Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best album, 23 Oct 2009
By 
A keen reader "A reader" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Ages (Audio CD)
"The world would never change, you said -- but that was yesterday" go the lyrics in somg # 7. Well, the world has indeed changed, but thank goodness we can still buy the Magna Carta albums. These guys are just wonderful.

The long title track is simply superb: fantastic lyrics, amazing harmonies. Their style is accoustic, folksy, a bit different. Easy on the ear with lovely melodies and interesting lyrics. The band went through many changes in their line-up (check out Wikipedia for Magna Carta Music) but the one for this album is particularly effective. Hugely popular in the Netherlands, where I grew up and where I've seen them perform live a couple of times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of Folk/Prog, 24 July 2010
This review is from: Lord of the Ages (Audio CD)
I had this album on vinyl all those decades ago, enjoyed it, put it back amongst the racks of dusting lp sleeves and forgot about it. Fast forward to the CD age and I purchased Tomorrow never comes (an anthology of Magna Carta 1969 -2006). Inside the booklet on the first page there is a comment from Rick wakeman . "Lord of the Ages, arguably one of the greatest albums of its kind ever made". Memories came flooding back and I immediately sent for it to recall just how and why the wizard of the keys made that remark. This band turned folk music inside out with this production and brought about an album the likes of which had never been heard before.Listen to 'Wish it Was' a song about love and peace where children lie safe in bed and hate dies of starvation, fantastic lyrics. 'Father John' an epic piece about a man of the cloth believing a dream of love but no one cares or listens anymore. A masterpiece of Folk / Prog with thought provoking and highly inventive melodies, woven with intricate sweet music throughout. This is a very beautiful album bound with musical craftmanship, an artist could paint it. Roger Dean did!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime!, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Ages (Audio CD)
Forgotten just how good this is, and how well crafted it is. I have this on vinyl and the re-mastered copy has lost nothing of the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Folk Rock - sublime!, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Ages (Audio CD)
What an album, cover by Roger Dean, the title track 'The Lord of the Ages', the very place where prof rock met science fantasy. I was amazed that this groups back catalogue was still available and that they were touring up until 2013. There is some excellent stuff available on their website, truly an iconic band from the sixties and seventies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cd review, 21 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Ages (Audio CD)
I love lord of the ages by Magna Carta. I like this cd very much, the additional plus for me is the art work on the cover by Roger Dean. I like the way Magna Carta have put this album together, very interesting listening and good lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars magna carta, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Ages (Audio CD)
this cd has brought back loads of happy memories from the first time i saw the band play, the melodic songs are fantastic to listen to time and time again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ageless, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Ages (Audio CD)
Lord of the Ages by Magna Carta was recorded ahead of its time. The music and lyrics are fabulous. I have the original vinyl and have always wanted the cd. You will never hear anything like this today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great and classic album, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Ages (Audio CD)
...pity that it comes in a cheap cardboard sleeve instead of a proper case! Almost no thicker than a coaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lord of the Ages
Lord of the Ages by Magna Carta (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews