Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album and not dated, 12 April 2011
By 
Mike Davey (St Georges, Telford) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has always been one of the great albums and all these years later it shows no signs of aging at all. I am still amazed at the variety of musical styles and how they combine to make this such a classic. There is a subtlety about it all that I think has helped me to still marvel at the variety of tracks and the playing is just so good: Ed Cassidy is one of the great drummers and Randy's guitar is inspired. He can rock out but can also use blend his style to the overall magic, well integrated into the sound.

I am stil playing this record on a regular basis - and still being taken aback at how good it is. I quite agree that the extra tracks are really not necessary. This album stands as a majestic piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreams of an ideal, 6 Mar 2008
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A thought-provoking prod of revolution combined with the last vestiges of the, admittedly shallow, peace and love era comprise Spirit's 1970 release. Like The Zombies, they made this, their best album as they disintegrated. Randy California seems to have a bigger hand in the songwriting as usual, and his stinging guitar bursts frequently illuminate the recording. 'Prelude/Nothing To Hide' and the superbly crafted 'Nature's Way' with their dual vocal arrangements get the album off to a cracking start, but every track is worth its place, each having its own identity. While the opening track rocks, the second haunts; 'Love Will Find A Way' flutters elusively, John Locke's 'Space Child' is dreamy and 'When I Touch You' shimmers and burns. There's even a rousing boogie, 'Morning Will Come,' before the band sail out of view on 'Soldier.'

Jay Ferguson provides his usual mesmeric vocal performance, while Ed Cassidy is as imaginative as ever on percussion. This is one of those albums that possesses a unique feel, a world moving between brooding portent, celebration and beauty. Spirit never received the acclaim they deserved and their first three albums are also worth hearing, but this is certainly their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreams that last forever......., 13 April 2014
By 
Mr. William Mcdonald Orr "BOOGIE WIZ" (Comber, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Twelve Dreams of Dr.Sardonicus (Audio CD)
One of rock 'n' roll's primordial moments. Preceded by Spirit's first three albums (all of which were in their own right noteworthy) this leaps in from the left field....unique, powerful, inspired, and beautiful. Twelve songs, each one independently epic, sequenced and blended into a whole that is at once Herculean, tender, and holding deep within something new to be discovered at each listening. Like all great art uplifting and a reaffirmation of the Human condition. Don't worry about the bonus tracks, the remastering, the plethora of superlatives laid at the altar.....just listen to the opus as created by the lords California, Cassidy, Ferguson, Locke, and Andes and be thankful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is up there with the greats., 4 July 2013
I first listened to this in the early 70's and thought it a stunning album. Really great songs, great West Coast harmonies, and great playing. I bought a remixed CD last year and lo and behold I'm hooked all over again. There's Sergeant Pepper, there's Pet Sounds, there's Graceland and as far as I'm concerned there's this album. There's a book that features the essential albums of the decades from the 60's to now, and much to my surprise this album features in it so somebody has recognised its worth. If you like your rock classic then this is an essential album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a blast from the past, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
loved this when it first came out on a Long play record, i would recommend this for all ex hippies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, unique band and album, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not sure if I can do justice to this album. Spirit were an iconic band with a unique style and sound. Lots of strange effects and other-wordly - OK - trippy, sounds. At other times there are gentle lyrics and mellow harmonies. If you want a flavour of the 'peace and love', mind-expanding feel of hippy culture of the late 60s and early 70s (assuming that you weren't there) this album is a good introduction.

I think my favourite track is 'Street Worm', a fast, keyboard-driven song with a great tune, whose lyrics have a life-affirming, defiant feel. It gives me the urge to leap to my feet, whirl about and flail my arms around whilst whooping with exhilaration! (and sometimes I do...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the All-Time Classics., 1 Aug 2011
One of the best Albums ever to be recorded. Intelligent, with a Very High level of Music craft, it takes you on a journey and is a complete joy. How many albums can you say that you still listen too and still end up with a huge smile on your face, even after playing that album for 30 Years? Not many I'm guessing. If you have not heard any ' SPIRIT ' albums before, this is a great place to start, followed by the eponymous titled album, then ' The Family That Plays Together '. ENJOY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dream about this one if you will!, 31 May 2014
By 
J. A. Stringer (winchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Such a long time that since i had this on cassette. Now i have it on equally outdated cd format and its as good as ever. A blast from the past. Play it in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best album ever? - in an alternate universe, 21 May 2014
By 
Nigel W (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Not too many albums succeed both musically and as a cohesive whole. Sardonicus sounds as fresh today as it did when it was first released largely due to its superb production and its timeless surreal quality. Most albums have a couple of weak songs but Sardonicus' clever merging of the tracks makes everything sound essential. One of those rare albums where everything comes together. Sadly unknown by most of the music listening public.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Record, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the all time great's from the late sixties/seventies. Stylish but with great content. Buy it before you lose your sanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Twelve Dreams of Dr.Sardonicus
The Twelve Dreams of Dr.Sardonicus by Spirit (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews