Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars19
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£0.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2006
I'm a sucker for a bit of foil-blocking on a CD cover so I bought this. And it's darn funky. Essentially it's a bunch of hot Brazilian girls and an old guy making electro-party tunes in the LCD Soundsystem stylee.

With songs like 'Meeting Paris Hilton' and 'Music is My Hot Hot Sex' it could all be a bit arty-style-posturing, but it's the sound and lyrics have a tongue-in-cheek hint of Har Mar Superstar about them. It's the kind of music you'd expect to hear at a particularly good Sonar house party.

Great for parties, put in on your stereo multi-changer with LCD, Hot Chip and Datarock.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2007
I was given loads of music for Christmas because I needed to update my CD collection and have only just got round to listening to it because I saw the fantastic video for Off The Hook on MTV2 and I just LOVE it!

It doesn't have to grow on you, it's not complex, it is immediate and exhilarating, the whole album is great and out there. It's totally addictive and cool and you should own this it will make you happy.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2007
I thought I'd give this album a shot after seeing this Brazilian lot at Glastonbury where they put on a thoroughly enjoyable show despite the inevitable rain. And what a peculiar mixture it has turned out to be - a bit like them. CSS appears to be a consortium of female multi-instrumentalists with a token male on drums - except when he's playing keyboards and the lead guitarist has taken over on the drum stool. See what I mean?

The music is a similar melting pot in that it comprises a patchwork of rhythms drawing from 70s disco and 90s indie over some solid drumming and semi-rap vocals. A bit like you'd expect The Fall to sound if given a disco treatment and a female vocalist in place of Mark E Smith.

It's all a bit hit and miss but never less than enjoyable. Some of it like `Alala' and the fabulous `Off the Hook' is very good indeed where driving chunky electro pop melds with a decent tune. Elsewhere, it doesn't quite work, but nothing ever outstays its welcome so if you don't get on with any particular track, there's always another arriving soon.

Overall, it's a fun listen and an album I'm glad to own. If you fancy something a bit different and frankly, bonkers, give it a try.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 September 2015
This was another of my charity shop 'it looks interesting so I will buy it' purchases. Thankfully, it turned out to be one of my better choices as I love quirky, melodic songs with daft but occasionally poignant lyrics.

Sounding a bit like Indie guitar hip-hop meets 80's synth meets The Cars (with a touch of electro funk thrown in!) the album blasts by in seemingly an instant. There are no ballads, hardly any breaks between songs and the emphasis is on 'short and sweet' rather than arty and atmospheric.

I doubt a certain 'Miss H' will be overly pleased by the way she is portrayed here but then with some of the song titles here (track 6 and 10) its obvious that CSS have their tongues firmly in their cheeks. The band are rather weak vocally so this record sounds best cranked up in volume. I doubt any of the lyrics will stay with you for long but the infectious melodies certainly will.

Overall, I like CSS for what it is and would recommend it to anyone with a sense of musical adventure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2007
CSS have come up with a really catchy pop album. Okay so there's some explicit lyrics but they don't overshadow what CSS have come up with - an electronic/rock pop album. Once you have heard "Alala" a couple of times it's very hard to get it out of your head and "Music is my hot, hot sex" is another great song with a great chorus.CSS have imbued this album with fun,weirdness, sexiness and some cool tunes. You won't find the meaning of life here but you'll certainly have a great time listening and singing along.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2006
This album hasn't left the CD player since I got it as 'Patins' just won't leave my head alone! I'm glad I bought this for that track alone!

It doesn't get 5 stars because most of the tracks are a bit too girly and simplistic for my tastes, although still well listenable. The single 'Lets make love..." is great and bound to get you moving like an imbecile.

Maybe I just like them because I think Lovefoxxx sometimes sounds like Kim Gordon (Sonic Youth) with a brazillian accent (maybe it's just a fantasy though).
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2007
This was one of the most promising debuts of 2006. The songs on it are lively, upbeat and infectious, from the fun disco of 'Lets Make Love and listen to death from above', to the fierce and adrenalin-fuelled elctro of 'Alala'. This album does not relent in it's determination to make the listener enjoy themselves, or dance, or both.

'Patins' and 'Off The Hook' are both exercises in how to create great Indie music, the former being one of the most raw and raucous songs on the album, whilst the various musical combinations work well in all of the nooks and crannys of this album.

This album is colourful, wacky, interesting and endearing, much like the band who spawned it. Long may they avoid the lure of major-label profiteering, and continue to make glorious electro/disco classics like this.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
I have loved this album since it was first released. Its upbeat and raw and captures CSS at their best. The Brazilian version has some extra tracks sung in Portugese which was my main reason for purchasing this version. Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 December 2006
I would call "Cansei De Ser Sexy" a party album with absolutely no originality whatsoever, except I haven't been to a party for a good many years so I cannot empirically make that claim. I will suffice by saying that if I was in charge of a party CSS would definitely get an airing at some juncture.

This is a buoyant but adult album, leaving a trail of hedonistic pheromone tinged fumes in it's wake yet the most interesting thing about it is that the original version of the album by the Brazil based band featured tracks sung in Portuguese, but when the album was picked up by Sub Pop for release in the USA and UK the Portuguese tracks, four in total, were dropped lest I hypothesise, should the potential audience be alienated by a load of foreign sounding rubbish.

Crass decision though that was , at least it's British release has allowed us to hear this excellent album which mixes electro pop with subtle Latin nuances , a sussed ear for a floor filling tune and a joi de vive that would make Keith Chegwin blanche. The band consists of five girls and a male drummer and though their gestation may have been as amateur backup to Too Many DJ,s it's clear they have an effortless instinctive grasp of pop dynamics so the albums fusion of sinister synth beats, chunky handclaps, and skittish funk/disco rhythms very rarely sounds awkward or forced. To make things even more interesting there is a sly (and sometimes downright lavicious) sense of humour evident in titles like "Meeting Paris Hilton" and the rather obtuse "F**k Off Is Not The Only Thing You Have To Show". Best of all is "Off The Hook" and "Musk Is My Hot Sex" which are as addictive as a vigorous massage and twice as much fun.

Ordinarily I would rather pierce my eyelids with a road drill than indulge in an album purporting to be fun and party orientated but to let such grouchy snobbery stop you hearing an album like "Cansie De Ser Sexy" is to indulge in the forced removal of the proboscis to spite the face .It's a bit puerile and definitely not for kids but like so many things that verge on the objectionable it wouldn't be half as pleasurable as it is if it wasn't.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2007
Excellent, From the start this cd gets going, css sucks leadsthe cd and from there it just keeps building up."Patins" and "alala" have not come off my stereo all week, really catchy and energetic.

Lovefoxx

has a great turn of phrase and occasionally her Brazilian accent comes through and it is very seductive in a strange way.

Apparently their label Sub Pop made them cut four songs in Portuguese from this cd, which is a shame, as a listener I wish the label would have credited the audience a bit more , I'd have loved to have heard them singing in Portuguese more, not all of us are as closed minded as the powers that be at Sub Pop!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£40.93

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)