Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pitch black medical satire
Medical drama's generally leave me colder than a naked Jamaican on the polar plateau .... chained to a fridge but "Cardiac Arrest" which ran on B.B.C.1 from 1994-96 was something else altogether and undoubtedly led the way for programmes like "Greys Anatomy " and "House"- shows which aren't fit to lick it's blood spattered boots.

The programme was written by Dr...
Published on 17 Mar. 2007 by russell clarke

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Avoid this one...
I love medical dramas, so picked this one up at the same time I ordered the Max Beesley series, "Bodies".

'Bodies' was good, but this show falls way below the mark. The quality of filming looks as if it were produced using a home video camera, and it has the distinct feel of an over-acted, daytime soap opera.

I'm still making my way through...
Published 9 months ago by Christopher Parr


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent and frustrating, 1 April 2007
By 
Kimberley O'Donnell "DVD FIEND" (PRESTON , LANCASHIRE (UK)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cardiac Arrest - Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Cardiac Arrest was one of the finest medical dramas ever produced by the BBC. It puts today's Casualty and Holby City to shame.

This complete collection is an absolute must have for any fan of the genre.

There was only one thing that annoyed me about Cardiac Arrest: the final moments of the final episode which I feel leaves the series unresolved. I've wondered about the ending for years.

The set is definitely worth owning if you are a fan of This Life, it is very similar in style.

It's also worth buying if you are a fan of Peter O'Brien and the very lovely Jonathan Dow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thank god it made it to DVD ..., 16 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cardiac Arrest - Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
... for C A is exquisite. on taking delivery of the DVDs, I couldnt put it down til I'd caught up on the whole of 3 glorious series. I'm not a medic, but it works on so many levels as well as medical - the most biting satire, tragedy, comedy, superb characterisation, and best of all, loads of gore.

as most of the other reviewers say, it knocks other medical dramas into a cocked nurses hat. Helen Baxendale - and the rest of the cast for that matter - were never so believable or compelling as they were here.

this should be compulsory viewing for all who run and manage that magnificent and much maligned creature, the NHS....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top medical drama, 13 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cardiac Arrest - Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I recently got this after having seen it in the 1990s and thought it might be a bit dated. Not really - it's stood the test of time, but there are fewer machines that go "ping" like there are in Casualty, if you like that sort of thing. The characters are great, and all seen in real hospitals in one form or another - it's well cast and superbly written with lots of great touches such as the wards which are named after anatomical parts or imfamous doctors! Hospital drama with a difference!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore Product Description, 21 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cardiac Arrest - Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
excellent, its been a long time since we watched this and was well worth a revisit.

Product Description states that it is season 2 episode 5 to 8, it is the complete collection of season 1, 2 & 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cardiac Arrest DVD box set, 7 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cardiac Arrest - Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
A painful, poignant reminder of junior medical training 15-20 years ago. Non-medics will struggle to appreciate the accuracy of this. A fantastic set of DVDs and a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly real, 3 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cardiac Arrest - Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
It's stunning. Just buy it. It's compulsory viewing for any new doc about to step foot on the wards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cardiac Arrest - the truth about the NHS, 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cardiac Arrest - Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Although this series is set in the 90's (and the speed of the action is reflected in that) it nevertheless is good viewing. Having worked in the NHS for several years I found it to be the most realistic portrayal of that organisation and how it 'works' than anything I have seen previously. Would recommend this collection as good/interesting viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frighteningly realistic, 27 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cardiac Arrest - Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
OK, so it's dated and the acting is a little hammed up in places, but this is easily the most accurate depiction of the life of a junior doctor. Obviously written by a practising medic, the clinical aspects are realistic, the humour is dark and the tragedy is heart-breaking.

If there's one criticism, it's probably unbalanced in depiction of other hospital staff. Seems to show the worse side of nurses, managers and consultants whilst depicting a more balanced portrayal of junior doctors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is how it was, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cardiac Arrest - Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I know many out there will not believe this but this really was life as a junior medic in the early '90s.
I watched this series the first time round and loved it then. I felt nostalgic and so bought and watched the this box set. They programmes are still as good as all those years ago.

I would just say that, the early series' are better than the later ones, which tend to loose some of their realism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic!, 17 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cardiac Arrest - Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This is an absolute classic series of the 1990s, and was inspired by the same original novel that later inspired the more recent medical TV series "Bodies". Author / screenwriter Jed Mercurio was once a trainee doctor himself, explaining the realism of this series compared to shows such as "Grey's Anatomy".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cardiac Arrest - Complete Collection [DVD]
Cardiac Arrest - Complete Collection [DVD] by David Hayman (DVD - 2007)
£14.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews