Customer Reviews


185 Reviews
5 star:
 (143)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top British Film
This film, together with Get Carter (the original) are the two finest British crime/gangster films you can get.

Bob Hoskins gives his best ever performance as Harold Shand a cockney gangster whos trying to do a deal with an American over the (as was then) wasteland of docklands. Unfortunately while he's in the states one of his gang has upset some rather nasty...
Published on 13 Sept. 2006 by S J Buck

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray of this great film has issues
Rating is for quality of disc and not for the film which is superb. Transfer of the HD picture is fine and colours pop quite nicely. However, it's obvious no expensive restoration work whatsoever has been undertaken on the print and there are white specks present through it's whole length which are very noticable viewed on my 55-inch plasma

There is also an...
Published on 24 Jan. 2013 by Richard D. Browne


‹ Previous | 110 11 1219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars One of my husbands most favourite films and at a definitely good price and good ..., 12 Oct. 2014
By 
W. H. Allen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my husbands most favourite films and at a definitely good price and good delivery - What more could you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I have not watched this yet but have seen the ..., 18 Sept. 2014
I have not watched this yet but have seen the film many times and wanted it for my collection, whats not to like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Film, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Good Friday [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best British films ever made Would recommend this film to all.One of Bob Hoskins greatest roles ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Iconic film, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Good Friday [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Dated but still a great watch ... Pity there wasn't, a part two.. Real shame bob Hoskins is no longer with us
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good friday, 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its ok I suppose but now quite dated, being made in the 80s I suppose it would be but good to see Bob Hoskins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the long good friday, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought this for myfriend who used to watch it a long time ago and now can watch it over &over,price good too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dvd and case in very good condition, special features were a nice bonus. One of the all time great films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film., 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always liked this film and had worn out my VHS copy so I'm delighted to have purchased this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best British gangster movie ever, 1 Dec. 2009
By 
William Heron (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bob Hoskins at his best. He should have won an Oscar for the final scene which is truely amazing. Converts well to Blu Ray. 30 years has not diminished the story or appeal. Harold Shand was a Thatcherite before Thatcher who predicted the rise of the Docklands. A man before his time who even predicted the Olympics coming to East London. Look out for the young Pierce Brosnan and the even younger, 'I could have slashed your tyres' Dexter Fletcher. The rest of the movie is a Who's Who of the British acting scene almost all of whom have ended up in Guy Ritchie movies, not forgetting Helen Mirren his classy moll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best British Gangster movie ever made, 17 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bob Hoskins, Helen Mirren guns and bombs (and not forgetting Razors!)
What more could you want?

A classic film about a gangland boss under threat from the IRA after a sub-ordinate unwittingly does a deal with them in his absence.

My favourite scene is towards the end when he berates the "bleedin' Mafia" with whom he wanted to do a deal with. Excellent film - exciting and full of childhood memories (70's London - not Gangsters!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 1219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Long Good Friday [1981] [DVD]
The Long Good Friday [1981] [DVD] by John MacKenzie (DVD - 2007)
£3.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews