Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
149
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 May 2014
Fantastic reissue on nice and heavy vinyl.
Great cover, the band pic is printed on a see through panel, the yellow background is on the inner sleeve!
The "Doors" band name is also embossed. also the record itself has the "butterfly" label that is only usually seen on the first pressings.
Bought to replace my 90's copy from when record companies could no longer be bothered with vinyl.
The music itself- nothing I can add to what's been said before!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2015
L.A Woman was the sixth and last of The Doors studio albums, never more were Jim Morrison`s vocal more raspy and bluesy after years of hard drinking and debauchery.
The blues influence is certainly heard on tracks such as `Crawling king snake` and `Cars hiss by the window` but the albums highlights are definitely the title track `L.A Woman` the full 8 minute album version and the haunting `Riders on the storm`.
Hyacinth House adds a more catchy feel with Morrison maybe eluding to he`s relationship with he`s on off girlfriend Pamela Coulsen.
The Ray Manzarek penned `Love her Madly` which is a stand out track and `The Wasp Texas Radio` complete what was The Doors finest hour.

A essential purchase for the one of the all time great rock bands.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2011
How many times should I pay for the same music? is a question which many fans of classic rock must have pondered from time to time. I don't know how many releases there have been of the Doors albums, which I should add, are all essential for any classic rock/psych collection (including the under-rated Soft Parade, maybe not as brilliant as the others but still better than many other bands' best efforts), but I stick with the versions I bought around the mid-90s and refuse to ever pay more money for the same albums. I don't criticize all these rereleases with often poor bonus tracks as that is the only logical way to market music by non-existent bands and dead artists. There is a finite amount of material recorded and the only way to generate income is to continuously repackage, reshuffle, remix, or rerelease in different formats exactly the same material. But my advice is not to fall victim to these strategies. In the decades to come we will no doubt see many more rereleases, in the audio formats still to be invented. At some point, mp3 will be declared to be outmoded by some new audio type offering far greater sonic clarity, and old fans will be urged to update their collections once more to keep pace with technology. Those people who also had the cassette or even minidisc versions of these albums should be fuming, for one thing the music industry has always insisted on is that the price you pay for the music is NOT the price of the plastic, but the right to own those songs for private use. Theoretically, this should mean that once one has paid for the right to use the songs privately, one should be entitled to trade in the versions of the same albums in other formats for a reduced price. However, as we all know this does not happen, and would be considered unthinkable. Thus, fans continue to fork out cash for exactly the same material, while the value of the old versions of the CDs falls to zero, which is clearly intended. As a fan of many classic bands like the Doors I refuse to buy into this scheme, except in some rare cases when the bonus tracks are especially interesting, which is not the case with the Doors CDs unfortunately. I rather spend my money these days on discovering new music, mostly by the many contemporaries of the Doors who went unnoticed at the time, but many of whom released some great music. My Doors discs may not have the sonic clarity of the new releases. But anyone who knows even a little about the human brain and ears knows that one's ears always 'adjust' to the level of sonic quality, that after a while, whether you're listening to vinyl, cassette, 8-track, minidisc, CD or mp3, your brain filters it so ultimately it all sounds the same - and it's the music itself which you focus on.
33 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 April 2014
As I recall it, Jim Morrison had just died and my mate had bought this wonderful album. Expectations were high anyway and so we played it on a hot day - over and over etc.

It sounds as fresh, original and magical today as it did then. One of my all-time favourite albums because of the sublime music, the evocation of time - can't ignore this and good to have a new CD of it. I seem to have had it in so many formats through the years, just as many others will have done.

This is essentially a blues album, witness the drenched, intense music of 'Been Down So Long', 'Crawling King Snake'.'Cars Hiss By My Window' - all brilliantly atmospheric - and so on to the 2 real showstoppers- 'LA Woman' and 'Riders On The Storm' both also heavily based on the blues.

I particularly like the words of the critic who said that during 'LA Woman' itself, the wheels leave the runway and the band really take off. I also liked a recent documentary on the Doors where Ray demonstrated his amazing cascading downward run during 'Riders On the Storm': for me one of the most evocative passages in music - any music. My wife was equally spellbound.

Favourite album ever? - probably because of the time, place, Jim's passing. Oh - and the sensational music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
LA Woman isn't just my favourite Doors album its one of my favourite albums. This was the Doors at their very best with every track a classic.
Unfortunately most albums that have remixed/remastered written all over the cover don't sound any better than the original versions and in some cases actually sound worse. So it was with some trepidation that I finally decided to retire my treasured LP and go for the cd version but joy of joys, from the opening notes it was immediately clear that here is the best version. Everything is clearer, better placed in the mix and just plain better, with subtle details that had never been heard before now in their proper place. The care and attention that has clearly gone into this Anniversary mix has taken an album that was already a five star album and turned it into a 10 star masterpiece. So the message is this, if you haven't got a copy get one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2016
An album that has stood the test of time. Always remembered for the classic "Riders in the storm" track but actually the whole album is of a high standard. I love it as much as their first album, which was a game changer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2009
Having fallen out with their original producer Paul Rothchild and with Jim Morrison on a downward slope of self destruction from which he would never recover, LA Woman was a significant swansong, particularly as The Doors had managed with Morrison Hotel to pull things round from the two decidedly less than scintillating albums that had preceded it.

In place of Rothchild, their recording engineer Bruce Botnick assumed the mantle of (co-)producer with the band, whilst the recording venue was a rehearsal studio, not actually owned by The Doors even though it's referred to here as The Doors Workshop, to which a mobile set of recording equipment was transported for this particular project.

In addition to the four principal members of the band were added Jerry Scheff on bass (who was for many years part of Elvis Presley's support band, and for that he must have been PDG) and Mark Benno on rhythm guitar.

The album starts with The Changeling, a roustabout, rolling rocker that sets the scene in fine style, followed by Love Her Madly, one of the band's great numbers. Next, however, there are two awful, club-footed dreary blues numbers that go nowhere but, after those, things get much better with the iconic title track, a real Doors classic. L'America and Hyacinth House are fine as well, but then we have another dark and dreary track in the form of Crawling King Snake, before things pick up markedly again with The Wasp (Texas Radio and The Big Beat), followed by Riders on The Storm to close the album. Riders is so magnificent and so well known that no further comment is required.

So there you have it ~ the good tracks on LA Woman are amongst the best material The Doors ever recorded and so is the sound quality, now improved considerably by comparison with the sonically awful original CD reissue, thanks to skilled Digital Remastering by Bruce Botnick and Bernie Grundman. If the whole of this album was as good as tracks such as LA Woman, Hyacinth House and Riders On The Storm, it really would warrant a 5* rating, but unfortunately it isn't. For better consistency, step back to 1970's Morrison Hotel.

Sorry if this doesn't encourage you to vote YES this was helpful, but listen to the album for yourself and you'll hear what I mean ~ unless, of course, those dark and dreary bluesy numbers are the kinds of songs that turn your key. They just aren't mine and don't fit in with the rest of the album at all or, come to that, with anything else The Doors ever did.
33 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
`LA Woman' was the last Doors album to feature Jim Morrison, released in April 1971 prior to Morrison's demise in Paris in July. It's a good album but overall not quite a great one, redeemed by two magnificent pieces: the title track, and the eerie & enigmatic `Riders on the Storm' posthumously released as a single following Morrison's death. All the other songs are good (especially `L'America' & `The Wasp') with the band on top form, even if they lack the epic moodiness of RotS.

The 2007 `40th Anniversary' remaster (actually the 36th anniversary) improves on the fine original mix, not in a spectacular way but with subtlety, bringing out the clarity in the vocals and instruments but somehow retaining the warmth.

In addition to a first CD with the running-order of the original vinyl album, with this release you get a second CD of mostly alternate takes of the album tracks plus `She Smells So Nice' and `Rock Me' not on the original record.

The 3-way fold-out contains a smaller replica of the inner sleeve image of the naked `LA Woman' of the title crucified on a telegraph pole (the image is not of Jim Morrison as sometimes stated in error; it's clearly a female figure) that came with the original vinyl LP, plus some extra photos of the band.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2012
The new,previously unheard ,alternate takes are worth buying this double album for.Critics scoff at Jim Morrison the "drunken bum" but what a rock/blues singer he was.
The opening to the alternate take of "The Changeling" is just dynamite,so so powerful.The same but explosively different,so fresh after 40 years.
Sure,I already own L.A Woman on CD but these new tracks transported me back to the Doors Workshop during the winter of 1970/71 & ,for me,that's just priceless.
My favourite album just got even better.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
Considering that this is one of the greatest Rock albums ever released, the packaging and production of this 40th anniversary album is a total disgrace. Simply putting two CDs into a card sleeve is not enough. No liner notes, or booklet, giving details of how the LP was originally recorded, and where. No notes about remastering, really poor show from the record company. Extremely disappointing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)