Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Film of the Year
For anyone who was around in the 1960's, they will really get the feeling of the time. The movie has a real 60's feel about it.
As one of the other reviewers has already said, this is more a British (English?) film than a Jewish one.
Apart from being SO funny and sad, it's also a demonstration of how an ethnic/religous minority can become totally integrated into...
Published on 30 Sep 2007 by ray dorrity

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Feelgood Barmitzvah Boy Story
Bernie is a bit of a nebbish, and he knows it. But all that is going to change when he has his big day on the occasion of his Barmitzvah -- at least that's what he hopes. But as the day approaches, the big celebration shrinks, and when the final blow strikes the Barmitzvah plans (it's 1966 - what happened that year?) Bernie needs to learn that the "big day" is not really...
Published on 18 April 2011 by Bernardette Lugner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Film of the Year, 30 Sep 2007
By 
ray dorrity "ray dorrity" (New Forest, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sixty Six [DVD] (DVD)
For anyone who was around in the 1960's, they will really get the feeling of the time. The movie has a real 60's feel about it.
As one of the other reviewers has already said, this is more a British (English?) film than a Jewish one.
Apart from being SO funny and sad, it's also a demonstration of how an ethnic/religous minority can become totally integrated into British society and yet maintain its own traditions. Other minorities should take note.
A great film, with bits of the 1966 World cup cleverly woven into the story.
Buy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good English Tragi-comedy, 19 May 2007
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sixty Six [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this because I work as a speechwriter, I'm not Jewish, but I get asked to write lots of bat mitzvah speeches. It provided a good insight into how important the ceremony is to a small Jewish boy. But this was more a British film, than a Jewish film.

There was lots of observant comedy of what it was like to live in London in the 1960s: the rise of the supermarkets, the drab meals and the tinny old cars.

I'm not sure if the film was a big success, it has all the ingredients of something like East is East. The football and bat mitzvah plotlines don't quite join seamlessly.

It's fun, watchable and the ending has a bit of wisdom to it. A family film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 1 May 2007
By 
Mr. I. P. Grieve "biosphere1" (Nothants, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sixty Six [DVD] (DVD)
This is the best film i've seen this year,if you were a child growing up in the 60s....this is a film for you,the acting is top notch by all invovled,the clothes, the vechiles and old style shops brought back my childhood.It's a film that'll make you laugh and cry,it's a wonderful film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended coming of age comedy, 3 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Sixty Six [DVD] (DVD)
A charming, funny and heartwarming story about a working class Jewish family in 1966 England. Bernie Rubens (Gregg Sulkin) looks forward to his bar mitzvah being a big success remembering how he was upstaged by the bar mitzvah of his older brother. but potential financial ruin, a house fire and the injury of his uncle preoccupy Bernies parents played by Helena Bonham Carter, who carries off the role as Bernies mother with quirky charm (her usual splendid self) and Eddie Marsan.
Most significantly Bernies' bar mitzvah coincides with the day of the world cup final and Bernie knows if England makes it to the final his Bar mitzvah will be ruined. sure enough England does make it and relatives and friends call in one after the other feigning all sorts of excuses, and it look really bleak for Bernie, but it will end in an upbeat note which I wont reveal so as not to spoil the ending.
Quirky, humorous, avoids stereotypes, shows how Jews can be ordinary working class people in Britain, to the film's credit and also will appeal to people of any background as well as Jewish people. Based on the actual coinciding of the director's Bar Mitzvah with England's stunning 1966 world cup victory, and a highly recommended coming of age comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE WORD: UNDER DOG., 23 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sixty Six [DVD] (DVD)
Bernie Reuben (Gregg Sulkin) is ignored and picked on. He is "not very good at breathing." His father Manny (Eddie Marsan) is not very assertive and is an embarrassment. Bernie recalls the wonderful Bar Mitzvah his brother had and relishes the day when he has his celebration, a day that will belong to him. As that day approaches, his family undergoes various hardships, downsizing his celebration. To make matters worse, his barmitzvah is scheduled the same day as the World Cup Final, July 30, 1966. Bernie realizes as his native England is in the tournament, they need to lose for him to have a large turnout.

The film is a comedy-drama. Some of the jokes are quick visuals such as a card that reads "Kimmel Kosher Katering." The soundtrack include tunes from the era.

No f-bombs, brief implied sex, male rear nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky number, 8 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Sixty Six [DVD] (DVD)
I missed this movie when it was in the cinema so was keen to get it on DVD. I was not disappointed. The film manages to be funny, and moving at the same time. Well worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and great acting, 8 Feb 2014
By 
Max Zen (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sixty Six [DVD] (DVD)
Never heard of this movie until I saw the dvd for sale for a 1 at The Works. It's a great movie...with a great script and acting.
Like comments before have said, it's a good family movie especially for those who follow English football.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 2 Feb 2012
By 
S. Brown (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sixty Six [DVD] (DVD)
This is without a doubt one of the funniest films I have seen for quite a while. It's a really brilliant story, and humour everyone will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sixty Six [DVD] (DVD)
Bought a copy for myself and for my Jewish friends who have now moved to Israel :-( - just so they can remember their English roots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good family movie, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sixty Six [DVD] (DVD)
was a good film worth a watch if ur into the football game of 1966 if we ever needed reminding of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sixty Six [DVD]
Sixty Six [DVD] by Paul Weiland (DVD - 2010)
5.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews