Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vo. 3 in a few month please!
Transitions Vol. 1 was the first DJ compilation in a while that left it at a one disc mix. More times often than not, one of the dics of a double DJ CD is a bit of a let down or it seems the DJ is scraping the barrel for records to fill up the ever illusive 70 min. mark!..(I know it's max 79 mins. but some just want to hit the 70!)..from start to finish of Transitions,...
Published on 14 Feb 2007 by R. Murphy

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You begin to wonder if he's even trying any more
Once the undeniable King of the progressive dance mix album - now something you'd really rather forget.

Didweed's selections grow ever more towards longer, slower, go-to-sleep mixes, that just crawl along doing very little. Fans buy this stuff because they want good intelligent alternative dance, not a cure for insomnia.
Published on 6 Jan 2010 by F. M. Havicon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vo. 3 in a few month please!, 14 Feb 2007
By 
R. Murphy (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transitions Vol 2 (Audio CD)
Transitions Vol. 1 was the first DJ compilation in a while that left it at a one disc mix. More times often than not, one of the dics of a double DJ CD is a bit of a let down or it seems the DJ is scraping the barrel for records to fill up the ever illusive 70 min. mark!..(I know it's max 79 mins. but some just want to hit the 70!)..from start to finish of Transitions, Vol.1, absolutely fantastic, refreshing and 100% diggers.

A year later and digweed manages to capture his live sets like no other DJ on the scene at the moment. Excellent track selection, mixing and a creator of a journey that leaves you with your mouth wide open at the end. It's a true reflection of a DJ who evidently loves what he plays and will not change format (he just burns on CDs supposedly) just because everyone else has.

The CD starts off a quirky dark minimal house journey, evolving gradually into a slightly tougher, but same tempo mix, with a hint of techy sounds & driving loops and sounds that engrave in your brain, proggy beats romp. Track 3:Chaim EP - "Dana (Guy Gerber Mix)" absolutely brilliant, then Track 4:Antena - "Camino Del Sol" is one of the tunes thats etched in my brain for now!...Track 5:The Williams - "The Shivering" is an awesome example of what diggers is about these days and Track 10:Dirk Technics - "I Love you" is a great mix of the track I first heard on a Global DJ Broadcast by Sasha in June 2006, chilling stuff. Thats just to name a few that stand out after a couple of listens but like Vol. 1, the more listens, the more each track will deliver on it's own unique merrits.

Basically, if you like the first one, get this one. Worth the wait and already looking forward to the next (hopefully!!)......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars master at work, 15 Feb 2007
By 
Mr. Alex D. Paulson "alexpaulson6" (nottingham, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Renaissance Presents.. (Audio CD)
another great mix from mr digweed, this is how progressive house should be done. i just read that mixmag gave this one star, what a joke! they'd obviously prefer him to not bother moving forward and just keep putting out mixes similar to his is earlier global underground efforts. this cd is not for everyone, but if you enjoyed the transitions vol 1 then you will love this, not quite as dark as the first one, but full of energy and mixed perfectly with smallboys remix of dirk technic's 'i love you' my favourite tune on it at the mo. if you like your prog, buy this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once again, I'm in Transitions mode!!!, 31 Jan 2007
By 
Nathaniel Udel (Ft. Collins, CO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Renaissance Presents.. (Audio CD)
It took me a couple of tries to get used to the first volume of Transitions that John Digweed released. This was like a quick grab for me when it first arrived at the CD store on a monday before I went long distance running with it. I enjoyed it so much that I went to John Digweed's website to hear some of Digweed's Transitions shows. Some of it was released on to Volume 2, which I really enjoyed. I have the promo of this, but has the length of the regular album on it.

Very cool effects so you can rest in peace medicine!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Sound, 18 April 2007
By 
J. Elkin "CM" - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transitions Vol 2 (Audio CD)
This set is mint!

It is progressive house, with a tribal feel - I have not heard music of this quality for a while. It has dreamy and hypnotic tracks - with a Trance like feel. The whole album has a futuristic feel. I have often wondered where dance music is heading and for while the future of Dance/Trance/Prog seemed a little uncertain, especially due to Sasha's recent poor efforts (excluding Averlon).

The only thing wrong with this complication is that it is not long enough - for some reason digweed has resorted to single disc complications, come on Digweed - bring it on!

Track One (Abyss Mind Games) - starts off with a typical in progressive style, sounds a bit like something underworld would produce, but swiftly moves into a futuristic melody of plucking synthetic strings - setting a spooky feel to the whole set.

Track Two (Abyss The Dreamer) - is perfectly welded to track one, and builds on the futuristic sound - climaxing with a dreamy sequence, but quickly plummeting you into euphoria with an alignment of strings and digital percussion.

Track Three (Chaim EP Dana) - Is moody and dark to being with, however, it climes to a more optimistic tone continuing the futuristic sound, but providing a modern progressive edge.

Track Four (Antena Camino Del Sol) - Is synthetically complex, futuristic a adrenalin track, that set in a club scene would be racy and trancy and dancy.

Track Five (Williams The Shivering) - Is dark and mysterious, a chillier - don't miss it.

Track Six (Evil Hinko Gedankenhochsprung) - Futuristic and exciting.

Track Seven (Bruce Aisher Presents G-Stylz) - Now rest with some bleep.

Track Eight (David K Boul de Nerf) - Spooky, squeeze box.

Track Nine (Felix Houzer Mandoline) - Typically Progressive.

Track Ten (Dirk Technic I love You) - Technically progressive, exciting and imaginative.

Track Eleven (Guy Gerber Digital Memories) - Typically Progressive.

Track Twelve (Bruce Aisher Presents G-Stylz Can't Get Enough) - Faster and Darker, Futuristic building up...

Track Thirteen (Dose3 Minds) - Deeply complex, dance music, emotionally dark moody and elaborate, tribal and synthetic. The whole album is worth buying just for this track.

Track Fourteen (Jackmate Manray) - Dreamy wind down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consistently high quality., 25 Aug 2007
This review is from: Transitions Vol 2 (Audio CD)
I was quite disappointed with this at first, but after a few listens I started to realise how good it is. I found it a bit lacking in melody or the well known Digweed darkness with beauty sort of thing. However, it is all there, just in a slightly different way to what I expected.

A friend of mine commented "it's 12 tracks that sound the same", only half joking. Actually, the track choice and mixing is so good that you'll struggle to identify the blends unless you look at the CD display.

John Digweed has once again managed to make something special out of a mix album. He is as good as people say. Top work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You begin to wonder if he's even trying any more, 6 Jan 2010
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Renaissance Presents.. (Audio CD)
Once the undeniable King of the progressive dance mix album - now something you'd really rather forget.

Didweed's selections grow ever more towards longer, slower, go-to-sleep mixes, that just crawl along doing very little. Fans buy this stuff because they want good intelligent alternative dance, not a cure for insomnia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfecto ! The bees knees !, 28 Feb 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transitions Vol 2 (Audio CD)
Fantastic set from Diggers. Really great tracks mixed fabulously. Great melodic prog house - I particularly adore the Guy Gerber mix of Dana - goes straight into my top mixes. His latest cds have been very good indeed - this and Transitions 1 also great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the changing sound of John Digweed, 28 Mar 2008
By 
Huggy Solo (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Transitions Vol 2 (Audio CD)
As a long term fan of john Digweed going back to the groundbreaking Rennaisance 2 from 1995 I bought this CD and the first Transitions and clearly noted a change in the sound. There are still slight elements of his original progessive house sound on this CD up to 2002 but it leans much more towards the minimal techno sound that seem so prevalent at the moment. Much of the sounds are stripped down , functional, electronic sounding , what is gone is the deep,lusher more emotive melodic feel that you could have found on his previous albums such as MM11 and Bedrock from 1999.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lameness, 23 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Transitions Vol 2 (Audio CD)
You people are lame. I write an eloquent and informed review which happens to contradict the others, and so it doesn't get posted.

What's the point of having this section?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Transitions Vol 2
Transitions Vol 2 by John Digweed (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews