attribute I chose to sacrifice was accessibility: I bought an extension for the lighter socket but it generates its own RF interference so that experiment was shelved.) So your transmitter is somewhere it won't fall from while the car's in motion. Great. But the wire that runs from the transmitter to your MP3 player is probably now far too short for you to be able to reach the player to hit <next> on it when it plays something you'd rather not listen to right now, so you need an extension cable for that bit. (Standard 3.5mm socket to plug cable, nothing too clever or expensive, couple of quid will probably do it, just get a reasonable length and use a cable tie to shorten it if it's too long and gets itself wound round the gearstick at inappropriate times.)

The transmitter can be set to transmit at a vast variety of FM frequencies. Pick one that's a reasonable distance from anything that anyone else is using: it's a mistake to try to compete with Radio 1, however much you might want to. I use 106.3, but you will probably have to experiment. Tune your radio to the same frequency and, once you've found one that works and if you have the option, store it to a preset.

You will probably have to turn the volume on your MP3 up to full. It'll seem to work with less, but the transmitter will switch itself off after it hasn't been used for a while and if your volume setting is too low, the transmitter will think you're not using it. And halfway through bellowing along to your favourite Eminem diatribe, you'll realise your backing vocalist has gone away. Trust me on this one, it's a mistake.

Once you've dealt with these little practical/ergonomic issues, you'll be fine -- and the transmitter does a good and effective job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great, 5 Jun 2011
This review is from: Fm Transmitter For Ipod mp3 (Electronics)
Wasn't expecting much for the money, but even so this could be better. To start with the positives, it's cheap, small and comes with cigar-lighter adaptor. Also delivery was much quicker than expected. However, both mp3 player and car stereo need to have the volume cranked up; sound quality varies, but is generally tinny; sometimes when travelling over a pothole you get a loud static crackle; but by far the most annoying habit it has is sometimes it just switches off and can't be switched on again, requiring the batteries to be removed and replaced and then retune the device - not feasible when driving. Overall of poor quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good enough, 27 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Fm Transmitter For Ipod mp3 (Electronics)
Pros: Clear display, reasonable constraction, easy to use.
Cons: Transmition power is not strong, couldn't get it to broadcast in stereo, sound is awful.
Returned for a refund after a week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Veho FM Transmitter for All MP3 Players and iPods, 30 Mar 2010
This review is from: Fm Transmitter For Ipod mp3 (Electronics)
Although I have not had much use out of this transmitter yet, I found it was very easy to use and worked very well during my extensive test.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great price, great product!, 1 Sep 2011
This review is from: Fm Transmitter For Ipod mp3 (Electronics)
I brought this FM Transmitter for my car that only had the classic tape player. And now i am able to play anything i wish without listening to the boring radio stations. The product was easy to use, and the sound quality is good, about the same as normal radio quality or better. It even comes with a handy in-car charger and the device can tell the time and the temperature. Overall good product considering its price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding with a few miss tips, 2 July 2011
By 
Mr. Luke M. Stanton "Lukes280" (Uk england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fm Transmitter For Ipod mp3 (Electronics)
What a cheap little product, just out standing. I ordered it for my omnia 7 so I could play music in mums car. Three tiny problems. One is size and bulk, two is power supply and the last one is interference. The size of it is a bit to big for my liking, would rather q bit smaller. Power supply should be through head phone jack but at least you can have q back up of battries or 12v cigerate lighter. The problem with me is interferance, this is because i revive texts and send so you have an enoying buzzing for a couple of secound. Other then those tiny bits it is out standing for the price. Would be great for iPod or mp3. Put your phone in flight mode to get the best out of it. You even have a tempeteur thing

Overall just great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality, 3 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fm Transmitter For Ipod mp3 (Electronics)
Instructions are very brief and written in very poor English. Initially worked OK, but sound quality was pretty poor on all the frquencies I tried. It was also very quiet and wakes up with the power off, so when we restarted the engine we were greeted with deafening radio.

This weekend we used it for about 1.5 hours. It was always a bit sensitive to overhead power cables, but for the last half hour the reception got worse and worse, then with a 'pop' over the speakers it died.

OK - I may have had a faulty unit, but equally well I may not, so 2 stars to give the benefit of the doubt. I will try another make but will need to spend a little more to get somthing of acceptable quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars FM transmitter for IPOD/MP3, 27 Mar 2011
By 
Karl Nelson (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fm Transmitter For Ipod mp3 (Electronics)
Works OK but not easy to reset when a live station interupts. Sound quality reasonable. Delivered quickly and safely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae1169c8)

This product

Fm Transmitter For Ipod mp3
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews