Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why Not?
This latest series of Doors remasters represent the second upgrading of the band's legacy....by common consent, the very first Doors CDs were streets ahead of the needle-drop, unremastered, tinny products that customers were ripped off by in the early CD age....my 1990 CD of 'L.A. Woman' still sounds great and I've no plans to change it.
The quality may have...
Published on 5 May 2007 by Wakefield, 2011

versus
43 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great LP ruined by a revisionist remix
The first Doors LP is great, of course, but the remix proposed in this new edition is bad, wacky and non-sense: why remaster a CD which did not need improvement? (Well, we all know that the answer begins with an M and finishes O-N-E-Y, but let us not be so suspicious).
If the official cause for this new publication is that voilà! they have magically found a...
Published on 19 Mar 2010 by Tognato MARCO


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why Not?, 5 May 2007
This review is from: The Doors [Expanded] [40th Anniversary Mixes] (Audio CD)
This latest series of Doors remasters represent the second upgrading of the band's legacy....by common consent, the very first Doors CDs were streets ahead of the needle-drop, unremastered, tinny products that customers were ripped off by in the early CD age....my 1990 CD of 'L.A. Woman' still sounds great and I've no plans to change it.
The quality may have something to do with the fact that the Doors original albums were so well engineered in the first place....they always did sound ahead of the game, with gleaming, up-front production, beautifully recorded guitars and keyboards and resonant percussion.
There was a previous upgrade in 1999, which improved the bass frequencies; and now we have this latest, and most controversial, Doors edition.
The booklet warns you that you won't be hearing the original 1967 album; that's because the master tapes have been remixed to give new emphasis to certain instruments; plus some new Morrison vocal tracks are used, most notably on 'The End'.
Naturally, some people have objected to this...why not leave it as it was? And whilst I sympathise with that viewpoint, having heard this CD, I have to say I'm not about to make the same objection. Firstly, the sound is magnifiscent: the debut was always the cheapest-sounding Doors album, being done on 2-track equipment. Now, whilst it still sounds cheap compared to say, Morrison Hotel or The Soft Parade, the sound is glossier and fuller...and the remixes do have a 'new light through old windows' effect on the listener, which is not at all off-putting.
The bonus tracks are also very welcome (it was where the last set of remasters fell down, as the Doors' albums tended to be a bit on the short side)and, at budget price, there is no reason not to pick this one up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doors' debut album breaks on through to the other side, 3 Oct 2004
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Doors (Audio CD)
The Doors were probably more controversial than they were influential, but they were certainly one of the signature rock bands of the 1960s. The group was formed in Los Angeles in 1965 by a pair of U.C.L.A. film students, keyboard player Ray Manzarek and vocalist Jim Morrison, along with guitarist Robby Krieger and drummer John Densmore. Because the group did not have a bass player their music was dominated by Manzarek's distinctive electric organ work and Morrison's evocative vocals of his evocative lyrics. Signed a year later to Elektra Records with the goal of capturing on vinyl what the group did in live performance, their self-titled debut album featured the hit "Light My Fire" and because of their distinctive sound became one of the best albums of psychedelic music. In fact, "The Doors" was such a great album that it made everything that came afterwards pale in comparison and gave credence to the idea the group was on a destructive arc fueled by Morrison's personal problems and then went nova with "Morrison Hotel" and "L.A. Women" right before his death.
The music of the Doors was a peculiar blend of rock, blues, classical, jazz, and powerful lyrics. Nobody around played guitar like Krieger, while Manzarek's classical influences showed up in his organ riffs, Densmore brought some Latin influences, and Morrison's lyrics contained moments of searing emotional poetry. From the opening notes of "Break on Through (To the Other Side)" it is clear this group is different. For somebody who was consuming mass quantities of drugs and alcohol, Morrison's lyrics were the sort that students should be discussing in literature class: "I found an island in your arms/A country in your eyes," a love that becomes transmuted into "arms that chain" and "Eyes that lie." Then the song explodes into sound as the band announces its presence with authority. This is such a key song in the history of the Doors that there is reason it leads off most anthologies and collections of their best songs.
"Light My Fire," and I can remember finally getting to listen to the long version having only heard the single version with the impressive, intricate organ solo that still stands alone as the epitome of what can be done with that instrument in a rock song. Then Jose Feliciano proved how good it was in his totally stripped down acoustic version. "Take It As It Comes" is also pretty good, even if not quite in that same class. Still, it is the moodiness of "The Crystal Ship" and the "eleven-minute Oedipal drama" of "The End" that defined the Doors as one of the strangest and most ambitious rock groups around. It is impossible to think of another Sixties rock group that was as disturbing as the Doors, an idea codified in popular culture by Francis Ford Coppola's use of "The End" at the climax of "Apocalypse Now." Not only literature classes but future psychologists and psychiatrists could have a field day analyzing Morrison's lyrics as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the all time greatest debut's, 9 Feb 2004
This review is from: The Doors (Audio CD)
11 tracks and 11 classics from one of the greatest debut albums of all time. Jim Morrison and Ray Manzarek from the beginning must have realised that to live up to this album would have been a near impossible task.
Break on Through is a truly beautiful album starter and from the start you get the feeling of what the doors were all about. The sublime Light My Fire remains the stand out track of the album, partly down to Manzareks majestry in the first 15 seconds. In The End is also a fine way to end a fine album, the Lizard Kings slides from word to word beautifully.
This album also contains a few less epic gems, Alabama Song, a perfect post Jack Daniels track and Soul Kitchen will always freeze my spine.
Encapture the life of one of the greatest and own this album. Go on Ride The Storm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great LP ruined by a revisionist remix, 19 Mar 2010
By 
Tognato MARCO (Bastia Umbra, ITALY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Doors [Expanded] [40th Anniversary Mixes] (Audio CD)
The first Doors LP is great, of course, but the remix proposed in this new edition is bad, wacky and non-sense: why remaster a CD which did not need improvement? (Well, we all know that the answer begins with an M and finishes O-N-E-Y, but let us not be so suspicious).
If the official cause for this new publication is that voilà! they have magically found a new quicker master of "Light My Fire", well, they could easily have replaced the "old" version with this one and leave the rest as it was. But, no, the did not. They inflicted us with sound atrocities. Listen to the very opening of the album, for example: "Break On Through" sounded amazing in the previous 1999 edition, the guitar and the bass frequencies were fully balanced and the organ was prominent, and justly so. Now, in this new version everything is dull, flat and muddier and the bass is the prominent instrument. No way!
I was silly enough to let them cheat me and convince me that this new edition needed be bought. The warning in the booklet goes: "This isn't the same album you've been listening to for the past 40 years or so" and then explains the reasons why what you have in your hands is a gem, as to say that now, finally, you have it right. Ok, very philological and bla bla bla, but you could have at least place a big stick on the album cover warning us that this is a totally different thing.
We need BETTERMENT of the sound qualities, who cares about IMPROVEMENT? Who cares that now the sound is lush and clean? The Doors have nothing to do with cleanness or luxury. So, anyone reading this and wanting to buy "The Doors" CD, please, believe me: stick with the 1999 edition at all costs, even if it means spending more money because now that edition is not as readily available. THIS is philology, my dear producers and engineers: yours is plain revisionism!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Break on Through, 16 Feb 2004
By 
P. Whitehead (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Doors (Audio CD)
This is where in all began. Light My Fire. Crystal Ship. The End. Back Door Man. Soul Kitchen. No other psychedelic blues band could boast a virtuoso organist, a wizard guitarist and an accomplished poet. The Doors did. This album finds them at the top of their form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy this album - you won't be disappointed, 10 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Doors (Audio CD)
I bought this album just because I love Light My Fire and Break on Through, but now, after only a few days it is one of my all time favourite albums. Without being cheesy I don't know what I listened to before this! It is soft rock for when you just want to be alone and for everyone else to p*** off, but then there are tracks like Soul Kitchen and Twentieth Century Fox which just rock for all their worth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The killer awoke before dawn..., 7 Feb 2007
By 
P. Whitehead (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Doors [Expanded] [40th Anniversary Mixes] (Audio CD)
The Doors back catalogue has been due a makeover for years, and wow, haven't they spent some effort on it. The sound quality on these discs has never been bettered in my opinion. If you're thinking of upgrading your entire Doors collection, consider the Perception Box Set, if not read on...

This is where in all began. Light My Fire. Crystal Ship. The End. Back Door Man. Soul Kitchen. No other psychedelic blues band could boast a virtuoso organist, a wizard guitarist and an accomplished poet. The Doors did. This album finds them at the top of their form.

The bonus cuts here are nice - two cuts of Moonlight Drive and one cut of Indian Summer. Moonlight Drive appears in slightly different form to that on Strange Days, with plenty of reverb on Ray's Vox organ. Nice. I think this cut appeared on the Box Set (Without a Safety Net) a few years ago. If you think Indian Summer sounds like the cut on Morrison Hotel... that's because the cut on Morrison Hotel was recorded in 1966 too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good quality and a good price for a new vinyl. This album is amazing and one of the best The Doors did! Sounds amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heavy weight champion, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a 180 gram LP feels that much better than a standard weight vinyl. Sounds great and was delivered in time. Recommended for every Doors fan with a turntable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doors [expanded] [40th anniversary mixes], 1 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doors [Expanded] [40th Anniversary Mixes] (Audio CD)
An album I used to have on vinyl, and wanted, no desired to have in my possession once again. In many ways their best album, from "Break On Through", onwards it's a vital band setting out their wares, the dark joys of love and passion. If you're new to this invigorating, thought inducing rock music, as valid now as it was then, this is the place to start a whole new side of musical adventures. Jim Morrison will challenge you, Ray Manzarak will astound you with his provision of a bass guitar from an organ keyboard, John Densmore the drumming attack, and Robbie Kreiger, wow listen to that guitar, Try it, reward yourself, to one of the best bands to tour this planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Doors [Expanded] [40th Anniversary Mixes]
The Doors [Expanded] [40th Anniversary Mixes] by The Doors (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews