Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars world-class soloists, 11 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Saint-SaŽns: Organ Symphony No. 3, The Carnival of the Animals, etc. (Audio CD)
This is a stunning CD. The soloists are of the highest calibre imaginable, all are exceptionally skilled- from John Ogdon and Barbara Lucas to Tortelier they give full vent to their talents in these vivid, characterful pieces of music. The organ symphony is full-bodied and very expressive, an excellent rendition. In addition there is the "Danse macabre" and "Bacchanale" from the opera Samson and Delilah.
This is quite a bargain for all the high standard of music you get : hard to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection of music, 26 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saint-SaŽns: Organ Symphony No. 3, The Carnival of the Animals, etc. (Audio CD)
This CD contains five pieces of music by Saint-SaŽns played by Louis Frémaux and the CBSO. It starts with 'Danse Macabre' followed by 'The Carnival Of The Animals' with John Ogdon on piano then 'Allegro appassionato' with Paul Tortelier on cello followed by the superb Organ Symphony No.3 with Christopher Robinson as the soloist. The CD finishes with Bacchanale from Samson and Delilah. Many of the pieces will be instantly recognisable including the theme from 'Babe' which is from the fourth movement of Symphony No.3. The CD is excellent value with over 75 minutes of fine music and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent....just perfect!, 4 July 2010
This review is from: Saint-SaŽns: Organ Symphony No. 3, The Carnival of the Animals, etc. (Audio CD)
A brilliant CD with stunning music. The CD contains only music and no horrible narration over the top of the beautiful songs. An excellent buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saint -Saens Organ Symphony, 17 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was looking for this work and found it was available as a download from Amazon. The download was trouble free and I think the quality of the music is excellent. The fact that it also includes Carnival of the Animals is a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection, 16 Feb 2011
By 
Colin Smith "keep on running" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saint-SaŽns: Organ Symphony No. 3, The Carnival of the Animals, etc. (Audio CD)
I only bought this CD to obtain a piece of music that's been a favourite of mine since childhood - "Danse Macabre", but I discovered so much more to enjoy here, so many familiar sounding, beautiful pieces of music that a classical music novice like myself could never put a name to. A great album that fills my living room with the most wonderfully soothing music that I love to unwind with.
The sleeve insert features a brief biography of the composer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good cd, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saint-SaŽns: Organ Symphony No. 3, The Carnival of the Animals, etc. (Audio CD)
Great cd. I originally bought it as it had Aquarium on it, but the the CD is also great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Carnival of Animals Saint Saens, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saint-SaŽns: Organ Symphony No. 3, The Carnival of the Animals, etc. (Audio CD)
This recording is beautiful. I have recently upgraded my speakers and find I love the quality of this recording. One of my favourite CDs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really good all round, 1 Jun 2014
By 
M. C. Digby "Mark" (East Anglia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saint-SaŽns: Organ Symphony No. 3, The Carnival of the Animals, etc. (Audio CD)
Especially if you like the piano on the Carnival of Animals, I bought it for my beloved Saint-Saens BIG organ symphony, great thank you. Bit of a nuisance the latter is at the end of the recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saint-SaŽns: Organ Symphony No. 3, The Carnival of the Animals, etc. (Audio CD)
You always hear bits and bobs of the Carnival of the Animals on the radio but being able to play any of them at will is incredibly satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A tonic, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saint-SaŽns: Organ Symphony No. 3, The Carnival of the Animals, etc. (Audio CD)
I have always enjoyed the Organ symphony and was pleased it featured in Babe. This particular version has so much more included. A real bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews