Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Woke Up This Morning and I Got Myself A Beer
The Doors back catalogue has been due a makeover for years, and wow, haven't they spent some effort on it. The sound quality on these discs has never been bettered in my opinion. If you're thinking of upgrading your entire Doors collection, consider the Perception Box Set, if not read on...

Amazingly, Morrison Hotel marked a return to form for the Doors - and...
Published on 7 Feb 2007 by P. Whitehead

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great music, but doesn't have that true Doors atmosphere, June 11, 2004
MORRISON HOTEL, The Doors' fifth lp, strips away the psychedelic pretensions of their first two albums, the mediocrity of their third album, and the (largely failed) progressive rock of THE SOFT PARADE. Recorded and produced in 1970, during which country rock was taking over and singer-songwriters were just emerging, The Doors changed directions entirely, turning in a...
Published on 11 Sep 2012 by Mike London


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great music, but doesn't have that true Doors atmosphere, June 11, 2004, 11 Sep 2012
This review is from: Morrison Hotel [Expanded] [40th Anniversary Mixes] (Audio CD)
MORRISON HOTEL, The Doors' fifth lp, strips away the psychedelic pretensions of their first two albums, the mediocrity of their third album, and the (largely failed) progressive rock of THE SOFT PARADE. Recorded and produced in 1970, during which country rock was taking over and singer-songwriters were just emerging, The Doors changed directions entirely, turning in a much more basic, bluesy album than their earlier work. Music like The Band and Dylan's country-rock albums were supplanting psychedelic music. Since The Doors were rapidly finding themselves at a musical dead end, they too took their que from their peers. Whether that is a good thing or not is up to you decide. I believe much of the reinvention was due to needing to survive artistically.

While barreling through this barroom blues set, The Doors play it straight more than on any other album. While LA WOMAN followed this same basic rock-blues template, it followed enough musical and lyrical detours to make it a compelling listen. On MORRISON HOTEL, though, this basic rock and roll simply doesn't do much for me. Not because it's bad, but it's just not that weird, lyrically startling, and wonderfully idiosyncratic music that they had been making. Much of The Doors' identity was put on hold here. There are a few numbers here ("Roadhouse Blues," "Waiting for the Sun," and "Peace Frog") that show The Doors can still be their wonderfully unique selves while still playing blues-rock.

The rest of the songs, however, don't feel like Doors songs. The just feel like barroom blues rock. Overall very good blues-rock, but most of these songs don't have that unique Doors imprint, that very quirky song-writing style that drew me to them in the first place. Anybody could have written "You Make Me Real," "Blue Sunday," "Land Ho," and the majority of this album. But only The Doors could write something as strangely beautiful as "Peace Frog," or "Waiting for the Sun," or "Texas Radio and the Big Beat," or "Rides on the Storm." So while, oddly enough, it is a good album with some great songs (love "Queen of the Highway" and "Maggie MaGill"), it's my least favorite Doors album. MORRISON HOTEL's biggest problem is it never gets past its back-to-the-basics approach to that wonderfully weird band called The Doors.

Bottom line: good basic blues rock and roll, but doesn't have that unique Doors atmosphere that the other five albums do. Even with THE SOFT PARADE, their weakest album, it is undeniably a Doors album filled with a very strange, quirky atmosphere. Anybody could have written bulk of MORRISON HOTEL; only The Doors could play that weird, poetic blues-rock found on LA WOMAN.

Comment | Permalink
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Been messed with - don't like that., 30 Dec 2013
This review is from: Morrison Hotel [Expanded] [40th Anniversary Mixes] (Audio CD)
I've still got my cassette version of this, and the music on that is, presumably, as The Doors intended. This CD features different versions of Roadhouse Blues (with extended, 'honking' harmonica, which spoils it) and a couple of others. Why don't they just leave things alone? I've got the 40th anniversary edition of LA Woman, and that's two-disced, with the messed about versions on a separate disc. Pity they couldn't have given Morrison Hotel the same treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Woke Up This Morning and I Got Myself A Beer, 7 Feb 2007
By 
P. Whitehead (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Morrison Hotel [Expanded] [40th Anniversary Mixes] (Audio CD)
The Doors back catalogue has been due a makeover for years, and wow, haven't they spent some effort on it. The sound quality on these discs has never been bettered in my opinion. If you're thinking of upgrading your entire Doors collection, consider the Perception Box Set, if not read on...

Amazingly, Morrison Hotel marked a return to form for the Doors - and what a return to form! Gone the brass of the Soft Parade and the psychedelia of Strange Days, replaced by a ballsy, raw, bluesy sound. And Morrison's voice had gained depth and soul - the upside of heavy smoking?. There isn't a duff song here. Roadhouse Blues is the textbook road song - and full of classic quotes. Ship of Fools, Land Ho, Maggie M'Gill all plough a similar bluesy furrow. But other songs conjure other moods, take Blue Sunday and Indian Summer for example. These are soft, atmospheric songs. Indian Summer sounds different too because it was recorded four years earlier in 1966 during the recording sessions for the first album. Notice the difference in Morrison's voice!

Bonus cuts on this CD comprise a whole load of extra goodies, including multiple takes of Roadhouse Blues (showing us how they sweated to get that *perfect take* (thanks guys!)), and jazzy versions of The Spy, Queen of the Highway and Peace Frog. I like these a lot, and think them as strong as the originals. They certainly show the band's musicianship and ability to play diverse styles of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's different, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morrison Hotel [Expanded] [40th Anniversary Mixes] (Audio CD)
This CD is very different from the usual music from the Doors. It has much more of a "blues" theme. I like it because of this. The CD is well made with a very good sound and some interesting tracks. Worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Doors playing the blues, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An eye-opener with bluesy and soulful music. The Doors at their most raw and laidback. Very different to the psychadelic frist album and a good bridger to the LA Woman masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good listen., 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morrison Hotel [Expanded] [40th Anniversary Mixes] (Audio CD)
Liked the album,main reason,has one of my old time fav's Roadhouse blue's which i play aloud every chance that i'm given.Also the subtle track Blue sunday.I'm currently working my way through the Door's albums at moment.One thing though,there's a lot of bonus material which i don't think really need's to be on there.Too many take's of one song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pointless re-mix, 7 May 2014
By 
K. O'CARROLL "kevoc" (Helensburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Morrison Hotel [Expanded] [40th Anniversary Mixes] (Audio CD)
Their best album didn't need tampering with.....OK, it's nice to hear some of the studio sounds and banter, and the bonus tracks are interesting to purists, but some of the remixed songs are spoilt - the worst example Is "Waiting for the sun"....you can't hear some of the vocals. "Roadhouse blues" is also noticeably and annoyingly altered. Albums like this should be left in their original brilliant form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morrison Hotel [Expanded] [40th Anniversary Mixes] (Audio CD)
bought this as the kids scratched my original, its a brilliant album, i love this album and all the doors albums but i dont know why record companys have to remaster every thing. my original copy sounded much rawer and authentic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One again a Doors winner, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morrison Hotel [Expanded] [40th Anniversary Mixes] (Audio CD)
For some reason I never got round to buying the LP, maybe because it was so popular with my friends when it was first released and I could always hear and then time marched on.The new re-mastered version gave me a chance to complete my collection of Doors LPs featuring Jim Morrison. I have no regrets buying this whatsoever and the technical aspects of the sound reproduction as as good as the music which always has to come first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great expansion, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morrison Hotel [Expanded] [40th Anniversary Mixes] (Audio CD)
With this new mix and the extra songs from the expanded version you'll have a new vision from the record and the songs. Better,worse? It depends on your taste.I already had it on vynil so I enjoy having this other version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews