Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Champion
I highly recommend this George Formby classic.

A brilliant story of an honest simpleton from Lancashire who wants to ride his bike in the famous TT races on the Isle of Man. He beats some cheating rivals and wins the girl.

Clean comedy for all the family to enjoy and some nice songs too. Probably his best film, though maybe not as popular as "Let...
Published on 10 July 2008 by KN

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars o. k. it's old, not the standard ...
o.k. it's old, not the standard we are used too.
Published 10 months ago by just the best


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Champion, 10 July 2008
By 
KN (Lancs. UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: No Limit (Digitally restored and remastered) [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
I highly recommend this George Formby classic.

A brilliant story of an honest simpleton from Lancashire who wants to ride his bike in the famous TT races on the Isle of Man. He beats some cheating rivals and wins the girl.

Clean comedy for all the family to enjoy and some nice songs too. Probably his best film, though maybe not as popular as "Let George Do It". The transfer to DVD is also of good quality for such an old movie. I experienced none of the reported problems with audio-video synchronization.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George Shuttleworth "Speed Demon"., 29 Mar. 2010
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: No Limit (Digitally restored and remastered) [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
It is not very often these days that a film can make me smile from beginning to end, but this lovely little film managed that difficult feat effortlessly. George Formby was an absolute original. His physical appearance alone is enough to make you smile even before he opens his mouth. Let's just say he is no Pierce Brosnan! The smile then gets wider when you hear his high pitched, distinctive Lancastrian accent. He was a Wigan lad through and through, and he even sings "In a Little Wigan Garden" in the film to remind us of that fact. But in addition to these unique attributes, he was also a very able comic actor and could play and sing to a mean ukulele, an instrument that has been recently popularised by the excellent young band Mumford and son. It all adds up to a national treasure, and all these talents are paraded for our pleasure in this wonderful little film.

Filmed on the Isle of Man during the 1935 TT races at the cost of £30,000, the film concerns the efforts of an apprentice chimney sweep, George Shuttleworth "Speed Demon", played of course by George Formby, to win the TT races using his home made motor bike. A story that is not so far fetched, when you consider Graham Obree's more recent world breaking achievements on a bicycle made from washing machine parts, also made into a film "The Flying Scotsman". George meets a young girl played by Florence Desmond, who can also conveniently sing a bit, and romance is in the air. There are some delightful songs along the way including of course "Riding in the TT Races". But there are a few dodgy characters trying to foil George's attempt to win the races. We head to an epic battle on the track between the dirty tricks brigade and good old Lancastrian pluck.

It is no surprise that this film is still shown during TT race week, and still pulls in a good audience when shown at the George Formby society conventions. The scenes showing the classic racing bikes competing in the 1935 races, is simply wonderful for lovers of this great event, and indeed lovers of these wonderful old bikes. Putting it all together with songs and an old fashioned romance is simply inspired. The director Monty Banks should be congratulated for his efforts. He might be surprised to learn if he were still alive, that his film is still avidly watched 75 years after it was made. It is timeless comedy, and if you are feeling down in the dumps, this may be just the tonic you need. It is a very worthy restoration to celebrate the TT centenary in 2007. It has to be worth five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still staying the course, even after more than 70 years, 7 Mar. 2010
This review is from: No Limit (Digitally restored and remastered) [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
One of the best 'British seaside' films of the 1930s, along with the "Sing as We Go!" (1934) which came out the year before. By the standards of the time it's a strong film with some strong twists and turns in the plot as well as on the road. George's songs are well placed and short, and you have to have a quick ear to catch any saucy innuendo in the lyrics. There are a number of well-done set pieces before we get to the racing - the party on the ship and the back-yard shed (from which George first appears along with his home-made motorcycle, like a young Wallace from "Wallace and Grommit") stand out in my memory. The script is workmanlike and the female lead is believable except when she sings (only once, thankfully). A lot of the gentle humour has stayed the course - but I'd imagine that modern audiences between the age 15 and 50 may take a while to get used to laughing heavily at the heavy use of slapstick, which has long gone out of fashion in British cinema. The seafront scenes are perhaps not as authentic as those in "Sing as We Go!" (which had the benefit of J.B. Priestley script-writing and advising, I seem to remember), possibly because the Isle of Man offered far less colour to film-makers than a north of England resort did in the 1930s? But the scene in which a made-up George sings from the steps of a beach-hut is rather well done. The motorcycle racing is well-filmed, with a mix of live action and back-projection plus just a little stock newsreel footage. The editing is excellent considering it's 1935, very dynamic and sharp. The film is packed with a host of bit-parts from long-forgotten faces, with the cake-and-tea obsessed TT race announcer being a stand-out supporting part. Overall, this is well worth seeing if you like old British films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RIDING IN THE T.T. RACES, 14 July 2007
By 
Gerald Reek "GOLDEN OLDIE" (STOCKPORT, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Limit (Digitally restored and remastered) [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
MEMORIES...THE SOUND OF "PROPER" RACING MOTORCYCLES...

GREAT RE-ISSUE, WELL RESTORED ONTO DVD

CLEAR PICTURE AND SOUND (QUITE LOUD AT TIMES DURING THE RACING SEQUENCES!)

LIKED THE ORIGINAL BRITISH BOARD OF FILM CENSORS TITLE AT THE BEGINNING!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic George, 3 Jun. 2007
By 
Stu M (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Limit (Digitally restored and remastered) [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
Perhaps George's best film, certainly his most entertaining. Most of the laughs are, as you'd expect, from the unintentional. George is, as ever, the meek Lancastrian hero, and there's the obligatory cad and sweet girl characters. One thing that had me in stitches was the 'special effects' of George motoring over a cliff top and flipping himself back to the top - the film jumps into a short animated stickman routine. Maybe I'm being harsh here, because much of the humour is genuine and there are some real characters in it, and the unintentionally funny bits are laughing-at, rather than laughing-with. But whichever way you look at it, it's still a good jape and very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Turned out nice again..., 6 Oct. 2008
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Limit (Digitally restored and remastered) [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
One of George's better films, it has a coherent, straightforward story and he isn't as downtrodden and gormless as he is in some of his films. George's bike, the Shuttleworth Snap, is a design icon and it's a real pity he couldn't have won the TT on it. The film still makes my grandchildren laugh and it contains one of my all time favourite Formby songs - "In my little Wigan garden". Good romantic support from Florence Desmond, my only disappointment was that I would have liked to have seen a few more Isle of Man locations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put feet up with brew and enjoy, 19 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Limit (Digitally restored and remastered) [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
Very pleasent light enjoyable sweet funny film enjoyed by all family inc . children ages 9 and 12 on a wet SUNDAY AFTERNOON Some wonderful motorcycle details for the enthusiasts hilarious special effects and a few George ditties to sing along to, all in all a cosy nostalgic
brown tea pot film to relax and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific!!, 22 Sept. 2009
By 
James Waller "Real Racing fan" (Hartlepool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Limit (Digitally restored and remastered) [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
You have to see this movie at least once in your life. It still plays to packed houses during TT Fortnight and quite rightly so. In the words of George 'Turned out nice again!!!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 28 Sept. 2011
By 
Mr. P. E. Horne "Pedro" (Northallerton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Limit (Digitally restored and remastered) [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
My son just bought a ukelele and so I got this DVD to show him how it should be played. I remember seeing this film on TV years ago, and I'd forgotten how funny it is. Also, the bike race scenes are genuinely exciting, even if they are speeded up in places. I can't recommend this enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Film!, 28 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Limit [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a (forgotten) classic biker movie. Unlike certain turgid American offerings, George captures the authentically cheeky, mad-for-it spirit of the British biker. The songs are actually pretty good and the bike-mad sentiment is instantly recognizable. And for those who doubt the credibility of a Ukelele-toting Yorkshireman ... Formby actually rode in the TT in those days before spangly Arais and proper leathers. Full respect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Limit (Digitally restored and remastered) [DVD] [1950]
£9.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews