Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the first and the best!
i came by this album as a 14 year old in 1979, it blew my socks off then and it still does now , this album came out 4 to 5 months before the debuts of the clash, the jam, and the stranglers and nearly 10 months before the pistols commited to vinyl, this album ranks alongside the who`s my generation as a blistering debut with a take no prisoners attitude, brian james...
Published on 8 Mar 2007 by Mr. J. P. Ham

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars None of the reviews on here are for this item
No reviews on here so far for this actual item and this is no different. As i have already bought the album itself 6 times already (every 5 or so years a new version appears with extra extras!) the DVD (the incentive to buy this release) is going to have to be pretty good to make me part with my bunce. Yesterday i enquired about this boxset in music store Fopp, they...
Published 16 months ago by W. Musson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the first and the best!, 8 Mar 2007
By 
Mr. J. P. Ham "jonnytwinkle" (torpoint , cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Damned Damned Damned (Audio CD)
i came by this album as a 14 year old in 1979, it blew my socks off then and it still does now , this album came out 4 to 5 months before the debuts of the clash, the jam, and the stranglers and nearly 10 months before the pistols commited to vinyl, this album ranks alongside the who`s my generation as a blistering debut with a take no prisoners attitude, brian james brilliantly crafted songs and unlike a lot of punk bands, no reggae, no politics, just adrenalised rock n roll, this 3 disc has the original album remasterd, disc 2 demos b sides and peel sessions/in concert. disc 3 is a ragged recording of their 1st gig at the 100 club in front of a small stunned audience, dont mess about this belongs in your collection . get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Finest Album of the Punk Era, 19 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Damned Damned Damned (Audio CD)
From the first bass riff on Neat Neat Neat to the explosion of sound at the end of I Feel Alright there can be no doubt that you are listening to the finest album of the punk era.

Although well known for being the first Punk group to release any record, in the form of the New Rose single, the Damned had so much more to offer. They were, and still are, essentially a live band with boundless energy. This album manages to capture all the raw energy of an early live show. With minimal frills and overdubs this album serves as the perfect document of it's time. That said it doesn't actually sound dated even 30 years later.

If you want to know where band like Greenday got their inspiration from look no further than Damned Damned Damned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damned United, 26 Feb 2010
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Damned Damned Damned (Audio CD)
Damned's undirected blast of energy screamed the virtues of mindlessness and paradoxically provided belief. Rumbling into view in 77, indecipherable lyrics, intense guitar energy, burning a deep hole in any 16 year old groove. A gang of special Bash St kids, dosed on dexies, handed a road map for personal anarchy. Or was that us?

The Dammed were hated by the press, too unruly, with nothing to say about the states of the world. All they communicated was a state of mind. Nihilism induced by a high energy sugar rush. The constant gigging brought their virus to the backwaters and so they infected the shires beyond the London shrines; Vortex, 100 Club, Hope and Anchor, Marquee.

Incorporating Stooges, bits of Stones, a large slice of Pistols, Ramones, MC5 and of course themselves. First wave was always more aware of the outside musical world. Only aferwards the corridors became narrower and narrower.

For the firstly annnoited before it all became formula, the Damned were catalysts for something new; kicking open doors, ushering in a period of intensity, blinding flares exploding into a deserted musical sky, the signal for change. These tracks, album and demos; are the starting pistol for change rather than the Sex Pistols quivering anger.This did not make the foundations of everything held dear shiver and shake.

Providing a space for like minded to meet each other in pre facebook times; swop addresses, sleep on floors, exchange body fluids, memories, beers and anything else illicit. Across the UK and Europe a friendly damned fan equals a night of excess.

Just remember, people still clung onto other forms of music whilst punk swept the nation, sad, very sad. What do they tell their kids?

This CD package incorporates the first incarceration with Brian James' bending guitar shapes. The second album, produced by Nick "Ferrari" Mason, generally perceived as naff, a relic for the hardcore fan had some highlights. MFP, misnamed, as it was never a treat is generally as bad as it ever was. The Damned embraced Prog. They misjudged the barometer, lost their fans and broke into pieces.

This wraps the speed rush of the 1st with a cull of the best of the 2nd; stretcher case, problem child, don't cry wolf. The other bits are demos but the groove was already cut into the debut.

The 3CD's are historical documents but they don't beat the battered vinyl copy of the 30 year old album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic from 1977, 27 Oct 2007
This review is from: Damned Damned Damned (Audio CD)
The Damned were right at the cutting edge of UK punk in 1977, and to 16 year olds just getting into the music, this album was one of the classics. I'd never heard any US punk like Iggy or MC5, but now looking back you can tell what Brian James must have liked. The original and best Damned line up. This album is the Damned's best to, it's so raw. I used to go to a pub where New Rose got put on the juke box. In the end they took it off, as too many people kept coming in and putting it on over and over again. You've got to remember punk really hadn't caught on, particularly in the provinces. Hell, people still wore flares in my town in 1977. One of UK punks seminal moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early British punk gem, 8 Oct 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damned Damned Damned (Audio CD)
It's funny how the passage of time changes perceptions. During punk rock's brief blaze in the late 1970s, The Damned were, well, damned in the music press as of no worth in any department, had no major hits and seemed to have little public support. After two albums they broke up and, though they reformed, they did so without main songwriter, Brian James. For years now, they seem to have enjoyed a fond remembrance, and fans are quick to praise this debut effort.
I bought this about a year after release, having heard the two exciting singles, 'Neat Neat Neat' and 'New Rose.' Despite being produced by Nick Lowe, who quickly realised the band's musical shortcomings, the record looked and sounded cheap and nasty. It also weighed in at a mere half hour, like most punk albums. Nevertheless, 'Damned Damned Damned' is explosive, exciting and the tracks are remarkably catchy. Only the grisly 'Feel The Pain' is slow. The tactic is otherwise all-out attack, James propelling an inferno of sound from his guitar.
I'm almost tempted to give this full marks, but the band's musical deficiencies, together with some shallow lyrics, prevent me from doing so. It's a high-energy, high-enjoyment album, but 'Stab Yor Back,' for instance, is even too moronic for The Ramones. A minor punk milestone, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Great Great album, 12 May 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damned Damned Damned (Audio CD)
This is the best work by the first incarnation of the Damned. Brian James was still the main songwriter, and Captain Sensible was still waiting to fill his shoes as guitarist whilst playing the bass. It sounds like it was recorded in someone's shed with everything turned up to 11, and there is little evidence that they were careful with tuning their instruments, but none of that matters.
What matters is that this is probably the most true to the roots of American punk album that came out of the British punk scene. It's all MC5, Stooges and New York Dolls rather than the Pistols/Clash type of punk. It's the real amateur stuff, but it's TALENTED amateur stuff!
The first British punk single is here, the fantastic 'New Rose' (Is she really going out with him?), and it's full of great numbers that once heard are never forgotten. It's only half an hour long, but there is a lot crammed into that short space of time. Mostly Brian James penned songs, with a Rat Scabies number and a Stooges number thrown it, it just makes you want to move some part of your body in time with it.
Cool album by one of the coolest bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars its kind of strange like a stormy sea, 9 Oct 2003
This review is from: Damned Damned Damned (Audio CD)
what a great album! i love the classic punk bands of the 70s and early 80s, Pistols, Clash, Jam, Stranglers, Buzzcocks, Undertones etc but special word should go to the Damned for this masterpiece. In my view its better than Never Mind the Bollocks,
on par with The Clash and the best of the Damned's recorded output. i must admit to always prefering the first lineup of the group with guitar hero Brian James' songs and riffs at the forefront. here you have the classic New Rose, the fantastic bass driven Neat Neat Neat. But the real jems are the ones not so familiar. Fan Club is full of classic chord changes, Feel the Pain is almost funk punk in the way the guitars jam towards the end and the only song here i would even contemplate skipping is Rat Scabies's (he drums very well by the way) Smash Your Back which could have been done by Sham 69. I've read one review of this album which says it lacks tunes but i think the guy who wrote that must have had Emerson Lake and Palmer on at the time.
Buy it now - its still as exciting 50 listens later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was it really 30 years ago?, 28 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: Damned Damned Damned (Audio CD)
Many will argue that Damned, Damned, Damned was the first UK punk album proper and it's hard to disagree with that. Bolting out of the stocks months before the Pistols and the Clash committed to vinyl (remember that?) DDD arrived in the summer of punk as a flash of lightning at the time of "Frampton Comes Alive" and "Wings at the Speed of Sound" and put punk on course for the mainstream.

Three decades on, here's an 3-disc anniversary edition. Disc one is a spruced up and remastered version of the original album - it still sounds astonishing fresh given its shelf-life. Neat, Neat, Neat and New Rose have lasted the course and were always two of the best singles from the era anyway.

Disc 2 is a collection of demos, odds and ends and some classic John Peel sessions while the third is a concert from the 100 Club at breakneck speed in July 1976 (which technically makes it nearly 31 years ago!)

Amazingly, they're still going, and still pretty good. Never very fashionable the Damned, but for those of us who formed a lot of our musical tastes around this time, an absolute steal for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essence of punk! A must buy., 4 April 2012
This review is from: Damned Damned Damned (Audio CD)
Originally bought this on vinyl after seeing them live in the hey day of punk - 1977. Can't believe it is so long ago! For sheer chaos the Damned are just about impossible to beat and in my opinion this album has stood the test of time well being a blizzard of both speed and energy from start to finish. No 'punk' band has ever bettered the thunderous opening to New Rose, in fact no other genre has either. Nice raw production also transfers the live experience to disc extremely well. Like the 1st album from the New York Dolls you always get the impression that it could all fall apart at any moment (thankfully it doesn't) which only enhances the music. Remains one of my favourite albums to this day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play it at your sister, 8 May 2008
By 
Mr. S. Swift "Caligula77" (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Damned Damned Damned (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough (old enough!!) to see the Damned a few days after this album was released, I was actually still wearing my school uniform at the gig. This album, above all others, captures the energy, swagger, speed, fun and thrills of that early scene. We felt that we ruled the world and this is my anthem. I saw all of the 'big' groups, Clash, The Adverts, X-Ray Spex, Siuoxsie, Gen X, Eater etc and this, without doubt is the best record from that short, intense period. I am still a Damned disciple. Buy this and play it at your sister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab8ac954)

This product

Damned Damned Damned
Damned Damned Damned by Damned (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews