Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive and arguably the greatest film noir of all
Along with Tourneur's OUT OF THE PAST (1947), Billy Wilder's DOUBLE INDEMNITY is the definitive film noir, a masterpiece that rewards countless viewings and proved hugely influential. Virtually remade as BODY HEAT in 1981, and the inspiration for any number of sweaty, neo-noir pale imitations, this brilliant film remains the real deal and unsurpassed.
Wilder's...
Published on 2 April 2006 by Jeff Markham

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not THAT good
I'm afraid that, despite its pedigree and high reputation, Double Indemnity still just doesn't grab me that much. Partially it's because the film simply isn't good enough to live up to its hallowed reputation, but largely because of the disastrous miscasting of Barbara Stanwyck, who simply doesn't sell as the kind of woman you'd kill for. Enter a dodgy real estate deal or...
Published on 23 Nov 2007 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moody and talky..., 11 Aug 2013
By 
Iain C. Davidson "iain1825" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Indemnity [DVD] [1944] (DVD)
I was looking forward to 'Double Indemnity'. I've been watching a lot of classic films lately and, generally, I've been a fan of Billy Wilder as director - 'Sunset Boulevard' is one of my favourite films of all time! Unfortunately, I was a bit disappointed with this one however. For a start, its very talky with Fred MacMurray's character pretty much giving a running commentary throughout the film. I wasn't surprised to read afterwards that Raymond Chandler was involved because the whole thing put me in mind of such things as 'The Big Sleep' and I'm not really a fan of that kind of movie (film noir presumably). I didn't care for MacMurray's character generally and (sad to say) I was not all that impressed with Barbara Stanwyck as the femme fatale either. I was never really convinced by their relationship which made the whole plot rather unbelievable. I could never believe that Walter had the kind of passion for Phyllis that would inspire him to commit murder for her!

I did like Edward G Robinson's performance and his character was quirky and interesting. The supporting players (husband, daughter, boyfriend and boss) were mere sketches and quite poorly acted. The film looks good and is moodily lit and shot and the basic plot is good enough (although the actual murder plot itself is unlikely and very poorly thought out by our supposedly expert hero) but for me the acting of the two leads and much of the dialogue were enough to knock a couple of stars off my rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Indemnity [DVD] [1944] (DVD)
product as described I'm very pleased thank you A+++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure noir., 6 April 2013
By 
LeoMclaughlin (Upper Darby, PA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This as I just said was pure film noir,at its best. Fred Macmurray, and Barbara Stanwyck were at there top form. What can I say about Eddie Robinson,but just perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 25 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Indemnity [DVD] [1944] (DVD)
Fascinating-old school
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noir classic, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Better people than I have reviewed this film in the past. An absolute classic of its type. Great story and performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Indemnity [DVD] [1944] (DVD)
The product arrived very quickly and I am very pleased with the quality of it. Will be buying from here again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Film Noir, 2 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Indemnity [DVD] [1944] (DVD)
Anyone wanting a film noir collection will need this film. The screenplay by Billy Wilder and Raymond Chandler is particularly slick - perhaps too much so, but this is what we now expect from this genre - clever losers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 23 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Indemnity [DVD] [1944] (DVD)
Great product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Double Indemnity, 16 Mar 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Double Indemnity [DVD] [1944] (DVD)
Brilliant film.
Brilliant acting
Brilliant dialogue
A really fantastic film. I have seen it umpteen times on TV and enjoy it every time, so I bought the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Indemnity [DVD] [1944] (DVD)
interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Double Indemnity [DVD] [1944]
Double Indemnity [DVD] [1944] by Billy Wilder (DVD - 2007)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews