Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars34
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£6.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on 5 July 2007
Just like "Waiting For The Sun", the album from The Doors that was released a year before this, this album was and is quite unfairly and unusally under-rated, and I can't understand why. The brass section adds a lovely and soothing feel to the songs. Although this isn't considered to be the greatest of The Doors' work, this is the album from The Doors with the most singles. Four in total! From "Tell All The People" right up to the title track that finishes off the album, this is a great CD. Honestly!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on 7 February 2007
The Doors back catalogue has been due a makeover for years, and wow, haven't they spent some effort on it. The sound quality on these discs has never been bettered in my opinion. If you're thinking of upgrading your entire Doors collection, consider the Perception Box Set, if not read on...

This album majors on songs by guitarist Robby Kreiger, rather than the Morrison compositions that made up much of the earlier albums. Kreiger is a good song-writer, who contributed to all the Doors albums thus far (e.g. Light My Fire, Love Me Two Times) but lyrically he's no Morrison. And some of his songs take the band too far from the `Doors' sound - Running Blue, in particular, takes a hillbilly direction. The Doors play bluegrass? Some songs on the album are good (Shaman's Blues and Touch Me), excellent even (Wild Child ), others are not (Running Blue, Do It). Moreover, whereas the Doors' previous long epics (The End and When the Music's Over) are excellent, the title track here is a little more disjointed.

The band also introduced a horn section on some tracks. Why? Bravado? To change the sound? Because Love had done it successfully on Forever Changes? You decide. It certainly makes for a different sounding album which, if you own all the Doors albums, may be nice to play for a change.

The bonus cuts on this CD are nice though - the B-side Who Scared You, which is a pretty strong track, plus a few extra takes of Touch Me. Then we come to an odd one indeed, a song entitled Push Push, which is a little 3-chord Latin-garage thing in the La Bamba, Louie Louie or Wooly Bully vein. The band all sound pretty drunk, and we can only guess when and where it was recorded.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 14 November 2011
As the title says, this LP is excellent, like all 8 of the Doors studio LPs (I'm including Other Voices & Full Circle recorded after Jim Morrison's death and often unfairly denigraded). I guess you're either into the Doors, or you're not. There's no inbetween. Despite being mainly a rockabilly and 50s rock fan, the first time I heard the Doors in the mid 1970s was a musical and spiritual revelation to me. No, it didn't change my tastes -- I still love Elvis, Chuck Berry and many other great 50s rock artists. But it certainly blew my mind and broadened my musical horizons. If you love any Doors LP, you will love this one.

It has the original nine tracks:
Tell All the People
Touch Me
Shaman's Blues
Do It
Easy Ride
Wild Child
Running Blue
Wishful Sinful
Soft Parade

Plus six bonus tracks:
Who Scared You
Whisky Mystics & Wimen (Ver 1)
Whisky Mystics & Wimen (Ver 2)
Push Push (6.05) (The best bonus track in my opinion)
Touch Me (Dialogue)
Touch Me (Take 3)

All have been digitally remastered and sound suberb!

If you ever liked any Doors LP, you will love this one. Buy it! Buy it! Buy it!

Other Voices/Full Circle
The Soft Parade [40th Anniversary Mixes]
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on 10 August 2008
Popular consensus has it that when placed in chronological order the six Doors studio albums released during Jim Morrisons' lifetime follow a symmetrical pattern in terms of quality; classic, very good, not so good, not so good, very good, classic. The fourth album in that series, The Soft Parade (released in 1969) is often cited as the low point but I have found it difficult to see why every time I have played it.

Some fans of the band have lamented the fact that guitarist Robby Krieger wrote half of the songs on the album but personally I regard him as an undervalued composer, after all it was Krieger who came up with the Doors' much-covered breakthrough classic 'Light My Fire'. Krieger wrote four of the songs here, including the opener 'Tell All the People', a song notable for its' great uplifting melody which makes it a great track to drift along to. Jim Morrison apparently didn't want anyone to think he had written this song as he opposed the line, "get your guns", hence each song on this album being credited to its' author. Krieger also wrote the most famous song on the album- 'Touch Me', as well as 'Runnin' Blue', a departure for the band and notable for its' opening line, "Poor Otis dead and gone...". This is of course a tribute to soul singer Otis Redding who died tragically in a December 1967 plane crash. The latter is a bit of a throwaway number but it is undeniably catchy and entertaining to listen to with its' sudden shift in melody from standard Doors song to a country pastiche. His other credit comes on 'Wishful Sinful', another great track with its' smooth verses and catchy chorus.

As for Jim Morrisons' compositions these are akin to the more familiar Doors sound. 'Shamans' Blues' is about lost love ("There will never be another one like you..."), the fast-paced 'Easy Ride' is decent stuff and 'Wild Child', is arguably more blues-oriented than the other tracks on the album. Morrison and Krieger take co-credit on 'Do It', a solid enough number with a sufficient tune to keep the listener interested for three minutes. Finally, rounding the album off is the title suite which I actually enjoy more than epics from the bands' other records ('The End' and 'When the Music's Over' are the other examples of this). It begins with a Morrison speech in which he prophetically shouts, "You cannot petition the Lord with Prayer." This is reminiscent of the track 'Horse Latitudes' from the bands' sophomore release 'Strange Days' (1967). Whilst the latter is pure poetry and no singing however, 'The Soft Parade' soon evolves into a vintage Morrison song (in fact it is essentially two different songs put together). At more than eight minutes long it is compelling stuff and a highlight from the bands' repertoire.

A good reason to buy this 2007 remastered version of 'The Soft Parade' is the chance to own three unheralded bonus tracks which alone are virtually worth the albums' asking price. 'Who Scared You' is a very well written track- better in fact than most of the other songs on the disc. 'Whiskey Mystics and Men' sounds like it was written very quickly but it remains a great song notable for its' sing along element- "da-da-da". As for 'Push Push Push', it is six minutes of mostly flamenco instrumentation but it flows along nicely. The linear notes by Rolling Stone magazines' David Fricke are interesting as they document the circumstances surrounding the album, for instance Jim Morrison was putting on weight and running out of songs that had carried the band through their first three albums.

Although these brass and string-driven songs are not the bands' finest hour, the use of a little imagination helps make this album in to an enjoyable listening experience.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 17 June 2000
highly under-rated studio album from one of the most original, stylish and talented bands I've come across. Critics said it was over-produced, over-killed and lacked the passion of earlier albums. Give this a chance, repeated listening reveals some real gems - more mature classics like Shamans Blues and Runnin' Blue especially. The title track is a under-rated masterpice, combining funk, rock ,and soulful vocals that they are loved for. A definite for any Doors fan.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 6 August 2013
Heavily criticized in its original 1969 form as rather "soft" album by Doors standards, the high quality of the tunes, lyrics, riffs and instrumentals can now be fully appreciated with the passage of time and by including 3 dropped numbers. It is extremely puzzling why so much great material was dropped and why the remaining short album was put out in such a poor order muscically. With these 3 additions, the album comes up to the full 45 mins that it should have been. For the best musical appreciation of this work the tracks need to copied and listened to in the following order:

Side 1:
1 Wild Child (Was there ever a more obvious opening track? Great riff. "Remember when we were in Africa?")
2 Who Scared You (Brilliant riff and edge. Madness to have dropped it originally)
3 Runnin' Blue (Brilliant merging of styles and a tribute to poor Otis)
4 Whisky, Mystics and Men (Version 1. Hypnotic sea-shanty chant. Crazy to have dropped it originally. Works here)
5 Tell all the People (Good song, but lacks distinctive Doors edge)
6 Touch Me (Great tune and luric, brilliant closing brass instrumental)
7 Easy Ride (Good fun, but on the lighter side)

Side 2:
8 Shaman's Blues (This riff winds into your brain)
9 Wishful Sinful (Top-quality tune and lyrics)
10 Do it (Light-weight raunchy fun)
11 The Soft Parade (Episodic, great in parts)
12 Albinoni's Adagio in G Minor (Works perfectly as a cool-down to close. Strings suited to this album and not the previous one from which it was also dropped. Rock is dead!). Can be obtained from Essential Raraties or elswhere.

The track "Push-push" is also included as an extra track here but is of little substance, being just a repetitive jam around the old "La Bamba" standard. No lyric to speak of. It is best left off of this newly revealed album.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 19 September 2001
If you're fed up with hearing the Doors more popular hits, this is a ideal album to get. Not immediately impacting but grows with every listen. Good but not as good as the screwed up "An American Prayer" though.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 2 November 2000
Some say this was their bad album, most say it was not their finest hour;however I disagree. Whatever was going through Morrison's head or body during the making of this album, it resulted in a much more jazzy/soul based album in comparasion to their harder edged blues sound prior to this. The album contains a great deal of power brass (Tell all the People, Touch me) which surprisingly works very well with Jim's voice & the rest of the band, who were well known jazz fans.It has it's harder stuff as well such as Wild Child which contains my fav Kreiger riff. All in all it doesn't have the rawness of the first albums or ,thank god, the druggy prententions of later on. It is still very passionate stuff and contains Doors tunes that you could find yourself,shock horror, whistling. I sure he would turn in his grave at that. If you are new to the Doors, buy the debut & LA Woman first; but for the fan it is essential to hear this to witness the musical change in direction. I play this much more than say, Morrison Hotel or Strange Days.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 5 September 2012
At the time of recording The Soft Parade in 1968 The Doors had basically ran out of songs that had took them through their first three long players so they took their first steps into the uncharted waters of writing in the studio,the first big hit off the album is the Robby Krieger penned classic Touch Me with added strings and horns,other standout tracks include Wild Child, Wishful Thinking and the title track The Soft Parade.overall its a sterling effort by The Doors at a time when their music and fame were evolving.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 20 August 2013
Really good value.Great to hear this much underated album again.
Good additional tracks on the whole. Product arrived exactly as sheduled
The track the Soft Parade itself is in my opinion the best thing they did.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Waiting For The Sun
Waiting For The Sun by The Doors (Audio CD - 1991)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.